View Full Version : Where is the best place to get fly gear from?
elephrez
26-12-2007, 04:45 PM
Hi flyo's
Just got a fly combo for chrissy and was wondering where in brissy is the best tackle shop to get fly's and gear(freshwater). I do a few ABT bass electrics and was going use a bit of fly to change things up.
Any help would be great
thanks
Charles
Leighton
26-12-2007, 04:49 PM
I know Fishhead at Redland Bay do fly tying nights and sell a bit of fly gear as do tackle warehouse
26-12-2007, 08:33 PM
I like Alpine Angler and Compleat Angler personally.
elephrez
26-12-2007, 08:52 PM
places in the brisbane districted
Leighton
26-12-2007, 10:24 PM
tackle Warehouse is at Coorooparo/ Camp Hill
elephrez
26-12-2007, 11:40 PM
thanks captan stabin
Sniper
28-12-2007, 08:42 PM
Was going to mention Tie N Fly at Point Cartright but you mentioned Brisbane only, not the sunshine coast. But if you do want really good advice from a guy how is a FFF qualified casting instructor, then Gavans your man.
Bill
NickCurrey
29-12-2007, 09:38 PM
Talk to the guys at Fishhead - Victoria Point, as they are clued up and have a good range of gear and probably best range of tieing materials in Bne area.
Can contact Duncan on: duncan@fishhead.com.au or 32067999
Good luck
NC
yellahunter
30-12-2007, 01:32 PM
yeah give Duncan a yell at Fishhead.
Great guys and know their stuff, they have heaps of fly gear and sell all the tie your own stuff too.
Champilly
30-12-2007, 08:38 PM
Guys at Fish Head may know their stuff however, I took my brother in law (kiwi) and mad keen fly fisherman down their 2 weeks ago. All he wanted to buy was some fly hooks but could not get the time of day. Tried 3 times to ask a question but was fogged off. Guys were to busy putting together a big sale fo a potential customer.
Biggest laugh - the customer did not buy anything and I put my brother in law on the plane yesterday with a new $1000 sage rod - Thanks Andy at The Tackle Warehouse.
bassbuster
31-12-2007, 08:38 AM
Hi Charles,
I have been fly fishing for a short time , 2 years. During that time I have walked through the doors of many tackle stores in search of the good oil to help my flyfishing experence. One store that stands out in my mind, is the crew of Duncan, Janelle and Gordon at Fishhead, now at Victoria Point. Not only do they carry a wide range of flyfishing equipment, they further underpin there sales with fly casting,tying and information evenings presented by topshelf guest speakers.
Gordon is an internationaly qualified fly casting instructor and accomplished fly tier. In my opion, fishhead is a valuable one stop shopping experience for the fly fisherman, both as a newby or oldhand wand waver. The people at fishhead have been value added in making my flyfishing experience an enjoyable one. I have also joined the Southeast Qld Flyfishers and have been having a ball fishing with the club, and attending their meeetings and information evenings.
Jeff C ;D
elephrez
31-12-2007, 12:02 PM
cheers bassbuster
MattChew
09-01-2008, 12:01 PM
Last time I went there Jones Tackle had a fair amount of Fly Gear.
Ta
18-01-2008, 09:08 PM
Jones bait and tackle is doing a fly tying course starting this tuesday (22nd Jan 08). I think it runs for about 6 weeks. I forget what it costs.
slider65
09-02-2008, 09:01 PM
Jones also does a 2 day fly fishing coures every few months.
Keechie
09-02-2008, 09:09 PM
go for jones tackle they have everything.
regards,
keechie
flyfisho
09-02-2008, 10:33 PM
Charles ,
In my opinion you would be best off going were the guys are dedicted fly guys , in Brissie Fishead are defintly the go with Tie N Fly being the standout when heading up the north side , with Both Shops being staffed by internationaly accredited FFF casting instructors why would you trust anyone elses opinion ? There is plenty of good salemen out there mate and them there is proof in the pudding .
My two cents