View Full Version : More Inskip camping questions
Mr__Bean
10-12-2007, 01:30 PM
G'Day all,
We are thinking of camping at Inskip for a week or so mid january, due primarily to the ability to take our dog with us when we go away.
A couple of questions:
1. Does it get crazy over that period? Plenty or few sites usually available? Can you hear the person in the next camp fart or do you get to have some distance between camps?
2. Safe place to leave your wife and kids if you are out all day and maybe overnight fishing?
3. Is there room there to take your boat as well (large boat)?
Thanks, and apologies if these have been asked before, I have searched and learnt a lot from these pages but still a bit unsure about going there mid January.
- Darren
shano
10-12-2007, 08:53 PM
1. there will be plenty of room the crowed go ome on new years day and he day after that! it will almost be ghost town.
2. yes we have not had any troubles. but the worls is changing all the time! but i would not have problems leaving my wife alone there. most of the riff raf have gone home and the older ones normally stay .
3.yes
hope this helps you out some! i love it up there!
Mr__Bean
11-12-2007, 08:04 AM
Thanks Shano,
Sounds good to me....
What are the bad points there?
- Darren
rubba
11-12-2007, 03:44 PM
new years eve mate stay away till then
shano
11-12-2007, 06:32 PM
bad points.... when everyone leaves the sand flies get worse! hmmm........... mate i love that part of the country and i am the last person to find a really bad point about the place! i love it there!
Rodman
19-12-2007, 08:57 PM
M8 I would suggest that you cannot take a pooch to inskip you should check with the Rangers to confirm whether you can or cannot take a pooch to Inskip as technically it is a national Park.
Ken
needmoretime
21-12-2007, 10:57 AM
Mr Bean/Rodman,
I must admit I thought that you could take "mans best friend" there as I was thinking of going around the same time or potwntially around March for the same reason.
I may however be wrong about that
Are the sandflies any better up there in say March? Also how close is the boatramp??
NMT
Mr__Bean
21-12-2007, 01:22 PM
Thanks Rodman for the warning, after visiting the Ranger office to pay camping fees for Cooloola recently we learnt that Inskip is the one area that you can camp with your dog.
That is also our reason for giving this spot a go, we too like to camp and holiday with our dog.
Here is the text from their webpage for Inskip:
Pets
Dogs are allowed in Inskip Peninsula Recreation Area, but must be kept on a leash at all times, both in the campgrounds and on the beach. Do not allow your dog to chase birds or other wildlife. Wrap or bag droppings and place in bins. Ensure that your dog does not prevent rangers' access to view your camping permit. No other domestic animals are permitted.
Could have been the other way and we could have been caught out, thanks.
We will be there between January 5 and 20.
- Darren
tiny_tinny
23-12-2007, 02:40 PM
M8 I would suggest that you cannot take a pooch to inskip you should check with the Rangers to confirm whether you can or cannot take a pooch to Inskip as technically it is a national Park.
Ken
Ken,
I think that the area is classed as a "Recreation Reserve" or some similar term - though its's managed by NPWS. You used to be able to take dogs there (with some restrictions on keeping them on a lead, etc). That may have changes, so check before you go with the EPA office at Rainbow Beach.
shano
27-12-2007, 06:10 PM
yes you can tke dogs as stated! got back from rainbow today and there was heaps of people with dogs! the rangers even confirmed this is allowed!;)
Kleyny
27-12-2007, 06:23 PM
Are you taking the boat?
if so check out the place called rainbow waters caravan park.
dogs are allowed and easy access to tincan in your boat (ramp right next to park)
nel
Mr__Bean
27-12-2007, 11:15 PM
Are you taking the boat?
if so check out the place called rainbow waters caravan park.
dogs are allowed and easy access to tincan in your boat (ramp right next to park)
nel
We will check the caravan parks out whilst there, but this time we plan on camping right on the beach area. I guess time will tell if it is the right decision.
We are towing up a camper trailer so we won't be able to take our bigger boat, but our new addition "Junior" will be thrown up on top of the camper and will get us out fishing and crabbing I hope.
