View Full Version : Does a place like this exist? Your help pls
28-11-2007, 01:42 PM
My wife and I are debating where to head for our Christmas break, and it really is a difficult choice given our list of "likes" and "dislikes"
To ask for help choosing is a tall ask, but maybe somewhere will suit us acording to what we are planning.
We will leave the camper trailer this time and take the boat instead, which means we have been looking at the $299.00 specials about the place for a reasonable tent
I hate overcrowding in camping areas, and prepared to drive either north or south of Brisbane for 3 hours. Curragee on the broadwater is nice, but crowds would be a killer!
Wife likes hot showers, but not at the expense of 5star accomodation
We'll have a fish, and it would be a bonus to get a feed occasionally.
Tow vehicle is a 4x4 so off track is an option.Are we too fussy, or do you think it will be impossible to find tranquility this close to Brisbane away from the crowds?
Any suggestions?
baitwaster
28-11-2007, 02:44 PM
I would suggest the nearest would be Woodgate, DI will be packed, you might be lucky and find a quiet spot north of teewah, but have to launch the boat in surf. south will be packed, perhaps brunswick heads, broken head, but there are usually a few folk there too. Elliot heads maybe, try the caravan parks and see how booked up they are. maybe buxton or burrum heads
zedjack33
28-11-2007, 03:43 PM
I would suggest the nearest would be Woodgate, . maybe buxton or burrum heads
m8eee the places you have suggested maybe the best bet in the bundy area. Because other usual haunts locally have just been blown out by the d!ck he@ds in the local council. Palm Beach, Moore Park to Kolan River, Kolan River to Baffle have just been shut to camping!!!!! The only beaches open are Kinkuna NP, the NP at Woodgate and the Beach form Baffle to Deepwater!
Bugger em
baitwaster
28-11-2007, 04:02 PM
S.O.B.'s !!! - I wasn't aware of that. Bloody funsuckers.
That will pack more people into woody and burrum.
Soon bloke will have to travel past yeppoon to get away from the crowds.
manchild
28-11-2007, 04:22 PM
There is a campingsite on bribie ,the only acces is by boat, dont know about showers .Anywhere around the pin area where you can find a spot to pitch a tent ,its free not crowded ,at least not on the land .Invest in a solar shower and booth mate and you dont have to go far .
George
SeaHunt
28-11-2007, 05:25 PM
Baffle is a bit more than 3 hours, more like 5 and a half.
Go to Poona, I love saying Poona, typing lacks something though.
It's about 3 hours, there is a caravan park with showers etc. It might be pretty full at XMAS but that doesn't mean much, its only a small place.
Just got to schedule your launch and retrives around high tide.
http://www.poonapalms.com.au/
28-11-2007, 05:55 PM
5 hours away is 1770 and there are cabins for rent there at reasonable prices or if you like to camp head to the next creek north Eurimbula Creek in Eurimbula National Park. Good campsites and has got toilets but no shower. There is good clean borewater on tap there tho if you would like to take a dilly bag shower.
Eurimbula is a bloody good location and excellent fishing.
Hello There!;D
For our next camping trip we are planning to head to Burrum Heads, so just outside of your 3 hour radius.
My Mum and Dad are keen to come again and will have the option of staying in a cabin (Mum's idea of roughing it!::) ) and I like the option of showers!;)
I don't know what it would be like for Xmas but it looks likes there are 2 caravan/camping parks.
http://www.burrumheadshillcrestholidaypark.com/
http://www.beachfronttouristparks.com.au/index.php?page=burrum-heads-beachfront-caravan-park
Goodluck with making your decision!
Janine
2DKnBJ
28-11-2007, 07:41 PM
Why not have a look at Yamba.
Plenty of fishing options,river, beach,rocks.There are some top caravan parks with cabins or camping sites.I know of 3 that are on the water.
Cheers Dazza
28-11-2007, 07:59 PM
Was up a Burrum heads the other week for a week, nice little spot, two caravan coming tent parks, both have full ammenities, small shopping centre.
