View Full Version : No Bull....@ Noosa
Pistol_P
21-12-2007, 12:49 PM
Over the last few days I have turned to the dark side and put away the lures and chased jacks on live poddies.I know there are bigger fish in this creek I have been hitting but getting them to hit a lure is prooving difficult at the moment.
I have caught about 10 baby jacks about 25cm a piece but no big ones.
After throwing out live poddies a new problem emerged...BITE OFFS...:o .
Knowing exactly what the culprits would be I returned the next day with a new plan.Small length of single strand wire and a small bobby cork.
Sure enough after a small wait the bobby cork dissappears and bang I am on...No bite offs this time...;) .....and after a great fight in tight country a nasty little Bull shark emerges.....God they are aggressive little Ba$tards....>:( .
The next day was a repeat of the first with another Bull landed which was slightly bigger.
I know...:P not the glamour species that the Jacks are but it is great fun fighting these very agro little sharks.
Interesting when you tell people about them and everyone says 'I hope you killed them'.....and when I say 'NO I let them go' people look at you horrified.
Gotta explain to some people that they are in their natural environment and have every right to be there.....However I certainly wouldnt be swimming in any creeks around Noosa.
ffejsmada
21-12-2007, 01:08 PM
They're bigger than what I thought Pete.
If they're in that creek, they'd be in every creek in our system for sure.
Jeff.
Flattie Assassin
21-12-2007, 01:12 PM
Woah!!! Thanks for the heads up. Great fun on light line i bet.
FA
Fafnir
21-12-2007, 01:22 PM
I can't think of any creek or river between the Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast that wouldn't have them. Seeing these has just confirmed my thoughts. No creek/river/canal swimming for me, I have an allergy to shark bites.
I know...:P not the glamour species that the Jacks are but it is great fun fighting these very agro little sharks
Why do you think that is? Poor eating quality, or just reasonably easy to catch? Because as you say they do put up a reasonable fight.
Pistol_P
21-12-2007, 01:34 PM
I can't think of any creek or river between the Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast that wouldn't have them. Seeing these has just confirmed my thoughts. No creek/river/canal swimming for me, I have an allergy to shark bites.
Why do you think that is? Poor eating quality, or just reasonably easy to catch? Because as you say they do put up a reasonable fight.
Well they are a less desirable species....Put it this way I would rather a 60cm Jack over a shark.....BUT in saying that they are great fighters and great fun.
YES I agree they are in every creek and river around.....Apparently there is a 4 foot Bull Shark swimming around the Noosa Waters Canals right now and the council is placing Nets in there to try and catch it......
I always laugh at this kind of stuff......They seriously believe there is Just one shark in there......There are plenty more than just one.....::)
Fish_gutz
21-12-2007, 01:43 PM
nice sharkies pete they go ok on light gear. a mate of mine was pulling one out of the pine last summer when a bigger one came up and bit the smaller bully in half!!
masterdusky
21-12-2007, 01:47 PM
its amazing what water holds these little fiestys, yet if u said to someone there sharks in there theyd tell u otherwise lol
what are they like to eat at that size ???
tracing em
21-12-2007, 01:49 PM
Great read pete.
Pistol_P
21-12-2007, 02:06 PM
its amazing what water holds these little fiestys, yet if u said to someone there sharks in there theyd tell u otherwise lol
what are they like to eat at that size ???
No idea what they eat like...?...and I dont really fancy eating one.
I dont know if I would eat anything out of those small creeks...:-/
21-12-2007, 02:13 PM
ya gotta watch the way you handle bullies, they are the only shark that can bite there tail.\
granted they are fun on light line. if cared for, they can be awesome chewing too. i barrel them straight away, being careful to keep the gut intact, they have a bile sack or somthing that will spoil the flesh.
awesome for thai curry's and the like, to eat just as a fillet they are a bit sort of dry and chewy
xerubus
21-12-2007, 02:49 PM
good stuff! I'm guessing the smaller bullies would be a good feed fresh?
Quick question. I wouldn't mind targeting a *small* bullie from the yak... would they take SP's or is live bait a must?
