View Full Version : Gwydir river options.
woodchopper
14-12-2007, 11:30 AM
Gentlemen
I'm soon to embark on a fishing/shooting adventure at Moree and having only fished on the eastern side of the divide, i have a limited knowledge of how to fish for Cod and yellas. Has anyone fished in theis regioin recently and if so what course of action would you recommend? I will mainly be using lures and propose to use 20-30lb main line with 40lb leader. Is using this line class overdoing it? I have heared that cod in snags require beefy leaders and main lines.
I'll dedicate any pics i take of fish to the person who can get me onto some good sized cod and yellas.
If there are any shooters out that way i'd like to know if there have been any pigs around recently?
Merry Christmas but more importantly enjoy your time off work if you are lucky enough to get some.
Beno
Boomi Boy
14-12-2007, 04:51 PM
Mate, when you get to Moree go and buy a couple of lures and a box of ammo from the chinaman( Hong Yuen Rods and Rifles, 126 Heber St) and I,m sure you will get what the info you want. The more you spend the more he will help!!!
artesian
15-12-2007, 11:58 PM
and be careful of the water - you'll be in cotton country.
I went to sit on an empty 20litre drum at the end of a paddock, farming rello got a bit anxious, and showed me on the tin where it said symptoms of exposure included bleeding from the mouth and anus.....
Of course, they keep it all on the farm behind levy banks, but, still, I dunno if I would eat fish from there, or pigs. Let the Europeans have 'em ;-)
rossco
16-12-2007, 07:21 AM
20-30lb with 40lb leader will stop most fish but not overdoing it. fish the structure hard and you should catch a few and post a report so know how you got on, good luck.
cheers rossco
wamjam
16-12-2007, 08:20 AM
Gday Beno
Might be a bit harder with the cold water being released from Copeton and I don't know if the water is dirty with all the rain .But get some good size lures (100 mm )and cast the sh#t out of every log, stick, rock and all in between and that will be your best bet !!.Try some surface lures late in the arvo as well.
Good luck wamjam
mikooh
18-12-2007, 09:17 PM
I normally fish 20lb braid with 20-40lb leader. 90% of the time casting spinnerbaits around the snags will find you a green spotted fellow around here, my favorites are 1/2 oz double colarado blades with dark coloured skirts. There is a great range of tackle available at the local tackle shops at prices as good as you will find anywhere, so call in to them if you have time. The rivers have been flowing fast and dirty over the past few weeks due to rain, so the fishing has been slow at best. send me a PM if you would like more info.
Mick.
woodchopper
19-12-2007, 11:34 AM
Thanks for the tips everyone.
I think i have enough to go on at the moment so if all goes well i'll be posting a report a couple of days after new year. The fast flowing river is a mixed blessing, good for the land but maybe not so good for fishing. At the end of the day a river full of water is better that a dustbowl, lets hope the good season continues.
Beno
woodchopper
02-01-2008, 03:12 PM
I went, i fished and i came home with nothing. No photos to show and no chance for another few months.
Beno
Bennywise
02-01-2008, 03:46 PM
I didn't really want to hear that:-[ I'm heading there tomorrow for a few days.... Did you fish Copeton Dam at all?
bdowdy
02-01-2008, 04:02 PM
hi bennywise copeton is fishing well check out my report in freshwater section under copeton yellas. cheers bdowdy..brett
Bennywise
02-01-2008, 07:14 PM
Thanks Brett
Nuckle head
02-01-2008, 08:09 PM
Hi Guys ,i fished copeton dam yesterday the fish are a bit quiet , i got 2 little cod 44 cm and 48 cm and got two good yellas 58 cm and 56 cm theres a little bit of alge in the bays near the dam wall and the wind has been blowing alot out there wich will make it difficult.
Cheers Nuckle head
Bennywise
04-01-2008, 02:24 PM
Yeah, sure is blowing. I came from Brisbane to get away from the bad weather to have fish.... Hit copeton today, only got a couple of Yellows and Cat fish.