View Full Version : Stellas !!! are they worth it ???
maxwellson
10-12-2007, 04:57 PM
hi all, after some opinions on the shimano stellas......are they worth the hard earnt they want foe them..???
max
ffejsmada
10-12-2007, 05:25 PM
Didn't we go through these exact sentiments a few months ago????::)::)::)
Do a search on the subject Max and you'll find about 10 pages of bickering!!!
Cheers Jeff.
maxwellson
10-12-2007, 05:41 PM
by the sounds of that i dont really want to.......im not on these sites for bickering...just looking for constructive thoughts on the subject..thats probably why i dont come on here much any more..
bye bye Maxi
Leighton
10-12-2007, 05:59 PM
Its the old battle, Ford or Holden, Daiwa or Shimano
Daiwa for me
Flattie Assassin
10-12-2007, 06:16 PM
In that price range, Daiwa for sure. They offer so much more. ;)
Tim_N
10-12-2007, 06:21 PM
Get yourself a Daiwa Certate and be done with it.
No need to sook Maxi, just do the search and pick out all the bits of useful information amongst the rest of the flack, You'll find plenty of constructive advice on the subject in there, but you will have to sift for it;)
Cheers Roo.
mattooty
11-12-2007, 09:09 AM
Like most fishing gear, for what its worth it is grossly over priced but, in saying that, as soon as i have the money I'm getting one. They're the mercedes of the fishing reel world, and the rough equivalent of the saltiga.
If you have the money to get one, get it! I honestly wish i never handled my mates stella as now im stuck in a rut, not wanting to use my gear anymore, and wanting to fork out just under a grand for a fishing reel. See the dilema?
But in answer to your question, yes they are worth every cent of the price tag if you are into using comfortable gear that wont miss a beat and is smoother than the proverbial babys bottom.
freddofrog
11-12-2007, 01:37 PM
...thats probably why i dont come on here much any more....bye bye Maxi
Hey guys, I think he's already taken his bat and ball and gone home to :'(
maxwellson
11-12-2007, 03:32 PM
thats exactly what i mean freddo frog...
its those type of comments that are slowly but surely giving this site a bad name..
people hiding behind there keyboards giving other people the s**ts..
yep im taking the bat and the ball and never coming back on here again...
and im glad im not coming back....who wants to hear this crap..not me..
so now you can say what ever you want about me and i will never know...hahahaha
Flattie Assassin
11-12-2007, 03:48 PM
thats exactly what i mean freddo frog...
its those type of comments that are slowly but surely giving this site a bad name..
people hiding behind there keyboards giving other people the s**ts..
yep im taking the bat and the ball and never coming back on here again...
and im glad im not coming back....who wants to hear this crap..not me..
so now you can say what ever you want about me and i will never know...hahahaha
LOL, Umm well, this certainly is one for the books. Lots of good answers there maxie. Mate the trick is to not let the wallies around even worry you. As soon as you bite, they have got ya. Not that i see anything really wrong in this thread. You gotta have a thicker skin than that fella, if your gonna make it in this world. Chin up, be a man. If you can't manage that, i would look at a team of phsyciatrists working round the clock. 24/7, thoroughly working on you, over and over and over. See if that helps. :)
kingtin
11-12-2007, 03:56 PM
See what you've done Jeff! :P
Maxi, in any walk of life you'll have differing opinions on a range of subjects. People will agree or disagree and if you ask for an opinion, then you should expect what comes back as an answer. If we all agreed, then the world would be a miserable and (undisputably) a false place.
There was nothing innaproriate in Jeff's answer and he simply alerted to you that there would be differences of opinion just as if there was a discussion about holden and Fords, Monos and cats, or yammies and suzies.
The subsequent responses were only to be expected as it was you who "threw the first stone" which sounded like a snide comment, and a dig at the site, irrespective of the fact that you might see it as justified.
You must have some respect for the site if you came here looking for answers so it appears to me that you are simply denying yourself access to a wealth of information, even if that information sometimes comes with a bit of controversy. Cutting off your nose to spite your face, it appears, particularly as in one thread, you once said this of the members here:
"im a bit overwhelmed by the help im getting here guys...cant thank you all enough... looks like its my shout for a while if we meet up...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.....will be my pleasure......"
