View Full Version : Cleveland Canals breamin'

chrisallangler
13-12-2007, 04:53 PM
Today after much thought and decisions were made i decided to catch the train all the way out to Cleveland to try for some bigger bream than Tuesday's effort in the Tweed. I started off by throwing a Pearl Watermelon 3inch minnow for some bream at some boats, after about One hour with no result i decided to go to the other side of that Canal enterance i had swapped around plastics and hb's alot by then and went back to the old Pearl Watermelon, immediatly i was rewarded with a small bream about 22cm. This kept happening on and off for about an hour witha lot of small bream caught on that one plastic, finally as soon a the placcie hit the water right near a big moored Yacht i was smacked by something that felt a bit more substantial. I was right about it being a bit more substantial but not that much more unfortunatley the bream went 28cm FL. It may not have been one of those days were there are alot of big fish around but it was alot of fun on light gear. The wind picked up and i decded to pull the pin and head for a very long ride home.

P.s. still really happy with my knew Sol 2000:)

chrisallangler
13-12-2007, 04:54 PM
P.s will add piccies later when they want to upload.

13-12-2007, 05:44 PM

Where'd you come from to make it a long ride to cleveland?

Persist with those canals, you'd be surprised whats in ther,e and isnt a 2000sol a nice piece of kit?

chrisallangler
13-12-2007, 05:55 PM
Yeah thanks Dave, I came all the way out from western Brisbane and it was a damn long trip, but it was worth it. Man the Sol's are awsome reels they are really nice to cast light plastics with. I am thinking of going back to the canals next week targeting Jacks.

needmoretime
13-12-2007, 06:57 PM
Nice bream,

That is a decent trek but sounds like a lot of fun.

I haven't fished much in those canals but have heard it can be quite good on its day. Well done - deserve a few fish for a trip of that distance.

Can't wait for the holidays to get out there myself.

NMT

chief
13-12-2007, 07:29 PM
Your right about those sols mate top reel, fantastic to see your so keen. I was down at the canals killing some time before i had a appointment tuesday arvo(no fishing rod) and watching some baitfish being harrassed and some decent hits on the surface. Sounded like trevs ? Best of luck next time

chrisallangler
13-12-2007, 07:33 PM
Your right about those sols mate top reel, fantastic to see your so keen. I was down at the canals killing some time before i had a appointment tuesday arvo(no fishing rod) and watching some baitfish being harrassed and some decent hits on the surface. Sounded like trevs ? Best of luck next time

Yeah i did try a surface lure for a sec but the wind got the better of it and casting was close to imposible with such a light lure, but next time i will give my river 2 sea bubble pop ago and see if a can snuff out a trevor.

chris_lure_man
13-12-2007, 08:05 PM
so do u reckon the sols are the go coz im really keen to get one!
nice fish there my favoutite plastic

chrisallangler
13-12-2007, 08:09 PM
so do u reckon the sols are the go coz im really keen to get one!
nice fish there my favoutite plastic

Manseriously best reel i have ever owned they are awsome with light line ( On mine i have 4lb fins braid) The drag is sound on them along with every thing else today i only had it on a Strudiwick Sik Stik and i was able to easily cast light soft Plastics. Cheers Chris

PlasticFantastic
13-12-2007, 08:09 PM
I've fished in the Raby Bay Canals (Cleveland) for years now and still cant manage to consitantly catch fish. What I can tell you is that on the Ormiston side entrance early morning and late afternoons you can get Trevally on Poppers plus Bream, Flathead and Tailor on plastics. Also anywhere in the system cast HB's along the rocks especially at this time of year for some Cod you'll be suprised at the size some of them. People have caught Threadfin Salmon, Snapper (3-4kg), Mangrove Jack, Queenfish etc in these Canals so the fish are there just gotta catch em, when you figure it out let me know cus it seems i'll be a few more years trying yet. Honestly i'm only ten minutes away from the Canals and would rather try my luck down the Tweed, but that's just me.

PlasticFantastic

13-12-2007, 08:11 PM
I also got the 2500 SOL, great reel except for the fact the anti-reverse bearing failed and the roller bearing became really noisy. Wouldn't stop me buying another though.

PlasticFantastic

corby12
13-12-2007, 08:27 PM
well done a deserved reward for the efforts. i have the sol 2000 and love it, i dont think i would ever go backwards after using the sol. I also have the sol in the baitcaster its just as good, casts a mile

Anyway well done

chrisallangler
13-12-2007, 08:50 PM
I've fished in the Raby Bay Canals (Cleveland) for years now and still cant manage to consitantly catch fish. What I can tell you is that on the Ormiston side entrance early morning and late afternoons you can get Trevally on Poppers plus Bream, Flathead and Tailor on plastics. Also anywhere in the system cast HB's along the rocks especially at this time of year for some Cod you'll be suprised at the size some of them. People have caught Threadfin Salmon, Snapper (3-4kg), Mangrove Jack, Queenfish etc in these Canals so the fish are there just gotta catch em, when you figure it out let me know cus it seems i'll be a few more years trying yet. Honestly i'm only ten minutes away from the Canals and would rather try my luck down the Tweed, but that's just me.

PlasticFantastic

Yeah thanks for the input mate, i just got sick of sitting at home on my day's off from work so i thought i might aswell give them ago, are you talking about the canals just near the Cleveland station? I would much rather fish the tweed any day of the week aswell. Great river system. I wouldn't be suprized about the jacks and cod the rockwalls look really good just really snaggy, and there are some really nice pontoons i would like to give a flick but it's all private property. Thanks Chris.

nuggstar
13-12-2007, 08:52 PM
great work again criss, id be lost with out my sol

Crumbo
14-12-2007, 09:39 AM
You would be surprised what is in those raby bay canals. . . . . Last week I pulled a 45cm squire in there on a micro mullet.

Little grey men
14-12-2007, 11:07 AM
A top way to kill a few hours hey ?
Nice one mate.