- Darren
Brejen
29-12-2007, 09:43 AM
Darren at the moment it is a ghost town up there.
We were camped up there until late yesterday when the rangers came around and have evacuated all campers from inskip and Fraser.
There was not as many campers up there this year but that may have been due to the weather reports. If you camp up the end on the left just watch the tides as they have been coming up over the front and into the camp site this week.
Mr__Bean
30-12-2007, 03:45 AM
Thanks Brett.
Sounds like a shitty time to have been there, weather wise.....
Hopefully not too much damage will be done to the beaches.
Seeing so many coming off the island must have been a bit of a sight.
- Darren
Brejen
30-12-2007, 10:25 AM
Yea Darren every barge was full and plenty more sitting in the waiting areas on the island side.
Mate i have been camping up there for near 30 years and this was a first for me. We camped up there Chrissy last year and the weather wasnt much better but it wasnt going to turn into a cyclone. But when we where told to go thats what we did as i didnt have access to the weather sites and only relied on the news and we know what their weather reports are like. I have been told that it was the SES that made the call to have all evacuated not PWS. My only concern was to get my wife and kids & parents out also the first timers that we took up with us this trip.
As i said been doing it for 30yrs and i dont think i have ever seen the tides come up over into the camp sites on the point.
Couple things that amazed me tho was
when we got told to leave it was around 1:30pm on Fri, how many people camped up there would have been over the limit to drive, i know if we werent in town at the time i sure woulda had a stubbie on the go.
Also we were there packing up when a bloody tourist bus; bound for the Island loaded with tourists; came flying past well over the 40km speed limit headed for the barge we never saw that bus come back past us and we never left till 5. So why was the the isalnd being evacuated yet they where still allowing these buses on there. The rangers told us that they had asked campers to move from the beach camp sites and that they were allowing camping in the towards the middle of the island that people were only being advised to evacuate.
My descion was to leave.
Also we have been told that all our camping fees that we had left (4 Days worth) can be refunded to us. So if anyone needs the website i'll post it up
30-12-2007, 10:31 AM
Also we have been told that all our camping fees that we had left (4 Days worth) can be refunded to us. So if anyone needs the website i'll post it up
Brett,
Can you either PM me with this info or post it up, as there were a few of us that had about 6 - 10 days left.
Thanks.
Brejen
01-01-2008, 08:43 PM
Sorry Wags for the deley mate.
Mate we have been given this email address from the rangers at Rainbow.
Apparently you send an email to this address and they will get back to you with what to do. Mate i have sent them a couple now since Sunday but still to here back from them as of yet.
Hope this helps
camping.refundenquiries@epa.qld.gov.au
02-01-2008, 08:22 AM
Thanks Brett. I sent them an email this morning.
02-01-2008, 02:50 PM
How do you get your camp fees back? i got 3 days on the fraser before it was evacuated.
Brejen
02-01-2008, 06:08 PM
This was cut from an email from the EPA that i received today..
If you have the booking number and camping dates this can be sent directly to camping.refundenquiries@epa.qld.gov.au (camping.refundenquiries@epa.qld.gov.au)
05-01-2008, 07:31 PM
No reply from EPA yet...>:( I might have to send them another email.
Mr__Bean
11-01-2008, 03:41 AM
Hmmmm,
Day 3 of 11
So far wind, rain, rain, rain, wind, rain, wind, wind, rain, wind, rain....
Forecast: wind, rain, wind, wind, rain, wind, rain, wind, wind, wind.
Ahhhh, the joys of camping.....
- Darren
pcari07
11-01-2008, 11:47 AM
as you head into inskip go to the second whoop in theroad you will know what i am talking about when you see it there is a track off to the left it leads to a reall good camping spot there is a track in and out you will have no probs getting a 6-7 metre boat ina and out the ground is solid only down side is it is on the calm side and there are a few sand flies but none the less a very private spot no one can see you from the road and it is on the waters edge but do not take boat up to camp site in water trust me no a good idea lol i did it and spent a few hours getting it out very shallow and sticky all the best