View Full Version : Chickens go off at Moreton!

07-12-2007, 08:17 PM
Got out this morning early from Manly, heading up to the new ground off Moreton I've been working over lately. I wanted to see if our last trip was a fluke and continue to hone some new skills on light gear off shore.

Crew for the trip was the ever reliable Swano (back from messing with pink eyed bucket mouthed perch in freshwater impoundments in Central and North Qld) Matt and another mate Gil.

We left around 4.00am, a great trip across the bay to hit the bar as dawns crack appeared. The shingles were quite lumpy but the bar was very well behaved so we got out without incident. We headed to some ground to the north and began the search and drop, catchy/chasey.

It wasn't long before the sound of squappery things began to hit the deck...nice table fish to around 2kg, with the occasional bigger specimen to 4kg thrown in for good measure and the chook was the stand out performer.

i had a purple patch boating fish off both SP and Bait, often having both rods going a t once. We had 16 fish in the boat by 7.00am and looked a sure thing to bag before 8, but suddenly the fish shut down around the turn of the tide and at around the same time the wind dropped off so there was no movement at all. We decided to head into deeper water and headed out to 80-90 mts. We found a promising structure with good show, after a couple of quick drifts, we decided to anchor and burley but by then the current had Kicked again in making it difficult to anchor and fish.

So we headed back into the shallower ground to another area we did well at last time out.

We picked up our last few snapper and 2 maori cod 4 &5 kg respectively and called it at 2.00pm.

Swano nailed the best two fish of the trip, a snap that went 70 cms and 5plus kg and a nice Maori that went 5kg. We arrived back at manly just before 4.00pm with a nice box of fish. final tally, 20 snapps, 2 maori cod. Gil nailed a 25plus kg gold spot that we released, Swano caught a stripey on a choook which was fun and Matt spent all day inventing ways to drop good fish! He called the technique "catch and pre-release release" but I don't think it will catch on. Na, seriously, I reckon his braid was dodgy. It kept popping and on reasonably light drag settings too. I wonder, does braid have a shelf life? Could be a question for tackle chat.

It was a great day with a great crew, and its exciting to finally start getting the Moreton monkey off my back

ballsie
07-12-2007, 11:36 PM
nice to hear your getting stuck into the fish in our backyard. not quite as far as the banks either hey.
wish i had a crew for tomorrow

08-12-2007, 08:05 AM
Hey Banno,

If ya wanted a crew, all ya gotta do is ask mate!!!

Yeah it is good to start getting my new turf worked out. Talked to Olives & cheese, they went out off M'bah to the patch we went to last week, they bagged out too, the fish were bigger, to 90cm and that 9kg mark, but they traveled much further and missed out on more sleep.

There has to be advantages of working the nearer grounds.

Dean1
08-12-2007, 08:17 AM
Rhys you seem to get out fishing ALOT! I want a job like yours whatever it is? Half your luck mate. Im new to SP, i tried to purchase some chooks to find you guys have cleaned out all stock ::) I did find a pack of Chart Pepper Neons, apparantly these were the go before the chooks? Im heading to the banks today so ill give em a bash. Nice catch too hope i have a similar result today 8-)

08-12-2007, 08:58 AM
G'day Dean,

Yep, I work for the best and most understanding boss, he's outta this world!!! And he's been known to hang around with fisherman;)

Mate we've had success on the blue neon pepper and the white pearl too, have caught snaps on chart neon pepper and camo in the 7" jerk shad, and chart, smelt and natural in the 5" paddle tail, but the stand up is the Nuke Chook 7" jerk shad in the gulp.

I was down at Water Tower Bait and Tackle the other day talking to Toni, she showed me a new line from basserbait, a 7"jerk shad in a green and pink with silver fleck. It looked interesting and thought they could be worth a go in the absence of the Berkeley product. The basserbait is a true plastic with scent, not a synthetic pheromone like the gulp.

Hope you nail them today - check out the 80mt line east of the banks;)

Frank OO
08-12-2007, 10:10 AM
Hi Rhys,

It was good to talk to you yesterday. Thanks for the updates. We had no luck with the troll until we reached Hutchies when we hooked a couple of Bonito and a very small Dolphin Fish.

