View Full Version : Off the cape

ooglie74
05-12-2007, 07:34 PM
I headed out on sunday on liberty for a day of action.
We started in trench,had a troll for a few hours.
We found a bit of bait in the pocket could raise a strike so we headed to the top end of the trench.Had 2 shots on the way both huge dollies(pictures attached).
We found heaps of bait,45mtrs deep and 40mtrs of thick bait.
There where birds everywhere,Big holes in the bait.Again no shots.
So we headed to spot x in 45mtrs with reef around it.
We caught several species in the action that followed in the next 3 or so hours.
Snappery Squire,Dolphin fish,Kingies,Pearlies,mack tuna and also an eagle ray all on nuclear chooks( what cant those things catch).
We also witnessed a bait ball being smashed by mack tuna, yellowfin,dolphin fish,Gaint trevally and 3 big sharks it was an awesome sight.
A great day was had by all.
The end result was
5 snapper/Squire
2 pearlies
3 or 4 kings
3 dolphinfish
3 mack tuna
1 eagle ray

Cheers Troy

BR65
05-12-2007, 07:45 PM
Awesome dollies Troy, even at that outstanding size, the colours are brilliant
brian

captain rednut
05-12-2007, 08:01 PM
hi troy i was trolling next to you in the trench sunday for some time, we fished the bottom and live baited and couldnt get a bite? all the fish trolling were small on sunday like the dolly you got, any way good luck thanks jim

Dean1
05-12-2007, 08:06 PM
Nice work troy ive been wondering if you still had an interest in fishing after river to reef ;D I mite be able to get a few land marks from one of those pics ;) Talk soon, Deano.

ooglie74
05-12-2007, 08:25 PM
Yeah jim I say you at the cobia spot also any luck there?
We had a couple of bigger boys follow up plastics at spot x they would have been 8-10 kg.Just didnt want to play.Oh well.

Yeah deano still keen mate,Was a little unexcited after the river to reef but its game on again.Have you been having any luck?

Cheers Troy

outsiderskip
06-12-2007, 05:36 AM
nice catch troy
been a while since u fished last

pete

jez and suze
06-12-2007, 06:33 AM
didnt realise those dollies were such nasty little buggers!

zigfreed
06-12-2007, 08:10 AM
Sounds like a great day Troy.
Been a while since you posted, thought maybe you were giving it a miss.

Frank OO
06-12-2007, 08:21 AM
Well Done Troy,

I hope you weren't fishing in any green zones.

I might go out tomorrow for a troll.

I will let you know how I go.

Frank OO

reel scream
06-12-2007, 08:23 AM
You got out mate - well done. Pretty little dollies. Manta ray on a chook- fun. Whats that in the water near the tail of the snap?
Need to try do Two trips between now and chrissy. Will give you a call.

Cheers Scott.

Liberty
06-12-2007, 01:32 PM
Well Done Troy,

I hope you weren't fishing in any green zones.

Unless Hutchies is now a green zone, that's not very likely!!!

Was a good day. You know its a good day when you delay departure from Hutchies until 4:00pm with a last lift out at 4:40pm at Bribie in 15-20s.

Made it with seconds to spare ..

::)

You should have seen Troy's expression when he realised his omg-this-must-be-my-largest-fish-ever was a Ray ...

Nigel

-------------------------------------

Vote 1, The Fishing Party!

Liberty
06-12-2007, 01:38 PM
You got out mate - well done. Pretty little dollies. Whats that in the water near the tail of the snap?

Cheers Scott.

OMG, we must have missed that!!! It would have to be at least a 30kg Mahi Mahi!!! The fish of the day wasted. Caught on film, while Troy flounces around parading his fifth stoopid Snapper for the day.

Either that or it was our parachute drogue.

;)

Dean1
06-12-2007, 06:43 PM
Troy ive got out once since i spoke to you, conditions were ugly but got a good feed. Hopefully this weekend mate. Talk soon, Deano.

reel scream
07-12-2007, 11:23 AM
while Troy flounces around parading
;)[/quote]

He loves the camera doesn't he::) . Would have been your fish while he was putting his away. Good on ya Troy!!!.

Cheers Scott.