View Full Version : Yeppoon / Keppels - Deckie ??

bay_firey
13-12-2007, 09:37 AM
The weather is looking to be too damn good to miss out on.

My usual deckie is going to be unavailable for this weekend so if anyone is looking for a ride give me a bell.

Or if you a spare spot that needs filling think of me

I make no gaurentees of fish but with the forcast should at the very least be a great day out

MY ALIBI
13-12-2007, 10:45 AM
hi mate when and where you might go i am waiting on my deckie 2 c if i get out myself??? on sat to the keppells for some trout?

bay_firey
13-12-2007, 11:59 AM
thats what i was thinking more so sunday though.
Have lash up at conical or man and wife / barron maybe even down to divided have done ok down there before too

14-12-2007, 06:28 PM
Don't think it's going to be too good mark at this stage
Jt

bay_firey
14-12-2007, 08:00 PM
Bloody weather changes so damn quick

May just have to enjoy a bit extra Christmas cheer at the party i am going to on Saturday night

bay_firey
14-12-2007, 08:05 PM
Seabreeze is still saying about 10 knots from the east and the BOM has 10 - 15 generally easterly. It's been around that 10knots all week by the look of it

14-12-2007, 08:07 PM
hahaha that'll will be me next saturday thats a definate trip i won't be going on after my xmas party.
As boxing day rolls on we might organise something we always do a mate and family fishing trip have done every boxing day.

bay_firey
14-12-2007, 08:24 PM
Sounds pretty good to me.
I finish work for 2 weeks next thursday so heres hoping for some decent weather

MY ALIBI
14-12-2007, 10:31 PM
hey ther firey if you get out sat call me up on 21( MY ALIBI )C U ON THE Wter .. off to bed now 4am start i let yas know how we did ....

here com the trout , here com the trout lol....

Kev_McC
15-12-2007, 07:13 PM
I'll be taking my young bloke out on Monday - looks a bit better than the weekend hopefully. We'll head to divided and see if we can lure some trout on plastic. If the trout are not there then we'll certainly get heaps of cod. My 6yo loves casting lures and cod and trout are just suckers for slow worked plastic around bommies. We got a few last weekend (all released - reef closure) as well as some good spotties - we were looking for tuna, queenies and trevally but got none.

Munchy
15-12-2007, 08:52 PM
Yeh weather is orindinary this weekend. Started to head out this morning but couldnt be bothere putting over to the islands so turned around and came back lol.

15-12-2007, 09:40 PM
I was going to head out tomorrow ut all my offsiders have pulled the pin
So i won't be heading out plus i need to get a bolt for my boat trailer broke one today adjusting my rollers set up
Hey Kev there were some good size greys around during the week

Kev_McC
16-12-2007, 07:51 AM
Hopefully it will be ok tomorrow morning...
Mind if I ask where the greys showed up JT? They don't fight much but they like lures and they taste good! I have not caught a single grey this year, have had lots of good sessions on spots and dogs and a few spanos, but no greys yet

19-12-2007, 02:07 PM
I'll be down in Rocky over xmas/nye boys, so if there is anyone looking for a deckie around then, I'd be really interested! :)

Send me a PM if you might have anything, or just want to catch up for a beer.

Kev_McC
19-12-2007, 08:10 PM
I'm hoping the weather gets good enought to need a deckie!
I went yesterday morning, got to the coasta nd found it a bit rough so took the kids up Coorooman. Chucked plastic around for a few hours, kept amused with gold spots and GTs on the drains but nothing spectacular

Local_Guy
23-12-2007, 08:23 PM
guys a little off topic. but just wondering what size boats u guys run out to the keppels in.

i just bought a 4.6m Brooker centre colsole with a 40hp 2stroke mercury..... i'd be right to get out to Man&wife and barron on a good day right???

23-12-2007, 10:39 PM
Mate has something similair you'll have no worries on a good day
Jt

Kev_McC
24-12-2007, 11:24 AM
i regularly fish the islands in a four and half metre quintrex with a 60. I don't tolerate rough weather very well so I'm usually out on good days only. I'm yet to make it to Barren or Lisa Jane but am keen now that I've got a vhf radio.
I have been to Man & Wife and regularly fish the Conical area. I tend to be fishing the southern bay a lot more recently as there are lots of close and easy options for little kids....if all else fails they've got to be really unlucky not to catch a cod or doggie on small plastics around Pelican or Divided.
I know a bloke who regularly fishes Man & Wife and Barren in a 3.85m edge tracker, including the odd overnighter - I think he's mad but he reckons it's fine. Another guy often heads to Flat, Perforated, Manifold area in a 4.2m tiller steer dinghy, from Fishing Ck mostly, and often in the dark after work. Again, probably not my go!