indy
22-12-2007, 03:49 PM
G'day jamie and i got out early this morning leaving my house at 1am to fish the cape at first light and see if we could nail some big snapper. As soon as we got the pick down in the right spot no sooner had jamie thrown a floater out he was on to a nice squire. I through a nuc chook out to see what i could muster on this but yet again no luck with the chooks. Reverted to the good old bait and soon enough we started getting a steady flow of fish on board.
We didn't manage any real big fish here this morning but got a nice green jobie around the 2.5 3kg mark a nice spangled emporer and a few squire up to the two kilo mark, there was plenty of action here the whole time but just alot of undersize spangles and yellow tail kingies with the squire starting to get smaller as the morning went on so it was time to move.
We decided to head out to deep tempest and fish a mark a mate had given me where he had caught some nice snaps and squire the day before. When we got there there was a bit of a show on the sounder but nothing that looked really good but we dropped the pick anyway and we had squire coming in straight away around the two kilo mark. We managed to get our bag here and then decided to have a quick drift over a few shows but had no more luck.
We then went for a quick troll but also had no luck on the skirts so we headed back in around 1030 to try the shipping channel markers. We had no great success here but got a few baits for next trip and had one massive yellow tail kingy follow up jamie's bait but shyed away from it and that was about it.
We called it at around midday getting back to the scarborough ramp just as the wind was really starting to pick up.
End tally was 10 squire, 1 spangled emporer, 1 green jobby, and 1 nice pearly
cheers pete...
We didn't manage any real big fish here this morning but got a nice green jobie around the 2.5 3kg mark a nice spangled emporer and a few squire up to the two kilo mark, there was plenty of action here the whole time but just alot of undersize spangles and yellow tail kingies with the squire starting to get smaller as the morning went on so it was time to move.
We decided to head out to deep tempest and fish a mark a mate had given me where he had caught some nice snaps and squire the day before. When we got there there was a bit of a show on the sounder but nothing that looked really good but we dropped the pick anyway and we had squire coming in straight away around the two kilo mark. We managed to get our bag here and then decided to have a quick drift over a few shows but had no more luck.
We then went for a quick troll but also had no luck on the skirts so we headed back in around 1030 to try the shipping channel markers. We had no great success here but got a few baits for next trip and had one massive yellow tail kingy follow up jamie's bait but shyed away from it and that was about it.
We called it at around midday getting back to the scarborough ramp just as the wind was really starting to pick up.
End tally was 10 squire, 1 spangled emporer, 1 green jobby, and 1 nice pearly
cheers pete...