View Full Version : glenlyon cod 29-11-07

bdowdy
29-11-2007, 03:38 PM
went back down the dam today with the wife as we left the rugrats with nanna ;) this trip,we went to caves area and started to troll but nothing happening so decided to cast spinnerbaits at trees again , we found a treed area and the water was boiling with boney bream in there 100,s second cast to a tree with the same spinnerbait i used the other week and same routine counted down to 4 and started to retrieve BANG im on and up comes this nice 4kg model ( THATS 2 COD FOR 2 TRIPS IM STOKED);D sum

16536 then went on casting and trolling but got too warm and came home. people are still catching yellow belly on bait and the dam has risen to 18 per cent , but cant get over how many boney bream there are theres thousands every where we fished and im having cod for dinner tonight and his stomach was full of boney bream. cheers bdowdy....brett

Little grey men
29-11-2007, 04:13 PM
Nice greenfish there bdowdy. Good to see someone posting regular catches of these beautiful animals. I'll be chasing a few at Christmas time but it's gunna be real hard going. You make it look easy mate, which I know, it's definitely not.
Nice one.

P.S I can see a new avatar picture coming on

Peter4
29-11-2007, 04:22 PM
Good work Brett.

Sounds like Glenlyon is firing.

bdowdy
29-11-2007, 04:24 PM
hi lgm im just happy to get afew into my new tinny called it COD SQUAD 2, MY LAST TINNY I CAUGHT ALOT OF COD, so its good to see the new boat finally starting to bag a few, there great fish and yes its not that easy at times to get onto them. yeh i suppose a new avatar is due, cheers bdowdy...brett

bdowdy
29-11-2007, 04:29 PM
hi pete the dam ihas risen heaps so the fish are starting to fire up, just gotta keep upgading now to some bigger models. cheers bdowdy..brett

rayken1938
29-11-2007, 04:34 PM
Nice fish and thanks for report.
Ray

29-11-2007, 05:30 PM
Nice fish bdowdy,

My old man was heading up to Pindari yesterday.I hope he got a quality fish or 2 like that.

tiges
29-11-2007, 06:57 PM
Well done Brett, nice fish mate.

bdowdy
29-11-2007, 07:08 PM
thanks rayken and disorderly i hope your old man gets into some fish at pindari let me know please, hi TIGES hows the dam going mate last i saw it was great, thanks fellas for replys. cheers bdowdy ....brett

29-11-2007, 07:25 PM
No worries brett,
I'll let you know as soon as I know(he just got a new furuno 4100 so I'm sure he will tell me all about it..lol.

scott

bdowdy
29-11-2007, 08:41 PM
hi scott he should be able to see every fish with that looking forward to seeing how he does. cheers bdowdy..brett

bdowdy
29-11-2007, 08:58 PM
heres a few more photos,cheers bdowdy,,,,brettsum

tiges
29-11-2007, 09:01 PM
thanks rayken and disorderly i hope your old man gets into some fish at pindari let me know please, hi TIGES hows the dam going mate last i saw it was great, thanks fellas for replys. cheers bdowdy ....brett

Dams coming along Brett, seems to be holding better. The lillies are taking, and I've got a couple of nice little patches of them around the edges. Been putting heaps of bait in there, shrimp, gudgeons, skeeta fish amongst other stuff that shows up in the bait trap. Got a couple of other "residents" in there as well.:) I'll try to get a few pics and update that thread eventually.

bdowdy
29-11-2007, 09:08 PM
good stuff tiges wont be long till your pulling bass off the top. cheers bdowdy

rossco
29-11-2007, 09:10 PM
G'day Brett looks like the first cod for the boat was the hardest, well done. I'm frothing at the bit to get to Glenlyon myself, 2nd of January for two weeks to bloody long. Good rain out this way local flooding almost everywhere 4-6 in.
Let me know if any of you other guys will be there then please?
Disorderly let me know if your dad does any good at Pindari please?

cheers rossco

bdowdy
29-11-2007, 09:19 PM
hi rossco debbie told me you where booked in, mate it took awhile to get into the old cod but im getting there, mate ive taken holidays in jan starting 21st so i might try to get down to fish one day if not can get you and jeremy up to tenterfield for a surface fish if your keen and im about. mate you wont reconize the dam its gone up that much fresh weed edges everwhere and i think it should be agreat year for the dam. heers bdowdy...brett

dinodadog
30-11-2007, 07:22 AM
Well done Brett I hav'nt gone after the mighty MC yet, picked up a trout cod on recent travelst though
Dinodadog

bdowdy
30-11-2007, 07:43 AM
hi dinoadog i traveled through victoria a few years back and tried fishing at several spots but only caught trout but seen some trout cod at echuca,nice fish, also pulled a set line out of the river at shepperton with at least 15 stainless hooks across the river,,,,. cheers bdowdy..brett

rossco
30-11-2007, 09:46 PM
G'day brett, yes very keen to give the surface lures a try,I'll give you a ring when I get to the dam to see what you are doing. Going to try to get to some of the rivers a bit this trip if I can afford the fuel ( gone up 15c in the last couple of weeks) .
good to hear the rise in water level still good rain out here with wide spread low flooding. I also think it may fire this summer.
Do you know what wamjam is doing after new year?

Cheers rossco

bdowdy
01-12-2007, 06:12 PM
hi rossco havnt heard from wamjam for afew weeks now, look forward to the new year,hope to catch up with you and wamjam.. cheers bdowdy...brett

vinny78
01-12-2007, 08:46 PM
Hey Brett, good fish.
Holidays in Jan? So you won't be coming north next year then?

By the way, I like the name you gave the boat!

bdowdy
01-12-2007, 09:37 PM
hi vinney i thought i told you im invited back to fiji fishing for 2 weeks so dont think ill make your place till later, may be agood thing with so much happening. i will make it up there for sure as im keen as, but fiji just sounds 2 good. cheers bdowdy...brett

vinny78
01-12-2007, 09:45 PM
Nah, it's been awhile since we last spoke on the phone eh.
No worries about postponing the trip up here, it just gives me more time to find new spots for us to fish!
What's Scott upto?

Fitzy
01-12-2007, 09:50 PM
Thats a pretty colored cod. Well done.

fitzy..

02-12-2007, 02:14 PM
Just talked to the old man about his trip to Pindari.
He mentioned that he found it difficult to troll because of some algae in the water.
So they fished with live crayfish ad landed just one yellowbelly of 6 pound and were busted off by something else.
He hasn't been able to work out setting up the new sounder yet so they were fishing blind.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif

bdowdy
02-12-2007, 06:13 PM
thanks fitzy now for some bigger models to come along. hi disorderly sounds like pindari still has a blue green problem at least he got a nice yella.hi vinney sorry mate i will get up there and yeh youll have to find me some great spots, scotto good hes been down for afew days and got 9 cod this morning. cheers bdowdy..brettt

wamjam
02-12-2007, 07:32 PM
Hey whats going on here!!!!:-/
Been on holidays for two weeks and theres cod pics everywhere and the new boat is christenned;D . Well done mate . Cod seasons on here, so stay tuned Ive got some catching up to do.;D
wamjam

bdowdy
02-12-2007, 07:56 PM
hi mate wondered were you had been, yeh finally got 2 in the boat nothing huge but there started thats a good thing, hey might make it back out to copeton after xmas will give you abell when i head out. cheers bdowdy....brett