View Full Version : My Biggest off the Townsville rock walls
kingkev
22-12-2007, 08:32 AM
Hit the rockwalls with dead mud herring this morning at 4:45am. Strips were being hammered and eventually found out that the small sharks were there again. Landed 2 sharks and 2 fat catfish. Hopes of catching a feed were dwindling fast. After 6am one of the rods bent over and I set the 5/0 circle hook. Seeing a big splash and calling it a shark again I started to tire this fellar out. He refused to come in and everytime i got him in close to the rocks he shot off to maggie again. This time I saw that it was not a shark. Eventually with the help of a young fisherman next to me we used 2 lading nets to net a big QUEENFISH Carried him up the rocks and got the camera out. Didn't stay longer as I had no esky that size so home for a fish brekky. It went at 119cm
Good fun
enjoy the pics
chrisallangler
22-12-2007, 08:39 AM
That's a HUUUUUUGGGEEE queenie awsome stuff. Geeze that would have gone hard.... Congrats
Cobia Kid
22-12-2007, 08:43 AM
a very nice fish indeed
oddbudman
22-12-2007, 09:56 AM
Nice queenie buddy.
goddy100
22-12-2007, 10:41 AM
Top fish Kev, sure it went like a bat outa hell!!
Goddy
SWANY22
22-12-2007, 11:03 AM
huge queenie there kev top effort landing that one of the rocks.
ffejsmada
22-12-2007, 01:14 PM
Great fish Kev, I'd love to get one like that stonker!!!
Jeff.
Fisher4life
22-12-2007, 06:49 PM
That is a great Queenie Kev, well done!!
Gotta be happy with that.
How did it taste?
Josh
kingkev
22-12-2007, 07:28 PM
It was a fair fight. I got some scuff marks from the rocks and so did the Queenie. Deep fried pieces in a ginger and beer batter
YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Bad_Bubby
22-12-2007, 07:32 PM
That is a bloody big queenfish, I have never seen one that big from the breakwater! well done again Kev!
kingkev
22-12-2007, 07:36 PM
About a year ago my wife hooked on to a nice Queenie but lost half of it to a Shark. Thats the only time I have ever seen a Queenie caught from the spot I fish at.
Xmas present i presume
Munchy
22-12-2007, 08:06 PM
Wow awesome Queenie. Bet your eyes lit up when you realised it wasnt a shark. Top going mate
Pistol_P
22-12-2007, 08:19 PM
Yeah Kev awesome queenie.....Great fish when they are at that size.
abbot_86
22-12-2007, 08:33 PM
indeed , thats a great fish
Curmudgeon
23-12-2007, 09:29 AM
:tekst-toppie:
Congrats, Kev!
That is amazing stuff.
Brian.
Taipan
23-12-2007, 11:24 AM
Awesome Kev, bet your still smiling ear to ear. They're good fun and one that size would have been awesome.
Mozza
23-12-2007, 11:25 AM
Good onya Kev,
That's an absolute stonker!! What a way to welcome in the Chrissie - plenty of reasons to celebrate!!
Kev, if you can get some live gar you're in with an even better chance of hooking more. Queenies just love gar...
Badbubby, good to see you're still keeping an eye on us Townsville folk! Nearly all of your suggested spots and techniques I have tried with nearly 100% success. Latest is the lakes with peeled prawn for Tarpon and Giant Herring. Score 1 for Tarpon, nil for GH but, I've only been once.. Purlenty of small bream keeping me occupied... The wand, I'm sad to say has some cobwebs...
Mozza
nuggstar
23-12-2007, 02:39 PM
i wish they'd grow that big here, well done
cuzzamundi
24-12-2007, 04:22 PM
Stonker queenie mate - i bet she punished you big time!
cuzza
ddobson
25-12-2007, 02:15 PM
Now thats a big queenie well done northeners.