40mins to Hervey bay or maryb'.
both parks are on the burrum river, with easy access to hervey bay, and plenty of boat ramps handy, took just over 3hrs in my 4x4.
will be heading back next year.
28-11-2007, 09:24 PM
All good replies thanks!!:o
We've got around looking at all your suggestions using Google maps ( where were we before google maps!!) and gone up and down the eastern side of Australia. My two daughters added one more pre-requisite to our holiday spot... Must have a nice pool!! City Kids, unbelievable!;D
I have stayed at Yamba before, quite nice there. Has anyone stayed at Ballina? Seems a lot of caravan parks right on the Richmond river.
Gawd Webby!
Don't tell Peter when you are heading up there or you might have a stalker!http://members.essentialbaby.com.au/style_emoticons/default/ph34r.gif (javascript:emoticon(':ph34r:', 'smid_19'))
Dazza -I liked the look of Yamba too! Ensuite sites - that's my dream!;D
Janine
luckyone
29-11-2007, 01:41 AM
ballina is a top spot very laid back and good fishing
timddo
29-11-2007, 06:49 AM
try the Gold Coast on wavebreak island or south strabroke. Only access is by boat and if you want luxuary it's just across the river, broadwater.b
roydsy
29-11-2007, 07:48 AM
Burrum Heads is an awesome usually quiet place. it can get busy, but nothing like sunny and gold coasts. If you use the top ramp be aware that it is a mid to high tide ramp only as it drops sharply off into 20ft of water at low.
I usually pay the price and get pet friendly accommodation through elders burrum heads. camping well it always seems pretty popular, but nothing like some of the other locations at xmas I have been too. ie. yamba, mini water, etc
happy camping, and oh, the fishing up the burrum is exceptional... barra, jacks, macks, whiting, trevs, ....... its all good.
kind_cir
29-11-2007, 08:31 AM
YES, YES, YES !!!!!
CHECK YOUR PM'S
THERE IS MORE TO THIS SPOT THAN I HAVE TOLD YOU, BE AMAZED
SeaHunt
29-11-2007, 11:57 AM
Thanks for sharing noboat.
Hey Webby did you go out to the 8 mile reef, out from Burrum Heads?
That place can turn it on occasionally.
roydsy
29-11-2007, 12:29 PM
Thanks for sharing noboat.
Hey Webby did you go out to the 8 mile reef, out from Burrum Heads?
That place can turn it on occasionally.
I did and all i could catch was about a dozen sharks. I should ahve went out at night but braved the crowds during the day. well anyway it doesn't take long to get to the eight mile, well worth the run.
good luck
Rodman
29-11-2007, 12:42 PM
My wife and I are debating where to head for our Christmas break, and it really is a difficult choice given our list of "likes" and "dislikes"
To ask for help choosing is a tall ask, but maybe somewhere will suit us acording to what we are planning.
We will leave the camper trailer this time and take the boat instead, which means we have been looking at the $299.00 specials about the place for a reasonable tent
I hate overcrowding in camping areas, and prepared to drive either north or south of Brisbane for 3 hours. Curragee on the broadwater is nice, but crowds would be a killer!
Wife likes hot showers, but not at the expense of 5star accomodation
We'll have a fish, and it would be a bonus to get a feed occasionally.
Tow vehicle is a 4x4 so off track is an option.Are we too fussy, or do you think it will be impossible to find tranquility this close to Brisbane away from the crowds?
Any suggestions?
Mate
I feel that you may be disappointed in obtaining a quite camping area.
Might I suggest that you try Rainbow Waters Caravan Park.
1. Good Boat Ramp;D
2. Jetty and pontoon;D
3. Large area for camping able to locate oneself at the outer edge8-)
4. Hot showers and toilets avail:D
5. Courtesy bus avail to local sports club;D
Ken8-)
29-11-2007, 01:08 PM
ballina is pretty damn good but it'll be as busy as anywhere at christmas time. i know it's pretty close to home but what about bongaree caravan park over on bribie. top bit of sheltered water for the boat if it blows up and easy access into the bay for those glassy mornings. if you've got a 4x4 then buy a permit and hit the surf beach for a swim. it's even close enough to logan for you to run up with the camper and set it all up and then scoot home down the gateway to get the boat so you've got both there.
