View Full Version : LPG question
13-12-2007, 09:54 PM
I have to replace my LPG bottles. I have 2 x 4kg and 1 x 3kg and they are all now out of date.
The reason I have 3 bottles is that I take them all camping and use 1 for BBQ and 1 for lighting and the other for the gas stove. If one should run out, I have a spare to run the other items as opposed to just having a 9kg or 20kg for the BBQ.
The question I suppose is which way to go now.
To get the bottles tested and into service for the next 10 years is about $30 each, then fill them and away I go.
Or buy new bottles from a discount store at about $34 each with a fill at $6 -$8 dollars and go from there,
Or do the ' swap and go ' thing, of which I know nothing.
Maybe someone here can tell me the details ( full ) of the swap and go system. ??
I should mention that 3 &4 kg bottles fit nicely into empty milk crates for transportation.
13-12-2007, 10:52 PM
i'll try this reply 4 the 3rd time,,,,
if your bottles are out of date,,, swap n go wont accept them,,, other than that the system itself is pretty good,,, quick,, effective and cost effective as well
i'm unsure of your bottle size tho' as most of the swap n go's i've seen accomadate the larger bottles,, (9kg upwards),,, unless the smaller sizes are hiding behind em
i had this query from the local refill station here on the island about a month back,,,, 9kg bottle refill $45.00,,, swap n go bottle in 9kg was also $45
a stones throw from work at dicky beach is $20 for the refill,,,, no need to guess
have a safe chrissie mate,,,, i'm off air mostly over the next week or so,,,, camp quality kids have kidnapped me again
14-12-2007, 03:58 PM
Ok first thing that got me was you put your bottles in a milk crate, thats a big no no from the start. Gas bottles are supposed to be carried in a metal crate to stop static build up that my trigger an explosion (check WH&S manuals).
As to your problem, its up to you whether you get them tested or just replace them, often you'll find with smaller bottles, it will be around the same price, or sometimes cheaper, to just buy new ones. If you go the new bottle route, stick to the smaller bottles and don't be tempted by buying 3* 9kg bottles for around the same price, it my save you money initially, but it is an offence for someone to carry more than 20kg of LPG unless they have a dangerous goods ticket.
shano
14-12-2007, 06:31 PM
Ok first thing that got me was you put your bottles in a milk crate, thats a big no no from the start. Gas bottles are supposed to be carried in a metal crate to stop static build up that my trigger an explosion (check WH&S manuals).
they showed on the tv only the other night by a gas company rep that this was the most safest way to carry the gas bottles!!!!
i cant see how the crate will build up static elec! where as if it were in a metal crate that would come in contat with the trailer body which will generate static elec then transfere it into the metal crate! interesting!!::)
15-12-2007, 07:26 AM
I use the swap and go bottles as I find it more convenient, and the local servo's dont do refill anymore. However, considering there is a bcf down the road and the refill is something like $10 cheaper I might head down that path. The last swap and go i think was coming close to $35. I am fairly sure that BCF does a refill for $20.
I carry a single 9kg cylinder for camping, and a second if I take the old (35years old) gas fridge on longer camps. The main cylinder has a pole for the gas light and an extra primus fitting that runs the stove. If I use the bbq instead i have the primus to pol adaptor.
15-12-2007, 07:30 AM
Yep choppa, the standard rate for a fill that I can get from most places down here is $2.20/ kg, so that makes a 9kg fill $19.80 compared to the swap and go of $45.
I know the convenience factor should be added in , but I am pretty organized and always have bottles filled prior to camping etc, or at least have the three with me, as I stated, should one run out.
Nope, I would never go to the 9kg x 3 as I have seen how heavy these suckers are and really take up the room, when it is not necessary. The gas bottle in the milk crate is purely for storage while traveling to said camping areas as it allows a ' square ' area so that other gear can be packed tightly around it. Plus, milk crates make good chairs for visitors or a stool to stand on to reach the rods from the roof of the 4BY.
Interesting point about the friction and milk crates !!!! I investigate a little further on that one.
Thanks so far........
16-12-2007, 11:55 AM
Time for another uppercut.
The dates on my gas bottles are the " TEST " date , not the expiry date.....
mmmm so I have 1 tested 99, 1 x 01 and 1 x 02, so it appears ALL are still IN date.
I am off to get them filled at $2.20 / kg. I wonder if these people weigh the bottle before and after filling ??? I am about to find out, I suppose.
17-12-2007, 07:43 AM
I have a 9kg that is expiring next year. Rather than buying a new one, if I do a swap and go before the expiry, it will be a lot cheaper than buying a new one. Just something to consider if your's are close to expiry.
