View Full Version : christmas day gets the big ones biting!

breamnut
25-12-2007, 01:03 PM
after an early start this morning being chrissy my sister couldnt wait to get her presents.
both me and my brother were still half asleep while unwrapping stuff.
i finally got a good camera so i dont need to borrow mums.
after breaky dad told us we were going to our cousins house about 2. i was pumped to try some new poppers and to get a few pics on my new camera.
so i headed down to the same spot i caught my jack the day before and would you believe it first cast i had a big fish (prob a jack) smash my little chubbie and blow me away on the hidden rock bar.
after nothing else happening there i went to the flats and caught 2 nice bream 1 being 28cm and the other 32cm(fork lenght) on ecogear sx 40's
with about 30min of fishing time left i tied on a bassday crystle popper and in a few cast caught a small trevally. i always look fo dark patches in the sand either being stingrays pumping yabbies which bream love to hang around or bream bigging for small crustations i put a long cast out with the wind carrying my popper much further and gave my popper just a few bloops were a bream over a kilo came up and sucked the little lure of the surface with no hesatation. for those of you who have done much surface luring for bream will know how hard it is to get kilo bream eat your lure of the surface and for any lure for that matter in super clear water and shallow water.
anyway the bream had a few good lunges before absolutly crushing the size 14 owner trebble. with a few interesting words being spoken after that i headed home pritty pleased with my effort in a short 1 and a half hours.

Pistol_P
25-12-2007, 01:12 PM
Nice work Breamnut....

Great choice for a xmas present mate....a new camera is a great toy!

Look forward to a heap more pics now....;)

Merry xmas mate.

chrisallangler
25-12-2007, 01:27 PM
Well done mate, nice Chrissy present. Some nice bream also. Sounds like a good christmas and good to get a few fish in a short period.

ddobson
25-12-2007, 01:51 PM
Nice brim and a nice way to spend crissy. Also if i had a cast in brissy it would prob blow me out to a fresh water damb. Its blowing its bagebers off up here.

kingkev
25-12-2007, 01:57 PM
a kg Bream in a very nice fish. Well done

2DKnBJ
25-12-2007, 02:13 PM
Well done mate.
You have done well to be able to sneak out for a quick session on Chrissy morning.
You can't beat a camera for a pressy.

Cheers Dazza

breamnut
25-12-2007, 05:21 PM
yer was a good few hours
spewin i didnt get that big one

Leighton
25-12-2007, 10:10 PM
Good fish mate, enjoy while you can. Stay single caus there was no fishing for me. Lunch with the out-laws>:(

MY-TopEnder
25-12-2007, 10:22 PM
Awesome work...

Was that down the tweed? If so, sounds like you've got things pretty well sussed down there.

breamnut
26-12-2007, 04:56 AM
i dont get much time fishin other places. its pritty easy to see im fishin the anchorage islands:-X;)

reelemin1974
26-12-2007, 05:57 AM
Good fish mate, enjoy while you can. Stay single caus there was no fishing for me. Lunch with the out-laws>:(

Yes, I too did not get to do any fishing!::)

codz22
26-12-2007, 07:30 AM
nice bream its gettin harder to find them of that size these days

merry xmas

good luck

26-12-2007, 07:32 AM
It's blowing like fifty thousand blowie things up here on the Cap Coast
We were going to throw some chooks around on the sand banks in a local creek here but i think there would be 2 metre waves down there at moment
So our traditional Boxing day fish will have to be put off

rando
26-12-2007, 08:40 AM
Champion fisherman Breamnut, I wish I was half as good as you at lure fishing.
Well done

Keechie
26-12-2007, 08:48 AM
hey breamnut i got a digital camera too because my mum was gettin sick of it smelling like fish and covered in squidgy scales.

regards,
keechie

breamnut
27-12-2007, 03:42 PM
ok sweet wat sort