View Full Version : Southern Bay first timer

foggy
09-12-2007, 09:55 AM
Threw the boat in the water yesterday arvo around 2pm (a M&G is a good excuse for a fish)and headed for Peel island. Ended up with 5 good snaps from 52cm to 60cm(pictured below). As with T1's snaps the other day, they are very fat at the moment. The 60cm cm fish weighed 2.87kgs. All fish were caught in 23-30feet of water at Peel on 4" swimming mullet pumkinseed gulps on 8lb line and 10lb leader. Not many small fish caught. I might have to explore the southern bay a little more to find the biguns.

Foggy

marty+jojo
09-12-2007, 10:25 AM
nice work foggy.
Do you ever miss?
Marty.

beefaman
09-12-2007, 10:30 AM
Nice foggy. You are a guru mate!!

We nailed a few today at Green.
Got most of our fish on Pumpkinseed swim minnows and a few on the prawn in molten color.

needmoretime
09-12-2007, 10:52 AM
Nice fish,

5 on a sat arvo when I would have thought boat traffic would have been pretty high is impressive - well at least it would be for me anyway.

Good to see that they are still around. It is about time we had some good weather.

NMT

Silent
09-12-2007, 04:36 PM
A good start at southern bay and look out snappers!!!
Any photo on sounder?
Good work foggy!

T1
10-12-2007, 09:30 AM
Damn nice catch there FOGGY! Certainly was a great day/night for it weather wise! Was nearly tempted to throw the boat in on Sat night but just couldn't be arsed i was that stuffed!

Anyway, Take Care T

jackson4300
10-12-2007, 10:08 AM
great catch mate considering it was your first time there

if you dont mind, which side roughly were u on?

foggy
10-12-2007, 12:44 PM
Marty&jojo, Sometimes;)

Needmoretime, Mate, i reckon the forecasted 15-20ne kept most people at home. There was only two boats within a kilometre of where I was.

Silent, Keep forgetting the sounder shots. Will get some for you next time.

Jackson4300, Fished between the spit beacon and Lazarus gutter. Not much structure in the area, but found a couple of small bumps with good shows of bait being harassed by predators.

Foggy

jackson4300
10-12-2007, 02:14 PM
cheers mate,

brave to head out with 15-20's

ddobson
10-12-2007, 02:22 PM
I had a go out that way on sat. dusk and only got one hit by one and spat me in the merky water. Very dirty from the previous weeks and low visability. I did get a 63 cm 5 kilo one but the week before so that made up for it. Cheers nice fat fish as they all are lately. PS Saw some pelagics jumping out from north west side last week to.

g.champneys
10-12-2007, 03:20 PM
can i ask what size jig head

T1
10-12-2007, 06:35 PM
I had a go out that way on sat. dusk and only got one hit by one and spat me in the merky water. Very dirty from the previous weeks and low visability. I did get a 63 cm 5 kilo one but the week before so that made up for it. Cheers nice fat fish as they all are lately. PS Saw some pelagics jumping out from north west side last week to.

63cm & 5kg??? Either your scales were out or your Ruler was missing the 1st 15-20cm...

Take Care T

10-12-2007, 10:16 PM
Good territory to explore there Foggy,

I went to the fishing seminar at Jones' Tackle last Friday night, Mike Connelly really knows Peel very well... There's big Snaps to be caught there, but I think I better try applying some of the new found secrets from Mike for myself , just so I know they work :P Can't wait!!!!

Nice feed Foggy!

gillogs
19-12-2007, 11:16 AM
better head a bit further south cousin there's some thumpers about at the moment,pity the weather's been crap lately,arvo's have been awesome when conditions allow,new stick i've been sitting on for a while is a cracker,cant wait to try your favourite plastic out,hopefully the red fellas will co-operate,cheers andy

BilgeBoy
19-12-2007, 10:26 PM
Top Fish Foggy...Good fun on 10lb as well!!

I have also been to one of Mikes talks....Won me some Sunline flurocarbon leader....Brilliant stuff!! Keep exploring mate there is heaps of interesting ground around Peel.

BilgeBoy