17-12-2007, 05:13 PM
That is what I needed to know Cheech, what is the cost of a swap and go.
Anyway, the question must be asked now.
What does one have to do to have a gas bottle filled ?
I called into a large hardware chain at Rocklea and priced gas bottles and then went to checkout to make enquires about cost of re-fills. $2.20 /kg,
Armed with this knowledge a few days later I go to Oxley branch of large chain and ask " where do I get my gas bottles re-filled ? ". Young lady says that if I leave them here ( pointing to ground at front door ) I'll get it done for you, but you can go to the checkout and pay for them now and they will be ready when you get back.... mmmm yeah right... OK.
Go to checkout and ask to pay for gas bottle re-fills..... sorry sir, we only do swap overs..... ' But girl at front said I can get them filled here ", no sir But Rocklea fills gas bottles. One would have assumed that a large ( largest in Aust ) would have consistent products. Anyway, off I trot to Rocklea ( peak hour traffic )... of course...... I ask young bloke at front door " what do I do to get my gas bottle RE_FILLED ? ". he says get your bottles and take them to the checkout, pay for the gas and then take bottles to Trade Desk and they will fill them for you. Great, sounds easy, doesn't it. !!!!
get to checkout and tell the story, all good, checkout chap doesn't check use by dates and says " what size are they? ". I tell him, 2 x 4kg and 1 x 3kg. OK, deal done and correct monies paid and off to the trade desk. Woman there says do you want those re-filled... Yes thanks. Goes to punch keys on cash register and I tell her that I have already paid, waving reciept. She then says, to " take them outside and I will get someone to fill them, for you ". beauty... I wait around 3 -4 minutes.... then a elderly chap rolls out and says " they won't fill the bottles while it's raining "..... HUH !!! I said it's not raining, bearly a sprinkle and in fact the ground had NO rain drops in the area near the large gas bottles. he repeated the statement to which I asked " who decides what is rain ? ". His reply was " they do, the re-fillers and they say it's raining." I tell him I'll will wait until it stops raining. Bad move. within another 5 minutes it starts to drizzle, which still isn't rain, but about to rain. So I have to declare my innings and grab my car, pick up the still empty gas bottles and head for home.
I now have paid for a fill that I didn't get. I am wondering if someone somewhere along the line should have told me about the ' rain' situation B E F O R E I paid for said gas.
I can see trouble brewing tomorrow when I return with reciept and ask for bottles to be filled and attentive chap sees yesterdays date on reciept and thinks I am trying to pull a swifty
The question still remains. how hard is it to have a gas bottle filled ?
phill
18-12-2007, 04:35 PM
Un-be-leiveable
I went back to hardware store today to have those bottle filled.
Same bloke attended me and asked it they were the bottles form yesterday... Yes.
He then said that the filler guy was out there now and take them to him. I went out, guy finished filling other bottle and said, looks like the bottle is empty. I said " that's Ok, there are 3 here ". I was of course refering to the Large Filling Bottles.
He took the bottle he filled inside came back out and after a few attempts, finally screwed the connections on. Started filling and then all noise stopped. he said, I reckon the bottle is empty. So he ' pushed ' the other bottles and said " guess what ? ". I did say " you are kidding " or words to that effect. Anyway he said he would try the other bottle that seemed to have gas in it. I went into the store and made a small purchase.
Upon returning he was still trying to connect filling hoses to new bottle...mumbled something about cross threads ....... bad fitting spanners.
Nope, that bottle is empty too. All 3 filling bottles are empty. Do you think I am getting peeved. OK, when do the bottles get filled ? " Dunno. But I think they only fill one at a time as they are being phased out in Feburary " he replies. He then suggests I get the Swap and Go system happening.
I went on to say that I have many years of use in these and they are about to cost me $24.20 to fill as opposed to something like $37 each for Swap and Go system. Anyway, after much discussion, I get a refund and then get told that the Gas bottles will be filled on Thursday ( 2 days time ).
I am thinking these bottles of mine are never to be filled again.
I get phone number of store and will call Thursday arvo. Seems to me the trips to and from the store will cost more than the gas re-fills and maybe I should have got it done at a more expensive store that had gas and S E R V I C E......
2DKnBJ
18-12-2007, 04:37 PM
Phil
Next time head down to Westside 4X4 at Sumner Park.
They do weigh your cylinder before filling so you only pay for the amount needed to refill your cylinder.
Be careful though as they have plenty of other goodies in the shop you can spend your money on.
Cheers Dazza
19-12-2007, 06:49 PM
How did you go Phil? Get it filled?
I just took a 9kg and a 4.5kg bottle down to BCF for a refill, cost 19.90 and 10.90 respectively. That works out at about 2.21/kg and 2.42/kg. They filled it on the spot, both were fully empty. They dont weigh them, so only good for filling bottles that are completely empty.
