View Full Version : Monster at mud
480topender
29-11-2007, 11:15 AM
Fished mud yesterday afternooon. Got to mud around 4 so still had 2 hours of run out, picked up just legal snapper first drift he went back due to hopes of bigger fish. Next drift my 4" soft plastic (keep in mind 4") got smashed ;D and all hell broke loose with line peeling of my zillion at a rate of notes my mate started the engine and we were in pursuit;D This thing was f*#*### huge i could not phase it i was fishing 20lb braid with 20lb leader on a baitcaster. I was neerly positive it wasnt a sting ray or a turtle and had stayed on for to long to be a shark so was keen to see it. After one and a half hours of prutle punishment (to me not the fish i still have bruises on my stomache) it started to tyre then in a last ditch effort it starts to head to the surface and im thinking sweat this thing is going to get air borne. Then as it luanches out of the water HOLY F#*#:o :o :o IT IS A F###### MONSTER SHARK FULLY OUT OF THE WATER. It would have had to of been 4m in length and 200kg (that is no bulls###) it did a roll while air borne and the line broke. My mate and i just looked at each other thinking and saying a lot of four letter words remedering this is all on 20lb and on a baitcaster.
We limbed back to mud and by now it was dead low so had also lost any chance of good snapper we did a couple of drifts and picked up a legal snapper than headed back and fished a walf and picked up 2 more nicde size snapper and then went home still in ore of the flying shark:)
And the weather was perfect at mud i would recomend getting out tonight if you dare.
the gecko
29-11-2007, 11:53 AM
What a great read. Top job to get him near the boat on that leader. Youll be telling that story for the rest of your life....
Peter4
29-11-2007, 12:02 PM
I fish around Mud a fair bit in my 4m boat.
You have officially scared the sh*t out of me.
"I think we need a bigger boat" - Roy Scheider - Jaws 1975
Flattie Assassin
29-11-2007, 12:03 PM
LOL, what a read! This is my theory though. You had a big jewie on, Near the end of the fight, A great white noticed the Jew flailing about and went in for the kill. The jew ran for it's life for the surface, He however, was not qiuck enough and the White snapped him up and done a victory leap like free willy. ;D
Freeky, A four metre shark though on twenty pound leader. I honestly can't see it. I reckon i could be on the money. ::)
Peter4
29-11-2007, 12:06 PM
Good theory FA
Sandman
29-11-2007, 12:15 PM
What clasic story, often see them leaping out around there, did you identify the type of shark or were you to busy being stunned by the whole scenario?
ffejsmada
29-11-2007, 12:17 PM
What specie of Shark was it?
Or did you sh!t your pants that much that you couldn't ID it??????;D;D;D
jeff
Flattie Assassin
29-11-2007, 12:23 PM
4mt shark and 20pd line IT UMPOSSIBLE :cheesy:
29-11-2007, 12:58 PM
There seems to be a bit of scepticism in the responses here and I would not know if this is a true story or not... :-/
... but I have hooked up to many triple header freight trains when I have been fishing at Mud Island at night time. I have always wanted to believe that they were all big jew or snapper and in some cases I could get their heads to turn on 30 lb line before they broke off but I have no doubts that some of them must have been whoppin' big sharks.:-/
...and why would they not be? Mud Island has more than enough salt water around it and I have caught more than my fair share of sharks up to around the 5 ft mark so why would there not be the big fellas there?
We have also heard a few corroborated stories of about 12 months ago of largish sharks leaping out of the air over at Moreton. The reason that they do this, of course, is that there are bigger ones chasing them. ;D
It is a good story and good reading so thanks to the author. :)
It won't stop me fishing at Mud at night time though. If it stops a few of you others going out there at night time making heaps of noise, then "bloody good!" ;D ;D ;D
Flattie Assassin
29-11-2007, 01:08 PM
I'm not skeptical at all about the shark jumping out of the water. I simply can't see a 4 metre,200kg shark being played on a zillion and a baitcaster rod setup. ::) 20 pound line. NO WAY. Could not have been hooked to the shark for that amount of time. Would have been spooled for sure or snapped off in that amount of time. Think about it. LOL, yeah big sharp teeth on a shark aren't gonna cut through a 20pd flouro leader. Bahahhahahaha.
4 Mt shark would be like a freight train. Literally. You reckon you could play a freight train on that gear?
You have to have been hooked to a big fish, and the shark has come in for the kill. And yes, Exciting great read. I just can't see it happening any other way.
29-11-2007, 01:09 PM
Fishing a gutter on a dead calm day and I mean dead calm at Stockton beach my mate hooked a near 4m shark on 20lb mono and some squidbait, this shark felt the line when it came tight, surfaced not unlike a dolphin does, rolled slowly all the time without panic snapped the line then disapeared, it all happend very calmly and because of the condiions was only 20 feet from where we stood with mouths open so light braid having more or less the same effect I can believe.
chief
29-11-2007, 01:30 PM
Great read, the Zane Grey of Mud Island. Cheers ,good to see you pulled a few fish as well
the gecko
29-11-2007, 01:37 PM
I think starting the engine and chasing the fish gives him a lot more chance of staying connected. As the angler, youd feel the difference between a jew and a 200kg shark. I was hooked up to a shark a few weeks ago, and I chose to let him bust the line instead of upping anchor and chasing something I didnt want to boat....so I believe him. Lets not ruin the thread for his sake. This is a top story guys.