Scalem , If Only I Saw This Thread About A Month Ago. I Have A Unit In Hervey Bay At Torquay That Was Availible. Its Directly Across From The Caravan Park On The Esplanade. If It Wasnt Booked I Cound Have Offered It To You.
Best Off Luck With Your Xmas Holiday
Rod Fishing
29-11-2007, 02:44 PM
Scalem,
I agree with Rodman Rainbow waters caravan park is good. Have stayed there over a couple of easters and it was excellent.
I will be staying at Ranbow Shores Resor, my missus got her way otherwise we Probably would have been staying at the caravan park.
I wont be towing the boat down now as i have my brother in laws to utilise.
Cheers Rod....
29-11-2007, 09:22 PM
Decisions...Decisions
I think I'll head north for barra and jacks, and the wife and kids will go south to Balina where they can do some window shopping, grab a movie or two:P :P
Guys, there's so many great suggestions we really are that divided on making a decision, we still can't committ to one or the other. There's 3 very clear winners.
Thanks for your PM noboat, but it appears your secret spot is a little less secret than you thought but I appreciate the effort you went to to tell me more details::) ::) ::) ;D ;D
29-11-2007, 10:31 PM
Hi Brian,
bec and i just got back from the a trip of some coastal towns of NSW, and stayed in quite a few of them, my pick and hope this helps, Evans Head magic, Hat Head, Crescent Heads, Yamba and Camden Haven, all are family friendly and have a bit of fishing possiblities;D Seal Rocks is also great but a bit far. Port Macquarie is a great and quite central to quite a few spots if you can travel that far, but closest id pick Evans Head
mike
Myora
Just north of Bundy on the Agnes road.
It's out of the way but has everything you'll need.
The bush camping area allows you to get away from the crowds.
Not sure what it gets like at christmas though.
Good fishing for small boats.
30-11-2007, 07:07 PM
Evans Head is out.... There's 350 on a waiting list, and they have extended into an area not normally part of the main park.
Has anyone tried Ballina Seabreeze? Looks nice but on rain and bore water apparently. The bore water is a worry as it can smell of sulfer in some places I have stayed, I wonder what it's like. It has a pool and a boat ramp opposite the park...8-)
Chris Ryan
30-11-2007, 08:38 PM
If you are not taking the camper mate - let me know. I have a tent you can use - 3 rooms with a "sunroom" heaps of room for the girls, you and the Mrs and all the gear.
Just tell me if you need it mate - think we won't be needing it with another bub due around when you are away. Its one of those Oztrail - the Hilton of tents. Have a gander here to see what it's like.
http://www.oztrail.com.au/tents/dome_sportiva_homestead.php
griz066
03-12-2007, 01:43 PM
Sommerset Dam is a good spot good fishing quiet camping
kingtin
07-12-2007, 03:15 PM
Mate, I've ceased looking. I've had one holiday there, and all future ones will be to the same place. It's clean, quiet, not *too* expensive, and you can get a pitch right on the water. Last time I went, I didn't even put the tinny in as we enjoyed the shore fishing that much. You can also tour the fishing hotspots locally, using this as your base. It has it's own ramp, and you can leave your tinny in the water in the sheltered "harbour" if you don't want to pull it out each trip. The perfect place to launch a "tweed offensive"
It's that crap a place, it's often booked up 12 months ahead ;D
If it's booked up, there's another site next door that also looks good
http://www.haciendacv.com.au/
Even the deckie catches fish there ;D
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/52cmjack.jpg
artesian
16-12-2007, 12:49 AM
go to Eurimbula, as Tunaticer suggested, if for no other reason than DPI&Fs current discussion paper has it scheduled for a total fishing ban.