19-12-2007, 08:04 PM
No Andy, as posted above, I didn't get bottles filled and I did go to the same chain store as you.
The local servo will do them for 14.95 for a 4kg, big difference from 8.80 at the h/ware store. WHY the price diff ?
MY-TopEnder
19-12-2007, 08:30 PM
Good luck getting a servo to do it now days. Apparently the changed the laws that the servo must have 2 console operators to do a refill.
That rocklea bunnings is bloody useless.
20-12-2007, 09:23 AM
they don't weigh them at all. if you get a 9kg one filled you pay for 9kg even if it was already half full. i know you don't like the 9kg bottles phil and i used to be the same, but after messing around with different bottles (i've now got 4 smaller ones that are out of date) for camping and the bbq, i bit the bullet and simply have the one 9kg bottle for everything.
timddo
20-12-2007, 10:29 AM
Phil. If you live on the westside. There is a camping store that does it cheap at wacol. Next to ultratune or coleman tyre company.
I use the freedom petrol station at inala. Thats cheap too. Corner of freeman road.
20-12-2007, 07:27 PM
But wait, there's more. :o
I telephoned said store today to enquire if the re-fill truck had been.
I asked first operator about the gas bottles and she put me through to " Trade Desk ". I asked woman who answered phoned " Have the Gas Bottles been re-filled today ?". She yells at someone and they respond, " yes. some have come in ! ". I sense trouble......
She informs me that ' some have come in". I repeat my question " Has the truck comes in to re-fill the large gas bottles ? ". "OH ! " she replies//.... " I'll ask ".
Calls out to bloke and gets answers that I cannot hear. She says to me.. " The truck hasn't been in yet but one bottle is half full and if you come down straight away we can fill your bottle for you ".
Now I am getting real concerned.. Tuesday arvo the re-fill bottles are EMPTY, delivery of gas is Thursday I am told.. I speak to them Thursday midday..ish and they state truck has not made delivery, yet .... YET.... one gas bottle is half full.
I am aghast and cannot bother to ask how one bottle became half full overnight.
1 round trip to Oxley store, 2 round trips to Rocklea store and 6 minutes on mobile phone and still have not got my bottles filled.
Stay tuned, this could get ugly.
20-12-2007, 07:39 PM
one of the most entertaining threads i've read for a bit, well done phil :P
20-12-2007, 08:19 PM
IT DOES GET BETTER>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
telephoned store at 7.30 ish as I noted in the website they are open until midnight tonight ( usually 9pm ). Me thinks I'll go down a get them filled in the cool of the evening........yeah right.
Lisa answers phone.... cannot put me through to Trade Desk as no one is there. I get misdirected to Service Desk but no answer. Then I get transfered to Adam who says he will put me through to Will in Timber. Adam answers call .. mmm Adam says I will try again... mm no answer than Adam is back online. he puts me through to Russel in ' plumbing. Russel asks why I was put through to him.. I tell him " because Adam said you'd know if the gas bottles had been filled or you could fill mine for me ". No, I only started shift at 4pm, don't know about gas bottles.
Back to service desk and Jenna ' or Jemma ??? says that we do not fill gas bottles after 6pm as " it is too hard to find someone qualified to fill them ". So I say, ' you sell gas but not at all times when you are open for business ! ". So I ask her if the gas bottles have been re-filled. she says as far as she knows one has. " If you bring your bottle down tomorrow, we can fill it for you ". I tell her that I have been trying for 4 days to have my bottles filled without luck and she says, " then you'll know more about the gas bottles than I do. !!!!! "
I have been made a lot of promises from this store and am yet to have one delivered.
What are my chances of getting the bottles filled tomorrow ? I'm betting 50/1 against. Do I ring before going down or do I chance my arm ?
Stay tuned................ it could turn into a ' novel '.::)
Tailortaker
20-12-2007, 08:50 PM
You've got a lot more patience than me Phill, and personally if I was the Manager of the store I would be filling your gas bottles and refunding your money at the least. Thats bloody terrible service.
Cheers Grant
saurian
20-12-2007, 09:13 PM
Oh phil, you make me laugh...
How bout you buy a swap and go lol..........
Ta
2DKnBJ
20-12-2007, 09:14 PM
This is getting very interesting Phill.
At the very least they should fill your bottles and give your money back.
Then again it sounds as though it would be easier for you to find a 2 ft deep puddle to drive through than to get a couple of gas bottles filled.
Cheers Dazza
rando
20-12-2007, 10:05 PM
Phil
When you are down there get the email address for the store and the head office ,and send both this thread and an invoice for costs inccurred .
