View Full Version : maroochy jackless
fished several arms of maroochy this week armed with sx48's, lots of small to legal lizards, plenty of small moses perch, several small cod, and few bream, think i did run into one jack though, fight lasted about 5 seconds before "snap", goodbuy sx48, am i on the right track with the sx48's for jacks, or should i be upsizing lures? or is just more persistance required ?any help would be appreciated
cheers dan
nuggstar
04-12-2007, 12:32 AM
i think you r on a win with the sx48s, i have lost 3 sx40s in plane view 2 monster jacks in noosa, they seem to catch every thing. the sx60s work verry good 2(killa cod lure). well done getting some flattys and cod, and good luck on the jacks
thks mate, did two on fish this week, ouch , is a dead slow retrieve the go for jacks,
dan
nuggstar
04-12-2007, 01:36 AM
thats prity much all i do with them lures, just role it back so its just kicking over and if its shallow enuff grub them on the botton bumping on the rocks and adding a pause 4 a breaf second and some verry small slow twiches. im allways ready 4 the bream taps but the jack catch me off guard every time they dont muck around just bang zzzzzzzzz snap sh-ttt
breamnut
04-12-2007, 07:30 AM
wat rod/reel are you using???
Jeremy87
04-12-2007, 09:04 AM
I use the 48's predominantly as a bass lure. Jacks will eat them, but there are better suited lures. You will want to be using baitcasting tackle for jacks of 10lb or greater line class so you want to choose a lure heavy enough to cast comfortably. Storm thunder cranks and reidy's little lucifers are good for this and are also cheaper than sx48's. If you insist on using jap lures than cultiva, daiwa, smiths, ecogear etc all make a variety of jack suitable lures. People always talk about treble upgrades for barra, but i've had jacks do some pretty nasty things to my trebles and split rings, i think that the 36 owners are too light for jacks, vmc 3x or 6x are better and if your using larger lures even the heavy 56 or 66 owners may be worth putting on. Plastics also do well for jacks, particularly prawn imitations. The new 4 inch atomic prongs are heavy enough to cast weedless with baitcasting tackle or with a light jig head.
I find that jacks bite hardest around the last few hours of run out through to the turn of the tide, couple this with dawn or dusk and you have a good tide for jacks. Pay particular attention to deep corners with submerged structure, try to hang well back from the snags as close proximaty can spook fish.
thks for the info guys, outfit is daiwa procaster, daiwa tierra 3000 15 lb braid 25lb leader, only using sx48's as we jumped on a half price deal a while ago and bought a bunch of them, otherwise would not be using such exspensive lures. Been targeting right upstream of fishermans rd ramp at structure , with only a few hits, and one big dust up, has any one had much success up that arm of the river?
nuggstar
04-12-2007, 10:31 PM
i no the creek pritty well mate, i got lots of bream in there and i now a few good rocky spot where the jacks some times hide out, have ya found the sand/mud banks hehe i hit it the first time i went there in my old tinny hehe, i had to pull the tinny 4 ages to fine the channal again o yere there 4 heaps of flattys in there to. i be happy to show ya if ya keen
tks mate any time, i work four on four off so , iam usually somewhere around, yeah have found those flats pretty low up that way below half tide, got busted up big ime at that first rocky area you come to, so ill prob give that another shot
killitfillit
05-12-2007, 07:47 PM
the problem with sx48s is that when you hook a big jack either the hooks straighten out or the leader pops.you will catch plenty of small jacks on them and the advantage of lots of bycatch but if you want to catch jacks use jack gear.try an xrap 10 deep with #4 hooks so it suspends and twitch twitch pause pause etc.
Why-ting
05-12-2007, 09:48 PM
Hey Dan. A comment on here stated that baitcast gear is a must, the gear your using is fine for fishing for jacks. I usually only use spin for plastics but the spin sticks are fine for the hard bods aswell.
As for lure size i would be upsizing the lure for targeting jacks i prefer lures 75mm up to 150mm. Be persistant jacks usually wont move great distances to hit a lure so get it in tight to the structure and always expect it to be hit. Reaction time needs to be quick or it can all be over before you know whats happened.
Good luck hope you get amoungst afew shortly.
Whytey
Ps tilsan barras, smith cherrybloods, lucky craft bevy shads 75mm, 3in mad mullets and bommer lures are all well worth a throw.