So you probably won't bother to go there again, if that proposal gets up
Luckless
17-12-2007, 04:23 PM
Have you looked at Iluka near Grafton? Been a few years since I went there but from memory had a good camping area (either in the bush or powered caravan sites), hot showers, marine reserve, boat ramp, surf beach, estuary type area, open water, not many people and a short stroll to the bowls club in town.... not sure if it has changed much in the past few years though. Damn - remembering all that I think I might go there for my break!::) The only down side is the rocket range near by - although it was always pretty good to sit on top of the cliffs and watch the jets go past on training runs.... Think you might luck out on the pool though, but there were a heap of good rock pools that the kids could go swimming in.
17-12-2007, 09:13 PM
I'll get a closer look at Iluka when down that way, we've booked somewhere in Ballina which is not far away.
Duyz72
19-02-2008, 01:50 AM
How was it?
Would like to know what decisions were made, and how it all turned out for you?
01-03-2008, 07:53 AM
How was it?
Would like to know what decisions were made, and how it all turned out for you?
It's been a few weeks since the trip, and I thought this thread was dead, but to sum up the trip it was a shocker!! Remember the low pressure system that moved down to Northern NSW and dumped a couple of hundred mm of rain, resulting in a fish kill of epick proportions in the Richmond River? Well we were there in the thick of it!!
The boat in tow only served the purpose of a trailer, never saw the water once. The caravan park we booked into was 2nd rate - I give it a 2 out of 5. One of the permanent residents there told me what was going on at this particular park, and without posting anything unresearched or based on only his opinion ( he is really cheesed off!!) I could see the evidence of poor maintenance. The community barby area was unfit for use. The barby plate has not been cleaned for what looks like months, the communal sink is a mess, the mens showers blocked up after the rain, and all the shower cubicals had filled up with water. You get wet on the way to the showers if it was raining, because there is no down pipe connected to the gutter, so rainwater was splashing on the concrete walkway....
We've got some photos someplace on a sd card, not even worth putting into a folder on the hard drive. We booked from thursday till the following Wednesday, but were sick of the rain and the dirty conditions and were gone by the Saturday, never to return, even if it was fine weather. The park further down seemed much nicer, and we were asked, " If you don't have a dog, why the heck did you stay in this dump?" That's what you get when you book things over the internet and never been there B4.:'(
kingtin
01-03-2008, 09:13 AM
Unlucky Scalem :(
I never go anywhere now, without doing a recce first. Obviously, if it's a long way away hat becomes a no-no but I've found some shit places in the past, so am very wary. I'll go on the off chance of a place, but I never put booking deposits up front in case the place is crap when I get there.
01-03-2008, 02:23 PM
Unlucky Scalem :(
I never go anywhere now, without doing a recce first. Obviously, if it's a long way away hat becomes a no-no but I've found some shit places in the past, so am very wary. I'll go on the off chance of a place, but I never put booking deposits up front in case the place is crap when I get there.
Yep, couldn't agree more Kev. We are finding that once you find a place you like, if you can, book it for next year too, as so many are doing. But there was another site at Imbil where we had booked a specific site because we knew it, wanted enough room to fit two tents/families together on the same site. The friends we were sharing with had arrived about two hours earlier than us, only to find they had moved us to another, less attractive site to what we had booked, which was right next to the main road that fed the other campsites.
To make matters worse, knucklehead mate of mine didn't leave enough room for us to set up our camper trailer. Grrrrr!!!!! The original site we booked had no less than 4 tents on it, so any guesses why they moved us??::) More revenue during a long weekend obviously!!
No more booking unless it comes recommended or I have inspected for myself.
03-03-2008, 11:07 AM
A thought for future trips, maybe look around Maroochy/Noosa areas? Or even the Hervey Bay area.
Sorry to hear your trip was a shocker.
Wags
smiley_doobinator
03-03-2008, 02:58 PM
Try Yamba if you want to go camping in Nthn NSW, bout a 3 hour drive down but well worth it, great camping grounds (I have stayed at both Yamba Waters and Fishing Haven and would recommend both). great camping parks, great people and beautiful place to stay, cant go past it I reckon.
mr fisher
29-03-2008, 12:05 PM
1770 is great but a bit far great fishing and camping ground on beach and good makeral and estury
also woody head great camping grounds boat ramp in camping ground and a reef not far out cabins 1 problem 20c a minute for showers.