That'll get their attention
loophole
20-12-2007, 10:05 PM
How did you go Phil? Get it filled?
I just took a 9kg and a 4.5kg bottle down to BCF for a refill, cost 19.90 and 10.90 respectively. That works out at about 2.21/kg and 2.42/kg. They filled it on the spot, both were fully empty. They dont weigh them, so only good for filling bottles that are completely empty.
yer 9kg 19.90 none of this stuffing around trying to connect hoses there fast and yeah you can go and get distracted and buy goodies lol its hard not to;)
MY-TopEnder
20-12-2007, 10:40 PM
How bout this Phill... i have to go there tomorrow (Rocklea) about lunch time anyway, so save you the effort of stuffing around on the phone, i'll check for you and give you a call?
mally
21-12-2007, 06:11 AM
mate that sounds like a typical bunnings story
21-12-2007, 05:47 PM
I have been re-gassed
Today at 3.30pm, I chanced my arm and drove to the store. I found a red headed chap ( Will ) filling a gas bottle. I placed my bottles down at the base of the big cylinders / bottles and said that I will go inside and pay for the gas. he nodded in approval.
I returned waving a reciept as I passed by him on the return trip, he was filling my 3 kg bottle. He did not want to see my reciept...
Anyway, while I was at the Trade Desk paying, I mentioned that I had taken me 5 days to get these filled and then I mentioned that the gas service would be discontinued in February. Irish / Scotish chap commented that he had begun working at this store nearly 2 years ago and they had said the same thing, but the gas would finish last year in October... he said, he wouldn't worry about any discontinuing rumours.
So, I have my bottles filled and an experience that I will never forget and I hope some of you got a laugh out of.
I may yet still do a summary of the cost to me involved in this exercise. As for the BCF suggestion....... they are a long way from me...
Thanks guys
phill
Well done Phil, it's been an entertaining read :-0
I hope you and your gas bottles enjoy a good break.
Good luck,
24-12-2007, 01:31 PM
Go for the swap'n'go deal and they DO take bottles out of date and they test them and change the valves to standardise them. The worst that they will do is a small charge for out of date bottle and they basically NEVER check the date at the servos.
Read thier criteria for bottle acceptance.
http://www.swapngo.com.au/how-to-swapngo
I've taken dozens of out of date bottles in and never been checked for date so I assume the servos themselves either wear the cost or they just go through a new bottle routine prior to painting etc.
Reel Hard
24-12-2007, 03:52 PM
Just put a U and a N in front of your user name Phil. I am sure things will get better from there.
Shane at Water tower Bait and Tackle Manly always fills mine.
Merry Christmas Too.
Reel Hard
24-12-2007, 03:55 PM
Oh and for wet weather ;you just hold out a cigarette paper for one minute, if two drops hit it ,thats it knock off work its a wet day. Council rule's. I worked for the council for a few years and there was never any arguement about the rule. Oh and shovels are to be used to lean on.
24-12-2007, 08:13 PM
Thanks Jack. I have copied this piece from the site:-
Simply swap any brand, condition or type of BBQ gas bottle up to 9kg in size for a full one at any SWAP’n’GO outlet.
I will take 2 x 4kg's and 1 x 3kg to my nearest outlet. What are the odds of me getting a straight swap ? The wording worries me.... BBQ gas bottle and up to 9kg....
OH and thanks KEV, I may have to change the nicname....:P
Have a safe Xmas all you campers...................
Hornblower
24-12-2007, 09:07 PM
Mmmm. have a couple of out of date bottle s that I was wondering what to do with, might take them to the 7/11 up the road, I'm sure they can't read the Queen's English, mind you they know how to charge like wounded bulls, I think the last 9kg swap and go bottle cost me $27. I had the same experience as Phil with trying to get bottles filled at Servo's and Bunnings and had much the same run around and just bit the bullet. Swap and go might cost more, but when you run out of gas in the middle of a bar b que on a Sunday night - they're mighty handy.
Merry Christmas one and all
24-12-2007, 09:09 PM
Entertaining read that all i can say, but swap and go is mighty convenient
mike
MyEscape
11-01-2008, 06:22 AM
Took my 9kg bottle in the car the other day to town. went past BCF and thought "I should probably get it filled now" but there was a fair wait so there as a line up, so went past Bunnings and parked and took the bottle out. Before I got to the bottles (swap and go) someone in a red t-shirt yelled out they have no bottles left. Ok so maybe I don't need the gas today.
Went for a drive and drove past a servo with some swap bottles in the cage. Decided quickly to turn around and go back. Swapped the bottle in desperation and paid $33.50!!! for 9 kg.
Next time I'll wait at BCF. Line up or not.