View Full Version : Great Threadie sesh in the Mary!

poundalead
09-12-2007, 02:51 PM
Went for a quick fish this morning with my mates Darryl and Aidan. Got a few nice prawns and big mouths in the cast net so expectations were high to finally break the dreaded "king curse" that has been plaguing us for a couple of months. First cast on goes the big mouth, meanwhile I am still rigging up my rod. Aidan yells out "There's a King sucking on the big mouth" so he keeps tension and executes the perfect strike "yes i'm on". The second he struck he knew he was onto a good fish as it powered off against the current, and gave the tell-tale zig-zagging action. After a short but memorable tussle the first King was in the net ;D. At around 10lbs and 82cm it was a great capture with high fives allround.

I finally got my rod rigged and put on a live prawn and Darryl did the same. The first king was caught about 90 mins. before the change of tide so Darryl was confident we would get a few more. We waited for half an hour and Darryl hooked up to another one which went around 6-7lb. High fives again. By this stage I was tired of being "net boy" but happy we had got a couple.

Next it was my turn as my rod just loaded up and took off and there was no fiddling with the bait from this fish. After a short tussle I boated a respectable 8lb King. The "net boy" tag was gone.

Just as the tide turned Darryl struck onto a smaller model bringing our tally to 4 Threadies in just over 2 hours, Happy days and a couple of celebratory rumbos! Fresh, local bait really does the trick! ;D

Cheers Benny

chrisallangler
09-12-2007, 03:07 PM
There some nice threadies mate! Don't they go off when hooked, and their jumps are magnificent. Good stuff mate,Cheers Chris.

theVan
09-12-2007, 03:21 PM
Sensational work!

cant go past local bait.

well done... thanks for sharing

09-12-2007, 03:32 PM
When fishing in the Fistroy here in Rocky the Thredlie's will always go off on the freashist of prawns and got to love chewing on them

ffejsmada
09-12-2007, 03:37 PM
Good stuff boys, land based as well!

This might be a dumb question, but what is the proper name for the "big mouth"?

I've never heard of them, except at the footy.

Cheers Jeff

SEQ_Fisher
09-12-2007, 07:29 PM
That looks like a ripper fishing spot you have there! Great fish and great report!

lenthals_barra
10-12-2007, 01:55 PM
benny benny benny, hahah hows it going big fella. its doug. nice feeder fish!

Tri-Kun
10-12-2007, 03:27 PM
Nice Catch Boys,

I was planning a trip to the Mary river, but didn't know exactly where to start fishing, cause the river stretch is so long could you possibly note where abouts you fish, not wanting to know your x spot but close to there.

Much appreciated TRI :D

poundalead
10-12-2007, 04:49 PM
Hey Tri-Kun ask Lenthalls_Barra he knows all the spots! Na, seriously if you go up the river at dead low and find any spots with a rubble bottom you will get fish. This year has been quiet compared to last year.