View Full Version : bris river fri/sat

HIGH and DRY
08-12-2007, 05:36 PM
hi all

well i entered the bris river classic this weekend hoped of getting onto some good fish!! well after fri arvo/night, all that was boated was an estury cod near the gateway and we fished all day sat for absolutly nothing!!!!! i tried everything, pillys, mullet, livies, chicken and plastics. we fished from the mouth right through to brecky creek and failed terribly.

met a heap of nice blokes on the ramp and surrounding area's (mostly from BFO) but i did run into TINN on the ramp who said he was chasing squire!! good to hear how you went mate!!

hands down but, the highlight of the day went to the likely winner of the heaviest shark comp, who towed his catch into to comslie marina in a box trailer. with the fins visible from a long way away, he rolled up with a monster bull pulled from luggage point. measured 2.7m and super fat, they couldn't even lift it to weigh it!!! the look on the jet ski guy's face that drove towards the ramp was priceless!!!!

will post pics ASAP.

also ran into the 2 resident dolphins at the boat passage. they came staight up the boat and although reluctant to feed them, my missus could not resist and hand fed them a few pillies, which resulted in some really cool pics. the big one tried to eat my underwater camera too!! with the weather looking unreal for the morning, ill give wello a run first thing (i know i can catch there!!) then head to the presentation of the BRC

pete

ALB78
09-12-2007, 02:56 AM
ahh so Tinn's been sneekin in a few trips for practice has he ay;D;D;D!!!

tazza_505
09-12-2007, 09:54 AM
The classic is pretty big this year, and that shark.... :O

Tinn
10-12-2007, 08:40 AM
Hey High and Dry it was nice meeting you the other day didnt do to well :'(

Found some nice structure and ground and heaps of bait fish but only managed one big run from a spot Chief put me on to. It is only the second time I have fished that part of the river so still learning found that the current was very strong think and electric is a must.

AlB78: Every trip is a practice trip for me until I get my new boat then it is show time;D

T1
10-12-2007, 09:27 AM
AlB78: Every trip is a practice trip for me until I get my new boat then it is show time;D

Yeah yeah yeah! You have to get it into the water for it to be 'showtime' - starting to sound like PHILLET! But when you have deep pockets....

Maybe you can take ALB & I out and show us how it's done?! :P

Take Care T

Bris_Vegas
10-12-2007, 05:11 PM
Nice to meet you mate. And yeah that shark sure did take out the 1st place for the shark category for the Brisbane River Classic.

Misc went to a 12.08 Threaddy.

Bream went to a 1.27 kilo 45cm specimen!

Catty was 2.5kg and Junior was a 600gram Bream.

I might do a report on it later
Angus

HIGH and DRY
11-12-2007, 09:12 PM
pics of the shark!