View Full Version : Hayes Inlet

kingtin
04-12-2007, 01:18 PM
Well I finally managed to wet a line :D but only for an hour before the old sternum started giving me gyp............jeez, I'm supposed to be camping down the Pin for Xmas, yet at the moment, I can only manage an hour chucking placcies! :'(

Took kingcobe down for a wade, shortly before the water dropped off the flats and he fished half pillies on 2x ganged 2/0's whilst I buggered about with Atomic 5" fat grub in pumpkinseed for half an hour before switching to 4" chatreuse shad.

I dropped a lizard on the shad right at the edge ::) which went about 55cm whilst kingcobe , who had already pulled a bream at 25cm and a dusky at 45cm, jumped up and down with glee, shouting, "it doesn't count, it doesn't count" :-[

Would probably have done better fishing the first of the flood as they moved onto the flats, but it wasn't to be.

2 nil to kingcobe ::)

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/duskyflathead.jpg

Flattie Assassin
04-12-2007, 01:27 PM
Good to see you got out there Kev. Was a nice and glassy day for it.

kingtin
04-12-2007, 01:33 PM
Yeah mate, first time I've felt like the weather would be kind to the tinny and I'm not yet up to launching the bugger ::) It's nice to get back to basics and fish from the shore but..............should've left the waders at home though...........Jeeeeeeez, they're heavy with mud stuck to 'em ;D

04-12-2007, 02:49 PM
Nice fish to the young fella Kev, shouldn't he be at school ? ;D
Yeah I hear ya about the mud, Last time I tried wading down there it was a right pain in the date

kingtin
04-12-2007, 03:08 PM
Nice fish to the young fella Kev, shouldn't he be at school ? ;D

Finished on Friday mate..............St Pats at Shorncliffe. They give the kids an extra week as compensation for all the after school and w/end sporting activities.

cuzzamundi
04-12-2007, 06:43 PM
Great to see you back out there mate - the big vermin are waiting for your return! talk soon.

cuzza

2DKnBJ
04-12-2007, 07:03 PM
Onya Kev
Knew it wouldn't be long till we saw a report from you.Just don't tell the Doc what you've been up to and hope like hell he isn't a member here.
Take it easy mate,and don't over do it.

Cheers Dazza

yanjarra
04-12-2007, 09:43 PM
mate,
if you dont mind me asking wheres the best place to snag a fish there? ive tried a couple of times now for no success. do u genrally head left or right at the end of haysmouth st and how far down do u go?

if im not bein to inquisitive and grilling you for to much specifics.

kingtin
04-12-2007, 10:22 PM
Mate, turn first left, (be quick as it's right there as you turn) immediately through the lights as you get over the Hornibrook heading North and go down the cul-de-sac to the little boat ramp. I just walk straight out from there and work my way downstream. I would've thought that the tide dropping down into the river would concentrate the lizards in a smaller area but to be honest, I've had my best catches when the tide is over the flats fishing in less then 2 ft of water. It could simply be that it's the wrong state of the tide when the water drops off the flats?

I haven't fished that far yet, but if you walk right downstream to where the pipe comes across the beach, there are some HUGE flatty lies in the sand at low........they're not like the round depressions that you see dotted around but are the exact shape of flathead.

kingtin
04-12-2007, 10:28 PM
Onya Kev
Knew it wouldn't be long till we saw a report from you.Just don't tell the Doc what you've been up to and hope like hell he isn't a member here.
Take it easy mate,and don't over do it.

Cheers Dazza

I've learned my lesson mate. I'm pretty sore atm. That won't stop me though............I'll just change fishing style...............tomorrow is sat on me bum on the esky waiting for tilapia :-)

Freeeedom
05-12-2007, 06:01 AM
Great to see you're back into it again Kev. Take it easy
Cheers Freeeedom

05-12-2007, 03:33 PM
Interesting, I have been thinking of having a float round that area in my canoe..
St Pats eh ? I hope to have my son go there once he is finished Primary. Blimey they finish early!
At least he is fishing and not sitting in front of a bloody playstation ;)

kingtin
05-12-2007, 04:35 PM
t Pats eh ? I hope to have my son go there once he is finished Primary.

Mate, I pulled him out of Norris Rd and put him in St Pats primary. Best thing I ever did and he's loving it. Gone from D's to B+ and A's.

It's not so much about the standard of education or teaching, but as much about the distractions and benefits of your peers. They're a cracking bunch of kids there and they're given a "buddy' from year 12 when they arrive, who keeps 'em on track.

06-12-2007, 09:14 AM
Thanks for the info Kev, we went to an open day there once and got an insight and I agree 100% about the quality of the place. Excellent to hear he has picked up a few notches.

I think I will go for a fish this Sunday morning round that little spot you've revealed :)

Look after yourself cobba

Timmy94
06-12-2007, 12:11 PM
I go to stpats in grd 8 been their since grd 5 aweosme in junior and still alrite in senior but juniors heaps better, and bloody good facilities for grd 5-7.

06-12-2007, 12:18 PM
I go to stpats in grd 8 been their since grd 5 aweosme in junior and still alrite in senior but juniors heaps better, and bloody good facilities for grd 5-7.

Thank you Timmy94 for the info, I hope they accept my son and he enjoys it when the time comes.. bonus for you St Pats boys is you can duck down after school and chuck a few lures from the shore 8-)

Timmy94
06-12-2007, 07:47 PM
Hahahaha yeah, I think alot of ppl start at grade 7 rather then 8 just because of placements because in my grades, Grade 6 -7 went from 2 classes (60) to 3 classes (95) and grd 7-8 it went from 95 - 150-160 and 5 classes.

Mike Delisser
06-12-2007, 10:19 PM
Hayes almost always fishes best for flaties on the last 2hrs of the run out and the bottom of the tide, when it turns to come in I'd give it away. Plastics or 1/2 pillies are my favs and it's best to walk up to the pipe then fish your way back. Cast at an angle upstream and work the lure or bait back with the tide because every flatie will be consintrated in the channel facing into the current waiting for food to wash past. April to Oct are the best months with the peak in Aug and look for a lowish high tide dropping down to a highish low tide, ie not much flow. Our best catch was in Aug a couple of years ago, 23 between 2 of us in 3 hours, all tagged and released. At this time of year the water gets a little hot up in the inlet so you could do better wading out to the "Wells" at almost low tide. This spot is the rock piles just out from the new bridge. You need to wade right out and fish in the channel, great for plastics & fly but fish light & don't get stuck when the tide comes in.

07-12-2007, 02:06 PM
M62, sounds perrrrfect for canoe fishing ;D