Sandman
29-11-2007, 01:43 PM
Id believe it, as mentioned plently of "big" sharks in the bay!! Be suprised how flukes can happen, like the tuna that swam into my hook out at the beacons while the hook was hanging over the side of the boat!! unluckiest tuna out there !!
Ok, so there will be sceptics but after my run in with the Spanish Mack this year (135cm, over 20 kg, on 8lb Braid, 16lb Fluro Carbon and 3/0 1/4 jighead), i'm not going to doubt anything! Alright, so it wasn't a 4m shark but the teeth on this thing were razor sharp, and the hook was embedded firmly in the centre of the roof of the mouth. Over 40mins, this leader could have been sliced clean at anytime, but strangely, didn't! So, good luck to you TOPENDER on an adrenalin rush!
Take Care T
Mozza
29-11-2007, 03:13 PM
Great read and a top story!!
Mozza
Sandman
29-11-2007, 03:19 PM
T1 did you post that one ? wasnt one of thos big fella's out of the bay was it ?
480topender
29-11-2007, 03:21 PM
I am nearly certain it was the shark the whole way for sharks dont take blisstering runs and if it was a big jew it would not have taken that long to boat i have had a 20kg jew boated in my boat at mud on 16lb leader in under 20mins. But your theory did cross my mind last night but t5here was no great big fish hanging out of his mouth he was only 10 meters away when he launched out of the water and you could see the line attached to him.
But we will never no for sure.
The whole time i was fighting him or should i say chasing him i could not do much to raise him and i tried i have 4 bruises the size of my rod but to prove it so wuold explain why i think he surfaced because i had stopped chassing him for he had started to tyre.
Im pretty sure it was a great big bronze whaler.
Flattie Assassin
29-11-2007, 03:28 PM
Awesome stuff bloke. Yeah you would have to at least give it some thought. Gawd, it makes me think twice about outside kayak work. :o
480topender
29-11-2007, 03:33 PM
I know i kayak in and around mud makes think twice about going out there.
bayfisher
29-11-2007, 03:43 PM
Theres no doubt there are plenty of big sharks in the bay in the last month i have seen 2 biguns around the 5 metre mark at the 4 beacons area. There is no reason they wouldn't take a leisurely swim to mud every now and then. There is also no reason to doubt that it was a shark he whole time, i have caught sharks with mono leader before it all depends how lucky (or unlucky for them) the hookup is. Ive battled a 5ft whaler on 10lb mono the whole time scratching my head as to why i hadn't been busted off when i got it boat side it turned out it had been hooked straight through the dorsal fin.
Anyways sounds like you have a great story to add to your fishing tales ;D .
Cheers Chris
bluefin59
29-11-2007, 04:43 PM
Good on you topender ,a totally believable story mate as i'v seen it happen out there the bloody thing must have scared the begeeses out of you a great story and great read thanks for sharing mate ,those 4 in placcies will catch anything imo ...matt
Chalkandcheese
29-11-2007, 05:31 PM
LOL, what a read! This is my theory though. You had a big jewie on, Near the end of the fight, A great white noticed the Jew flailing about and went in for the kill. The jew ran for it's life for the surface, He however, was not qiuck enough and the White snapped him up and done a victory leap like free willy. ;D
Freeky, A four metre shark though on twenty pound leader. I honestly can't see it. I reckon i could be on the money. ::)
lmfao good theory mate
DICER
30-11-2007, 08:29 AM
what you did was just annoy Mr Sharky - I hope he doesn't take revenge....
where was the line attached? Did you foul hook him? Perhaps when you were trying to raise his head, you were doing something else....
JEWIENEWIE
30-11-2007, 09:44 AM
On a recent charter off evans, a fella was bringing in a nice snapper when his rod buckled and the thing just took off. No more than 30 secs later a nice macko lept from the water just meters from the boat with his snaper in his mouth. Line snaped in about 30 ses later. Macko would be my bet.
Jewie
Little grey men
30-11-2007, 10:26 AM
Macko would be my bet.
Could you imagine a 4m Mako, now that would be one scary multi toothed phyco killing machine.:o :o
No wonder I like freshwater fishing.
T1 did you post that one ? wasnt one of thos big fella's out of the bay was it ?
Indeed i did....
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=105708&highlight=SPANISH
Enjoy... T
30-11-2007, 12:04 PM
That would have been amazing to see, and eve more amazing to land..the title of your post would have been "Free flake fillets to all Ausfish members" ;D
JEWIENEWIE
30-11-2007, 12:41 PM
Little grey men, the guy who hooked it wanted to try and land it:o :o
Like f$#%k, the skipper and myself said in unison. i would rather take my chances and swim back to shore!!!
Jewie
mudskipper
01-12-2007, 07:15 AM
probably a bull shark ? mate and i had exactly same thing happen at the top of macleay is. only the fight was shorter, mate laid into it using mono- end result-massive shark completely out of the water showing a white belly, one reel completely stuffed and the mono had stretched to look flat and twisted.....took us a couple of minutes to pick up our jaws and definitely not going swimmin in the bay
PiNpOiNt
01-12-2007, 09:24 AM
nice work matee