Didley
21-12-2007, 03:07 PM
Quick question. I wouldn't mind targeting a *small* bullie from the yak... would they take SP's or is live bait a must?[/quote]
I was talking to a small bullie’s mum the other day she’s thinking of targeting a small bloke on a yak, maybe I can get U two together.
Pistol_P
21-12-2007, 03:09 PM
good stuff! I'm guessing the smaller bullies would be a good feed fresh?
Quick question. I wouldn't mind targeting a *small* bullie from the yak... would they take SP's or is live bait a must?
mmmm....I dont know if Id like one on my yak...:-/
I reckon it would be much worse than a mackeral......They thrash around quite savagely and have some serious teeth.....Get yourself some lip grippers if you mant to give it a shot.....They will hit lures but I reckon the bait is better in the creeks especially when a bit dirty as their sense of smell is great and they will find a smelly poddy mullet easy.
xerubus
21-12-2007, 03:14 PM
thanks didley.... :)
cheers Pete. I wouldn't bring one on the yak... theory is that i'd stay close enough to the shore to be able to paddle back and fight from terra firma. lip grips .. check. gaff.. check.
nuggstar
21-12-2007, 03:19 PM
awsome pete. love ya work
21-12-2007, 03:23 PM
thanks didley.... :)
cheers Pete. I wouldn't bring one on the yak... theory is that i'd stay close enough to the shore to be able to paddle back and fight from terra firma. lip grips .. check. gaff.. check.
Insanity...check::) :P .
Sharks are only good for one thing IMO, eating everything else that moves. The number of times I've had fish 'stolen' by a shark is immeasurable. No doubt thaey do put up a good fight, but I think I'll steer clear, I've already got to keep a lookout for crocs, so I don't want any of those bastards hanging around either.
the gecko
21-12-2007, 03:26 PM
Another convert to the darkside, eh? They are hitting the bait a lot more than the lures this year. Im sure a few bullies are taking my baits too, but Im not using wire and giving up the jacks to find out.....
What model rod is that pete? Looks like backbone rated at 5-10kg ish? looks just right for big jacks and small bullies. You werent planning on getting any small jacks, I see....
Pistol_P
21-12-2007, 03:43 PM
Another convert to the darkside, eh? They are hitting the bait a lot more than the lures this year. Im sure a few bullies are taking my baits too, but Im not using wire and giving up the jacks to find out.....
What model rod is that pete? Looks like backbone rated at 5-10kg ish? looks just right for big jacks and small bullies. You werent planning on getting any small jacks, I see....
Rod is a GL3 Loomis.....SJR 843 which is 7ft rated 8-15lb......Great rod matched up with a 3500 baitrunner for livies or my 3000 sol for bigger plastics and poppers for jacks,Jew etc
Yeah after the bite offs I decided just to target the sharks as they were giving me a hard time....;D
Pistol_P
21-12-2007, 03:44 PM
Rod is a GL3 Loomis.....SJR 843 which is 7ft rated 8-15lb......Great rod matched up with a 3500 baitrunner for livies or my 3000 sol for bigger plastics and poppers for jacks.
Yeah after the bite offs I decided just to target the sharks as they were giving me a hard time....;D
Good stuff Pete
adapt, improvise, overcome
for the life of me I can not understand why people would expect you to kill a bull shark if you werent going to eat it
brian
Pistol_P
21-12-2007, 05:57 PM
Good stuff Pete
adapt, improvise, overcome
for the life of me I can not understand why people would expect you to kill a bull shark if you werent going to eat it
brian
Yeah that was the way it went.....Not something I would normally target BUT seeing as they were there....;D .
cameron walker
21-12-2007, 07:10 PM
I have seen a school of 20 bullies up to 3 ft comming out of the fresh water in coochin creek.Think they go up there to get rid of parasites.Have also encountered them in the pine river when jack fishing.Jacks from pine 0.;)
shin25
21-12-2007, 08:27 PM
nice fish there pete they would've gone nuts in that skinny water top stuff
I'll have to give this darkside thing a go this summer never chased the bullies properly in the canals down here
Cheers Shane
stonecold
21-12-2007, 08:58 PM
Yep go like the clappers on lite string. I use to catch what we called river whalers nearly all the way up to Casino. Use to use live herring...great fun
IRMC000
21-12-2007, 09:05 PM
I always think of Bull Sharks when I walk out through the water to the exposed sand bank at Bell's Creek (Sunshine Coast).
