View Full Version : chrissy comes early!

breamnut
24-12-2007, 01:47 PM
after trying to put the boat in today we thought our day would just get worse as tweed isnt a great fishery land based.
we hit up a few of the usual spots but only a few small bream were caught.
we kept riding untill we found a small creek about 2ft deep.
i had fished this place before but something today just made it fire!
i havent use ecogear sx 40's much latly because of all the new lures (bassday,megabass,luckeycraft ect) but these usually come with crap hooks and split rings because they are designed for fresh water.
ayway back to the point because the sx 40 has good hooks and rings we cast natural colours like the 303 and 307 around the flats smashing a hell of alot of bream around 25-29cm. nothing special but it was a hit or if not fish every cast and you cant bet that!;D
we headed of to my favourite land based spot were i have caught some awsome fish from before including my biggest bream. but there are only certain times i can fish it. about 2nd cast the rod got almost torn out of my hands and after thinking it was a giant herring after seeing others busting up i soon felt the head shakes that can only be 1 fish. soon we saw the big bar of red swimming along the rock wall and after a few nervous moments seeing the 6lb leader near the teath and gill s my mate used his bag to net the fish.
i was pritty stoked as its my biggest jack this season.
because dylan hasnt been fishing for long with lures he loved the hard body fishing and after buying 2 sx 40's the other day will soon go to buy more as there isnt much paint left on his!
between us we caught an easy 40 fish.
he even stared catching bream on crappy lures like the kokada's look alike lure of the ecogear that doesnt even have an action! the bream were so agressive the also hit out poppers like trevally!
an awsome days fishing considering the howling wind and the boat out of action.

yellahunter
24-12-2007, 02:07 PM
ripper effort Nathan,

that jacks a cracker on a sx40, did you get a length on him

nuggstar
24-12-2007, 02:39 PM
your an assy bugger nathan, ya got some skills bro.

stonecold
24-12-2007, 04:00 PM
Ahhhh you young fellas...well done mate. Your right about the crappy hooks on the bassdays tho!

chief
24-12-2007, 04:45 PM
Even when the winds howling you can find somewhere to get a fix, thats the deversity of fishing,great session and some nice fish,Cheers

breamnut
24-12-2007, 05:07 PM
jack was only 48cm so i hant had a very good jack season.
not that ive really targeted them much...
oh yer and all fish were released ofcorse

KiWi_625
24-12-2007, 05:17 PM
heyy mate congrats on the fish
just quick questions, if you odnt mind me asking where abouts you were??? and also the retrieve you were using??

cheers kiwi

chrisallangler
24-12-2007, 06:29 PM
Nice work Nathan, can't wait to get down to the tweed and go for a sesh should be some time after the new year, hopefuly. A nice Jack mate and a damn fine bream. Chris.

corby12
24-12-2007, 08:21 PM
well done nice days fishing, im pretty hooked on the bassdays and wisedogs at the moment and yeh crappy hooks on the bassday, I have mad a comment to the distributers abt the hooks. His reply was that most tournement anglers always change their hooks on all lures anyway, but he is also the distributer for gamakatsu so he's making more money selling trebles for the bassday's as well.
congrats again on the jack

Corby

geoff72
24-12-2007, 09:54 PM
what a great session fellas,top jack to.

breamnut
24-12-2007, 10:49 PM
heyy mate congrats on the fish
just quick questions, if you odnt mind me asking where abouts you were??? and also the retrieve you were using??

cheers kiwi
we mixed up our retrieve.
i wont be telling anyone about my spots as i have spent alot of time finding were they are,wat tides to fish them and what lure to use when. sorry but most other people will do the same

breamnut
24-12-2007, 10:52 PM
well done nice days fishing, im pretty hooked on the bassdays and wisedogs at the moment and yeh crappy hooks on the bassday, I have mad a comment to the distributers abt the hooks. His reply was that most tournement anglers always change their hooks on all lures anyway, but he is also the distributer for gamakatsu so he's making more money selling trebles for the bassday's as well.
congrats again on the jack

Corby
yes i change my hooks on the bassdays to but i feel much more confident fishing big bream in racks or around snaggy area's with a size 12 owner on a eco gear then a size 16 on a suger deep.
or in the case of that jack snapping of 2 hooks on the rear treble and snapping 1 on the middle with the other 2 straightend so the snapped any how.