View Full Version : Mangrove Jack Heaven
dayoo
02-12-2007, 03:14 PM
I accompanied my fishing mate Frank (the fishing machine) to his favourite top secret mangrove jack fishing spot on Friday night. Frank fished this spot three weeks ago and caught 18 bream and 2 small jacks but lost many large jacks because he was only targeting bream.
This time we were targeting jacks with 15lb line, fresh mullet, stronger 9 foot rods and a good landing net.
We headed north of Brisbane and after a good drive arrived at the creek bank around 6pm on low tide. The area has many snags and first cast from the bank (we didn't have a boat) resulted in only a 5 minute wait before all hell broke loose with rod bending right down and nearly being ripped from the rod holder.
Over the next few hours 6 jacks were netted, 3 big bust offs, and 3 jacks managed to reach the snags. Most of the jacks seem to have an initial savage bite followed by an attack where the grab the bait and head for the snags. The secret in landing them is to be ready and have the rod in your hands before the second jack attack.
I cannot divulge the spot as I would be excommunicated and left to do my future fishing alone.
Attached are some shots of the jacks which all measured between 42 to 45cms and 1.2 to 1.5 kilos.
I had never been jack fishing before in an estuary and was amazed at the ferocity of the second attack and the subsequent struggle to avoid the net.
Barry
theclick
02-12-2007, 03:20 PM
Nice fish mate, but keep your head down for a bit
yellahunter
02-12-2007, 03:24 PM
ripper session mate,
is it Nth qld or south east....?
well done
dayoo
02-12-2007, 03:37 PM
Yellahunter,
All I can say is that its a creek between Double Island point and Brisbane.
Got to watch what I say as Frank might not take me again if I spill the beans.
Barry
Pistol_P
02-12-2007, 03:39 PM
oh ooo.....nice fish mate.....
but the jack boys will hate seeing all those dead fish.....
Still though you are entitled to take them....
dayoo
02-12-2007, 04:00 PM
We don't target well known spots where the plastic jack boys have their fun and release the jacks so they can catch them again and again. Two of the jacks were mine and the other four were Franks which will only make one feed for his big family of six adults.
Barry
richieboy
02-12-2007, 04:34 PM
Some great Jacks. Well done on a fine result!
Richie
Chalkandcheese
02-12-2007, 05:13 PM
you may have cleaned your snag out for a while!
PiNpOiNt
02-12-2007, 05:23 PM
great fish
dont worry what anyone else says bout u should of chucked them back
they jkust jelous they cant pull quality fish
well done
dayoo
02-12-2007, 05:45 PM
Chalk and cheese
The jacks will be replaced by more jacks within two weeks. Have a look at the video of the large school of jacks coming through the Gold Coast seaway on 29/11/2007 on Dave Downies web site www.nuggetfishing.com.au. This is occuring at this time of the year in all the river and bar entrances along the Queensland coast. We only keep enough for a feed. We could have stayed all night and really cleaned up.
Barry
Pistol_P
02-12-2007, 06:11 PM
Chalk and cheese
The jacks will be replaced by more jacks within two weeks. Have a look at the video of the large school of jacks coming through the Gold Coast seaway on 29/11/2007 on Dave Downies web site www.nuggetfishing.com.au (http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au). This is occuring at this time of the year in all the river and bar entrances along the Queensland coast. We only keep enough for a feed. We could have stayed all night and really cleaned up.
Barry
Nothing wrong with taking a feed Barry,
I agree mate there are HEAPS of Jacks around.....There are STACKS of juvenile Jacks here at Noosa and everywhere else.
blue_mako
02-12-2007, 06:50 PM
Hey mate.
Saw your haul at BCF this morning. Those were some nice Maori Cod you had with you as well, when and where did you get those and the little Hussar? I haven't heard a report of 6 decent Jacks in one night for quite some time though. Top effort. Hitting the banks Tuesday/Wednesday ;D . When are these bloody Marlin getting down here? Hopefully pick one up on the way out.
Is it just me or can't I find that video of that Jack school moving threw the Seaway? Would be good viewing.
Troy
dayoo
02-12-2007, 07:11 PM
Troy
The video of the school of Jacks is on the lefthand side of the web site under the heading news see last dot point and click on it.
The Moari cod and other reefies were caught offshore by Frank on the following day (YESTERDAY).
Barry
nuggstar
02-12-2007, 07:52 PM
can i have just one of those on my line hehe i wish i was there, nice fish
Frank you are living up to that name Mate. Hard life you lead, fishing all the tme.
See you for the prawns this year mate.
Gill
geoff72
02-12-2007, 09:14 PM
nice jacks mate,good stuff,your right about the big first hit themn the grab to thats for sure
geoff72
02-12-2007, 09:22 PM
Just watched that video,looks like the jack population on the goldy is thriving,top little vid
Dorado
02-12-2007, 09:45 PM
Well done you guys on some real quality fish there! That vid is awesome, thanks for the link!
Dorado
childers
03-12-2007, 07:13 PM
must admit ,thats a big bag of jacks there mate ,what a cracker spot .