View Full Version : Bream Bonanza!!!!!!

basskid
11-12-2007, 04:12 PM
Hey Everyone,;D

Today Nuggstar and i decided to chase some Bass and some Tarpon in a secret pond i Know of and upon arrival It was overcast and no wind. Perfect he he he, after a good few casts i heard a massive BOOF!!!!!! And looking to the side I saw a massive bust up of white water everywhere as Nugg was on the ground after missing a good fish like that ,,,,BUMMER,,,, we still toddled on and i got rewarded by a tiny Spangled Perch and by the end of out little adventure we missed alot of little Spangles but we also missed alot of Bigger fish.

We then decided to chase a few Bream on Topwater! Our first stop was a littler canal entrance we had never been in and after first cast a massive school of Bream followed my Teeny Torpedo and even "kissed" it but no Hook-ups. Nugg went up and i went in search of a different spot and i was rewarded unfortunately not by Fish but i found a few good spots on high tide and up ahaed nugg had already caught 3 baby Bream>:( .

We then Trotted off to a spot were i knew was good and alot of bigger Bream lurk. For some reason i took my surface off and put on a Bassday Sugar Deep Minnow and after a few cats BANG! ZZZZZZZZZZ and i was on to my first Fish On my new rod and a decent fish it was for a hardbody of about 29cm and then up ahead i was on again and again and again and after about 3 good fish Nugg Started to get bit Ticked off and he changed the colour of his SX40 and nearly straight away he was on to a good fish then as he was lifting it up the hooks came lose and i was a witness and it was a fat descent Fish %$$#@#$%$# was on the lines of that little "Episode".

Then after i landed another Fish i did a great cast then the wind hit my lure and smashed the little Sugar Deep and SNAPPED at the bib $#@%%$#@ again and then i changed to a Smith Jade MD in Weed Shrimp And after a few casts i got another one and Nugg got a few too.....

We had so many "oddities" happen today like a mud crab snipped and got hooked on my Lure and Nugg got a good Bream without a tail and we hooked atleast 5 Flathead and they all spat the hooks after they were brought close and we also witnessed mass schools of bream chase down our Hardbody's in a jam packed "ARMY" After a few more fish we then decided to leave home and call it a day.

Big THANKS to go out to Nuggstar for taking me and everything... And overall we had a good Day;D

Enjoy Everyone P.S SPOT the Bream without a tail!!!!!!!!!!:o

basskid
11-12-2007, 04:35 PM
sorry Guy's the pic of bream without tail will not upload i will try later:-[

joeking
11-12-2007, 04:52 PM
Great stuff mate, looks like a fun, r u fishing the canals around clown town (caloundra)? youll have to journey upto the maroochy river and come chase some trevs and flatties with me one day.
Cheers Joe

basskid
11-12-2007, 04:54 PM
Hey Joe,
I Actaully dont know what place i was in to tell you the truth in between Caloundra and Kawana i guess????
And yes that would be sweet but first i NEEEEEEEEEED to get my BASS FIX BIGTIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

joeking
11-12-2007, 05:01 PM
Haha fair enough mate i know the feeling, bass r still my favorite fish to catch by a wide margin. lets us know if your up for a trip as i will be fishing pretty much daily for the next month.

chief
11-12-2007, 05:02 PM
The bream are going off down here in brissie as well. Their hitting plastics hard. Caught heaps over the weekend around the 30 mark , Did see 1 bloke with two big bream ,best one went 1.27 kg. real stonker

basskid
11-12-2007, 05:09 PM
Thanks for the replies guy's and also we saw and missed plenty of Bream but the tide was wrong and it was a new place so i needed to suss it out a bit more.
I Want to go Backis it was a nice Canal With rocks cough jack cough cough

Pistol_P
11-12-2007, 05:54 PM
Onya boys...8-)

Looks like you had some fun down there....8-)
I bet Nugg was secretly searching for trevally....;D

tiges
11-12-2007, 06:40 PM
New rod looks sweet Kid. What kind is it, and how did it perform?

basskid
11-12-2007, 06:57 PM
Hey Tiges,
I got my rod from a mate of Yours EHEHEHEH Andrew ring a bell eheheheheheh and it was an awsome rod mate best i have ever felt you can truly relise the difference between i china piece of crap to a custom biult noosa based japenese fitted rod

imnotoriginal
11-12-2007, 07:49 PM
Nice stuff boys, you must be loving all this fishing time Will? Good to see you getting into a few.
Joel

nuggstar
11-12-2007, 09:21 PM
man i gota see that stumpy bream again hehe i had a ball will. next time i hope the bass will come and play

nuggstar
11-12-2007, 09:24 PM
now im getting $hitty i did not get ya to help land that cracker o well next time i take a net hehe

tazza_505
12-12-2007, 06:56 PM
Nice like done Sims.
How come that place looks exactly over the canal of where we were? heheh.

geoff72
12-12-2007, 08:32 PM
good work fellas,whats the size of your main line and leader you are using for the bream.?

basskid
12-12-2007, 08:43 PM
Hey Geoff,
It all depends what sort of structure is arounmd and in most case yesterday none... but we were not to happy of the tghough of flattys eating out $20 lures all the time so we opted for 6lb and normally i would use 2lb crystal but at this time 4lb flouro green was 12 buks cheaper than 2lb crystal so i just used 4lb flouro fireline ey and leader if i knew i was fishing arond pontoon on surface normal 6lb mono .. ckear mono would do it,
Hope this helped Geoff