View Full Version : Reds on RAPERS!!

rocksberg6
29-11-2007, 10:01 AM
Went out 4am Fri 23-11-07 from the la balsa park ramp. Thought we would take a run out to Currimundi for a quick session before the wind got up. As we stuck our heads out around Cartwright it was still looking a bit greasy so we decided to have a look around Rapers and see what the weather was going to do. Found a nice patch and floated a few baits, 1st two saw a couple of nice sweeties 2kg+:) , next two, nice pan sized squire:D . After that it was one after another for the next 2 hours;D . But what topped of the day was something i never thought i would see coming off such a shallow reef! A BLOODY GOOD RED!!!:o :o ;D ;D Can anybody tell me weather this was a once of, or have they been caught there before. I've fished there quite often, and have never come across them , but then again i have'nt had a session like that before there either! ;D ;D ;D . The weather turned out great but we were'nt going nowhere!Heaps of birds working,mac tuna of the surface,fish in the boat. One of those days that everthing just worked. Pity they are too far and few between.;D ;D ;D

seapup
29-11-2007, 10:14 AM
Nice wheres ya photos?

rocksberg6
29-11-2007, 10:29 AM
Mate i havn't got a digital!:-[ (havn't caught many fish worth a photo) asked santa for one so hopefully he'll come through. Good ol santa.;D

zigfreed
29-11-2007, 10:36 AM
Rocksberg

I got onto a good school up that way a couple of weeks back. Must've got 8-10 but they were all under (round the 30-40 mark) so all went back for a swim.

Did get some good grassies and a nice tuskie as well.

How big did he go????

rocksberg6
29-11-2007, 10:45 AM
zigfreed; The red went 62cm, good enough for me!

wadeo
29-11-2007, 11:09 AM
Great work in my books any legal red especially in that area is a bloody good red. Well done ;D

Wadeo

jm82
29-11-2007, 11:34 AM
They Are Always There . Its Just That They Are Always Just Under Legal. And If You Do Hook A Good One The Smoke You In That Territory Around Rapers. Good To See The Sweetties Are Back Aswell , We Got None On Our Last Trip Out Only Squire And A Few Nice Cod To About 2.5kg. Headin There This Weekend Will Do A Report When We Get Back

Regards Josh

rocksberg6
29-11-2007, 11:57 AM
what time, day you going out jm82? Might see you there, havin another go myself sat morn 3-30-4-00am.

zigfreed
29-11-2007, 12:11 PM
zigfreed; The red went 62cm, good enough for me!

Nice one Rocksberg- that would go well in anyone's esky.

There is some good fish in that area if you can get past the pickers which seem to reside there. Ever tried there for mackerel? I was thinking of giving it a go this year with all the baitfish around seemed like a likely spot.

jm82
29-11-2007, 12:37 PM
Rocksberg , We Will Be There 3.30 4am On Sat As Well. Will Be In A 6.4m Trail Craft Centre Cab Called Hard Yakka. Hopefully The Swell Is Up A Bit , Have You Noticed That It Fishes Well When The Wheather Is Unfavourable.

Regards Josh

rocksberg6
29-11-2007, 02:09 PM
Zigfreed;The macks have normally started to show up in small numbers by now. But by the way the tuna where smashing the baitfish up there last week i don't think they will be to far away! :D

Josh;I have noticed that, but unfortunatly i am using my small boat at the moment (Jess 4-75m steber)until i get my wellcraft back from an engine rebuild,so when the winds up its an uncomfortable ride down there. Hope to see you somewhere out there sat, if its not blowing!;D

jayvee
29-11-2007, 05:42 PM
where is rapers if you dont mind me askin? what part of the coast is i directly out from?

29-11-2007, 05:54 PM
Zigfreed;The macks have normally started to show up in small numbers by now. But by the way the tuna where smashing the baitfish up there last week i don't think they will be to far away! :D

Rapers got hit pretty hard about 7-8 weeks ago by the mack boys when the schoolies were infesting it. They were going off on slow trolled pillies :P:P

Hopefully the spotties and barrys will not be far away.

rocksberg6
30-11-2007, 10:45 AM
Jayvee; Straight out from you, off currimundi.

02-12-2007, 07:29 PM
Hey Rocksberg,

pretty sure we met and had a quick chat at the Mobil servo on the way up the highway on Saturday morning about 3.15 am. I had the yellow centre console. I think your rig was a 4.8 cuddy/runabout?

I had a reasonable day and will post a report.

jm82
03-12-2007, 08:39 AM
Hey Rocksberg, I Think I Saw U Guys At Thr Mobil As Well, We Had The White Trailcraft Parked On The Left Side Of The Fuel Bowseres.

rocksberg6
03-12-2007, 10:23 AM
Yeah Jeremy, Josh that was us.;D I had a quick chat to you Jeremy but did'nt catch up with you Josh, I was to worried about looking for more bait,(Did one of you guys buy the last slab of pillies?)>:( :'( You would have been ok out there sat Josh but we got smashed! Can't wait to get the big girl back! Jeremy i saw your report ,well done mate, should of went with you instead. Any way I'll be back Fri and Sat might see you both out there, should have the wellcraft back by then.;D :D :) :-/ .