I always wonder what is keeping me company.
Not good
Dorado
22-12-2007, 12:09 AM
I was talking to a small bullie’s mum the other day she’s thinking of targeting a small bloke on a yak, maybe I can get U two together.[/quote]
LOL!
gaintsquid
22-12-2007, 03:54 PM
Good work buddy, i myself have been having abit of fun with the little bullies in the midd brissy river, beleive it or not best bait has been cooked prawns.
abbot_86
22-12-2007, 07:44 PM
s#it pete didnt know they were that big. wish we had of got some this arvo. oh well next time. nickk
ddobson
22-12-2007, 08:00 PM
Every time i hear a story like this i think of my kids swiming in these quiet waterways some times unetended. Theres a 3 to 4 metre getting around peel to mud and my 2 weeks at straddie swiming and surfing certainely makes me uncomfortable. We all know there there but scary how many and the size. The fact they target the same species as us pees me off when i see a snapper head in another boat after a shark has taken the best bits. Makes me wonder how more waterskiers havent been nibbled on.
o bag
24-12-2007, 11:18 AM
is that water brackish or fresh there?dont no if im correct but it looks like somewhere up near wyber creek but further up past the foot bridge or up in the freshwater reaches of the river?
cuzzamundi
24-12-2007, 04:29 PM
two nice bulls there pete. well done for letting them go, and for trying to educate those who had a go at you for doing so. be careful though, they are addictive, and you'll just wanna keep catching bigger and bigger ones = very expensive pastime, but bloody rewarding.
cuzza
smokindrag
24-12-2007, 08:01 PM
gday there!! have been getting bitten off on heavy leader in the northpine the last couple of days too!! maybe will try some wire tommorow morning!! :D
thought it might have been sharks but havent landed any!! now im convinced!
Dan..
Ps: theres some monsters
smokindrag
24-12-2007, 08:04 PM
gday there!! have been getting bitten off on heavy leader in the northpine the last couple of days too!! maybe will try some wire tommorow morning!! :D
thought it might have been sharks but havent landed any!! now im convinced!
Dan..
Ps: theres some monsters that can pull 50lb braid no probs on nearly all the rock walls that drop into deeper water!!!
beefaman
25-12-2007, 10:40 PM
Great read mate. Amazing what can be caught in the small creeks.
pommy
28-12-2007, 04:15 PM
Greetings all and the best of the festive season!
Lippa says that the Bull shark is the only one that can bend round and bite your hand if you are holding its tail. Is this correct?
I'm very curious as I'm thinking of targeting a few sharks over the New Year and would not like to grab one, lets say a Whaler, and have it take a chunk out of me.
Best regards, Rob.
Ballina
simool-awiad
30-12-2007, 09:29 AM
Well they are a less desirable species....Put it this way I would rather a 60cm Jack over a shark.....BUT in saying that they are great fighters and great fun.
YES I agree they are in every creek and river around.....Apparently there is a 4 foot Bull Shark swimming around the Noosa Waters Canals right now and the council is placing Nets in there to try and catch it......
I always laugh at this kind of stuff......They seriously believe there is Just one shark in there......There are plenty more than just one.....::)
your not wrong there mate i was up noosa a couple of weeks ago and we would have seen 3 or 4 sharks jump in a short space of time while we were fishing noosa waters.they were all around 3-4 foot long.the funny thing was you would see one jump and 5 minutes later someone would swim straight through the same spot where it jumped:o
Didley
30-12-2007, 11:26 AM
your not wrong there mate i was up noosa a couple of weeks ago and we would have seen 3 or 4 sharks jump in a short space of time while we were fishing noosa waters.they were all around 3-4 foot long.the funny thing was you would see one jump and 5 minutes later someone would swim straight through the same spot where it jumped:o
Makes U wonder how dangerous these sharks are, the number of people that swim in these areas and how many get bitten.