View Full Version : Cleveland Canals, Take 2!!
chrisallangler
16-12-2007, 02:51 PM
Today i ventured out to the Canals again today insearch of some bigger bream than last time on Thursday. I got off the train to find a Tri-athlon happening- Just great ! are the thoughts going through my head so with the first yacht i usually like to start at being surrounded by observers i went over to the bigger boat i had caught fish at last time. Unfortunatley the tide was right out and all i was left to do was cast at no structure into the deeper water, it still produced but only a wee little tyke at 20cm. I left those pontoons and moored boats after only landing two miniscule bream:'( I found another little canal with some small bream lurking about and threw a little squidgy pro range flick bait in evil minnow into the pontoon and scored another tiddler>:( this was starting to get annoying but hey any fish are better than no fish. So off i was again to the next canal i could find, keeping the same plastic on i saw a big pike or longtom not sure but i ccast at it it followed my plastic and had a tiny hit and Bang!!!!!!!!! the fins braid is dissapearing into the water with the drag going off, wait a second this isn't the pike this is a bream! I brang her in and she was a bit better than the little ones i was getting earlier and she went 29cm. It was awsome seeing it come from behind the pike to smash my plastic. I stayed around for a while and tried numerous poppers and other surface lures to entice what ever was smashing the bait on the surface but i couldn't raise another scale. So i grabbed some hot chips and caught the train back home, not a bad way to use a few hours. Later this week i think i will try and have ago at some Jack:D . Cheers Chris
chief
16-12-2007, 02:57 PM
Nice one mate, thanks for the report.Cheers
chrisallangler
16-12-2007, 03:05 PM
Thanks Chief, unfortunatley i can't put up the pic of it on the brag mat as the pixels are too big etc.
ffejsmada
16-12-2007, 03:15 PM
Good on you mate, you're keen that's for sure.
Persistance pays off in the end!
Jeff.
chrisallangler
16-12-2007, 07:13 PM
P.s. The bream were and are always released.
Well done mate, Ive fished that exact spot quite a few times. I have always struggled fishing those canals landbased. Its a tough spot to crack but from what Ive heared there are some big fish in there.
chrisallangler
16-12-2007, 07:30 PM
Yeah i always seem to get a few little ones and than one bigger one, but as soon as i release it they go off the chew i think i may be spooking the school when they go back in....Well next time i will take the big guns and hopefully snag a Jack before it snags me..... Cheers
Jimbo73
16-12-2007, 07:43 PM
good on ya mate. you sure are keen catching the train to go have a fish. sure would of put a smile on ya dial and made it worth it hearing ya line peeling off.
gud on ya mate those triathlons r great fun to be aprt of i was in one last year at clevland. but the do sometimes spoil the fishing.
regards jason
4x4frog
17-12-2007, 11:40 PM
Yeah i always seem to get a few little ones and than one bigger one, but as soon as i release it they go off the chew i think i may be spooking the school when they go back in....Well next time i will take the big guns and hopefully snag a Jack before it snags me..... Cheers
Chrirs, I saw something about this on one of Rexies shows. They were fishing freshwater at Lake McDonald at Cooroy. The guy taking Rex out kept the fish for about half an hour, marked his good spot and went about 500m away and released the fish. He reckon he got better results longer that way but couldn't pinpoint exactly why. Makes sense to me but like you I'd find it a little hard to do being LB when I fish usually. May-be walk 50m and release the fish then walk back? I will try this in Hervey Bay at Xmas....if I catch any that is.;D
Cheers, Merry Xmas
Chris L
18-12-2007, 08:58 AM
Good on ya matey :D
Next time try walking the other direction when you get off the train. Head around towards the Ormiston side.
Some good spots there that you can get to from the land.
That was probably a Longtom. A few have been around the traps there lately.
Have you tried burleying them up with some chook feed??