That was the best day out for a long time.

Frank OO

kingtin
08-12-2007, 01:17 PM
G'day Dean,

Yep, I work for the best and most understand boss, he's outta this world!!! And he's been known to hang around with fisherman;)

And 2 fish is as good as any bagout ;)

Snodger Sniper
08-12-2007, 01:35 PM
those chickens are awesome! got any pics?

SS

indy
08-12-2007, 01:39 PM
Rhys the reason your mates braid might be breaking is that he may have a crack in his runner, i have had the same problem before and it ended up being the end runner, i ended up getting a silicone tipped one and havn't had a problem since

cheers pete...

swano
08-12-2007, 07:47 PM
those chickens are awesome! got any pics?

SS

they are the cats arse atm ehh ,
was a brilliant trip with great crew again , could,nt ask for better conditions.
when things got tough the chook called in to save the day:D .
thanx rhys for a standout day and don't get two cock-----y ya might get knocked off ya perch next time :-*

seapup
09-12-2007, 01:10 AM
Nice work Rhys go the Chickens! U have been getting out a lot lately!
Benny.

09-12-2007, 06:30 AM
G'day Frank OO, back at ya bloke! and was one of our best days for a while too

And 2 fish is as good as any bagout ;)

Yeah Kev, I seem to remember a story about a couple of fish and a few loaves of bread in the right hands that fed a crowd;)

Pete, Matt checked his runners all good, the line seemed to be popping above the bimini and he reckoned it was a long time since he's respooled.

SS Swano is our resident photy taker and putter upper...that's what deckies are for...he's been distracted today, but here are a couple

Thanks for putting up the pics Swano, was great to have ya back on Flamin Riptide and gettin some salt back through ya veins, but ya gotta work on that reach around though! I'd never get too cocky mate , but is is nice to nail some good fish for the boat.

Benny, gotta make up for lost time mate, with the crook weather July-October, and a busy Christmas period coming, I'm making hay bloke! I wonder if santa might have some chooks for me for christmas??? My emergency supply is nearly done!!!

cheers all

09-12-2007, 09:42 PM
Yeah, thanks heaps for the day again Rhys - had a blast. Losing em is still better than never doing battle with them at all!. :-)

Here's a quick bit of footage from the day. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aaFKGmzlOHo

Matt.

10-12-2007, 10:15 AM
Swano,
What rod is that in the photos that you are using?

10-12-2007, 10:57 AM
G'day Heath,

Waqs just chatting to Swano when I picked up your post so I checked with him.

Its a Penn Tournament 7' 4-6kg matched to a Rovex 5500 big boss loaded with 10kg sufix performance

The other outfit that took most of the fish on plastics was a Penn Pro guide 7' 2-4kg matched to a penn 360 slammer loaded with 10 kg sufix matrix pro

Cheers mate

Fixation
10-12-2007, 01:54 PM
Hey Rhys,

Gee mate that new motor is sure getting run in! I'm thinking I better introduce your boss to my boss so I can get out more often :P.

The maori that swano's holding up is a lump of a thing too. Well done on the trip mate.

Talk soon
Craig.

10-12-2007, 02:04 PM
Don't be fooled by Swano Craig...its all smoke and mirrors!!!!!

Yeah I reckon my boss would love to meet your boss and have a meaningful conversation about fishing and related stuff...::)

ballsie
11-12-2007, 05:45 AM
Rhys,
hey there matey, i got out on saturday with great success. convinced a mate with his bar crusher for a quick bash. got some livies and started fishing at just before eleven, yep we didn't leave till 930am. We ended up catching fourteen squire, sending four home. we got 2 fish 80cm. this was a great moon or something, cause they were chewing there heads off everywhere by the sounds of it.
I move into the house on friday so we'll have to do a trip in the new year mate. my mobile is 0410 493 383. if your lookin to head out and want a few spots down the southern end of the 35's give me a ring

benno