Personally, I couldn't/wouldn't have been arsed to respond to a reply such as yours, and sometimes, I wonder why people do? If aggrieved members feel like "picking up their bat and ball" then I would simply let 'em walk, and get on with another game, rather than "throw stones" after 'em...............I'm buggered as to why I'm making an exception in this case..............must have something to do with Xmas spirit http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/36/36_15_61.gif
Flattie Assassin
11-12-2007, 05:01 PM
They're the mercedes of the fishing reel world the
Blah, no way. Maybe the SAAB of the fishing world. :P Certainly not the Mercedes. The Saltiga Dogfight is the Ferrari, The Expedition is the Mercedes. My Certate is even a Porsche. I consider myself pretty clued up on this subject after having used some top end reels of both stables.
Everyone is going to like the feel of different gear i gather. But in my honest opinion. Daiwa reels Eat shimano in the top end. Absolutely eat em. Drags better, air bail. Super smooth with no loss of smoothness over the first few uses, which shimano is renouned for by the way. Better spools, better casts, the list goes on.
I know where i'd be spending my hard earned on a top end reel.
BACK TO THE TOPIC::) .... I'm actually quite disappointed in my Stella 2000SR ..... It is a very smooth reel with a nice drag .... but it lays line like crap ( lots of wind knots) ..... & before anyone says anything ..... wind knots on the very first cast>:(
I bought this reel to fish 2 or 4lb braid for bream / bass etc ...... but I found this such a temperamental reel .... I went through 4 different lines before I found a suitable one + I could not use it with the rod it was intended to be used with ( T Curve 702XL) ..... the line would wrap the guides during a cast. I also tried it on a T Curve 701 ..... not much improvement!:( Eventually It was married up to a Nitro Powerbream finesse ..... which seems to be a great combination ........ Finally!
In comparison my Daiwa Certate 1500 lives happily on any rod & has been spooled with one of the lines that did not work on the Stella :) The Certate is nearly as smooth as the Stella , has a better drag + is a little more workhorse like.
In the washup ..... If I didn't pick up the Stella for a great price & paid top dollar ..... I would have been pissed off big time
I would not buy another Stella & just stick to Certates or maybe a Steez if I really had the need for another high end spin reel
Cheers ,,,, Nagg
PS I am a Daiwa fan .... but have no problem buying Shimano or other brands if they have the product that suits my needs best8-)
banshee
11-12-2007, 06:35 PM
Blah, no way. Maybe the SAAB of the fishing world. :P Certainly not the Mercedes. The Saltiga Dogfight is the Ferrari, The Expedition is the Mercedes. My Certate is even a Porsche. I consider myself pretty clued up on this subject after having used some top end reels of both stables.
Everyone is going to like the feel of different gear i gather. But in my honest opinion. Daiwa reels Eat shimano in the top end. Absolutely eat em. Drags better, air bail. Super smooth with no loss of smoothness over the first few uses, which shimano is renouned for by the way. Better spools, better casts, the list goes on.
I know where i'd be spending my hard earned on a top end reel.
Have to disagree on the drag comment,I tend to think that Daiwa at the preseant time is a better product in all ways except the drag,that being said there's not a lot in it.
Flattie Assassin
11-12-2007, 07:16 PM
Have to disagree on the drag comment,I tend to think that Daiwa at the preseant time is a better product in all ways except the drag,that being said there's not a lot in it.
7 kg drag on a 2500 reel is heaps for me. You could be well right though. :)
Flattie Assassin
11-12-2007, 07:36 PM
I would not buy another Stella & just stick to Certates or maybe a Steez if I really had the need for another high end spin reel
Yes the Steez is very sexy, i've been eyeing one off on a tackle site for a bit now. Either one of them or a certate Hyper.
freddofrog
11-12-2007, 08:19 PM
Max, you are right, I should have had more sensitivity for someone with obviously sensitive feelings. Don't let my comments put you off an excellent site.
Shane
aka ff
Leighton
11-12-2007, 08:34 PM
Hey flattie ass, what online sites have you been getting good deals on gear from?
Flattie Assassin
11-12-2007, 09:01 PM
I'm not sure how long they'll last bloke,
But here's the pick of my tackle sites.
http://www.########.com.au/index.cfm?pr=home
http://www.bluewater.net.au/catalog/index.php?cPath=21
http://www.plat.co.jp/shop/catalog/default.php
http://www.ichibantackle.com/
http://stores.ebay.com/LURES-of-JAPAN
These are all reliable trustworthy sites.
FA
Flattie Assassin
11-12-2007, 09:10 PM
Max, you are right, I should have had more sensitivity for someone with obviously sensitive feelings. Don't let my comments put you off an excellent site.
Shane
aka ff
Bahahha get a room!! :-*
Leighton
11-12-2007, 09:18 PM
got em, thanks champ