View Full Version : Landcruiser 80series - What issues should I look for??
Red_Nut
26-11-2007, 12:02 PM
Team,
I have been looking around for an early 2000's standard 100 series diesel with less than 200,000km but am having trouble. I may have an alternative....
I have found a 1991 (a bit older old I know) 80 series NA diesel, standard wagon with a few extras (bull / tow bars, aux fuel tank, dual batteries, big wheels, full roof rack, rear wheel carrier). It is not a 'pretty' truck but it seems strong and I know the history from 150,000km to now (216000km) as it is owned by a family friend.
I have checked out the gearbox for noises - can't hear anything. I was reversing it slowly under load (over small mounds) in 2wd / 4high / 4 low with full lock both ways on the steering and heard no noise. It cruises at highway speeds comfortably. There are no apparent rust spots down low or underneath, there is one small spot under a rear window. The paint is in good condition (standard beige), perhaps a bit dull. The vinyl interior is in ok condition, usual wear and tear for a vehicle that is 16yrs old. There are no water or oil leaks under the vehicle.
Please let me know if there is anything else that I should be looking for? The vehicle is priced right.
If it all works out I may be changing over from my 75 series Troopy!!!!
Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Ed.
26-11-2007, 02:28 PM
I don't know of any common issues with them, but I guess anything is possible, the Engine I guess is a 1HZ? that Engine with reasonable care and maintenance was known for its longevity, rust was not a problem of any note, so I guess if it all is OK and the price is right, just go for it!
Check the front swivel hubs for oil leaks (very common) Syncro's in the gearbox,also check for oil leaks at the rear of the head and down the bellhousing as this is a good indication of overheating and warped head.Rust isn't a issue on the 80's unless it has been used for beach work.Nothing too drastic happen's on these things they are a pretty tuff old truck the 1hz was not noted for it's power though.Dan.........
Red_Nut
27-11-2007, 08:34 AM
Thanks for the hints so far.
I have since discovered that the coils / shocks have also been replaced about 6 months ago, with original 100series gear. The mine vehicles go straight in for susp mods (TJM) when they are brand new, and the original susp gear is sold-on here in Rocky at QLD Cruisers for a fraction of new price. This 80series has the standard 100series coils / shocks.
There is also a bit of a list of brand new spares with this vehicle (new water pump, glow plugs and bar, clutch plate, 30L engine oil) which is a bit of a bonus.
I am interested to see what / if any repairs are needed for roadworthy. I know it will need a windscreen as there are a couple of stars and cracks, but the seller is including that work and the RWC in the purchase price. The rear tyres are brand new (Silverstone AT's), the fronts are a bit low but are ok. The 80 comes with 5 16x8" alloys.
It is all looking good so far.
Ed.
my dream truck!!
I had one of these myself and would happily have another one over the fancy carpet lined models any day. You cant beat the versatility of a vinyl interior.
Mine had 240,000 when i bought it and 320,000 when i sold it, never had any eng problems apart from glo plugs that didn't work and a Alternator mounting bolt that had cracked the casing and allowed it to rattle at certain revs(idle), annoying but still worked. the glo plugs weren't a problem in QLD for me as i never once had problems starting in the mornings (gold coast) but i did when i visited my Pop down in Guyra during winter....a quick squirt of Aerostart fixed that!! The 1HZ is a great engine, plenty of power for a NA engine, I could keep up with the Goldy traffic no probs and fuel economy was consistantly good, 400ks from the reserve and 800ks from the main tank no worries in the traffic, further if on a long trip, not much less if your towing. average about 11L/100km, best 10L and worst 12.5L towing in traffic.
Oops!, Just re read your post, you already have a 75 so you would know how good the engines are.
OK, the ride is very comfortable compared to a 75, my missus was very apprehensive about driving a big 4x4 when we got it.....within 10 minutes she was rapt. reckons it was more like a car then a 4x4, and i'd agree, i tried a few 75's and couldn't go past the 80's ride and handling benefits.
The body is generally good although rust was an issue in mine but only in one spot. mine came from Hughenden and was the Vet's car so it probably had a fair bit of cow sh*t stuck under the guards for a while, thats where it rusted on mine, right where the firewall meets the floorpan (right under your feet) although was only on 1 side(passenger). the back barn doors rattled and squeaked but was fixable, the later models came out with a plastic coated latch and striker to stop the rattle(I just wrapped a bit of duct tape on it every few months, and a squirt of silicon spray on the door seals stopped the squeaks.;D
definitely my favourite car I ever owned.
Cheers Roo.
Red_Nut
27-11-2007, 09:33 AM
Roo - yep I have the 75 series Troopy, but mine is 1987 vintage with the 2H diesel, so driving the 80 series with the 1HZ was a nice change. The 2H are a great engine, but they don't have the get up and go that this newer one has.
Same old story - I get mine the way I want it and then needs change (new baby - would like a real back seat for the safety factor of the baby capsule). The coil suspension is also a winner with having the baby, and my wife may actually drive this one. It was very hard to get her to drive the 75 Series Troopy, but that one is a big car.
The fuel figures you quoted are the same as the seller told me. He said usually it gets around the 11L/100km, and he got around 14L/100km when loaded and towing a 22ft van.
Fingers crossed it all works out ok. Especially for the purchase price of $10K!!! It is hard to go past at that price.
If I get it I will be post a few pictures after it has had a tidy up over the Christmas break.
Ed.
Mate i just sold my 91 gxl diesel for $9000 and a mate just bought a rv wagon 96 model for $11000 so i reckon $10000 is a bit high for a standard wagon i think you could pick one up at a much better price than that .Dan....
i sold mine for $16000 but that was 5 years ago.
$10,000 sounds like a good deal for a good honest truck with low k's (216000 is low i reckon) I reckon for that money i'll be buying one again.
Dan5, RV was petrol only....yes? or did i miss something, the RV is a great model as it has all the best bits of the DX and the better rear door layout, seats, centre console and dash layout of the GXL. I thought they only came with a pertol motor but if they are available with a deisel it would be my other pick.
cheers Roo.
Red_Nut
27-11-2007, 06:27 PM
Dan - depnding on the kms on your GXL it would have been good to look at. Up here (CQ) the whole supply / demand thing comes into it also. How many were on it for interest sake? From what I have seen advertised if I could find a 96 model diesel with around 200,000km and the same extras the price would be more like $15k.
I still like the look of the 100s, but the $ asking price is a fair bit of a factor also. The 100s may be back on the radar once we get a bit more paid off the house and stop having babies (2 incomes is TOPS and we missed it when we dropped back to 1). Interestingly a mechanic I was talking to today rates the 80s higher than the 100s.
Ed.
28-11-2007, 02:10 PM
hhmm funny thing that, my mate gets a new cruiser every 3 years (lucky bugger) and when he swapped from an 80 to a 100 some years back, he reckoned that the 80 series was a MUCH better car, he reckoned the 100 seemed tinny by comparison, but he still got another one, I think he has had 2 now, and will be getting a 200 series soon as his "old" 100 series's time is just about up! and you are correct orbyroo, the RV only came in Petrol Engine! funnily enough, I do believe that the 1HZ Engine is actually a Yanmar!
BrandonH
28-11-2007, 03:43 PM
They are a great truck!!! I have an 80 series DX 96 model and love it!! (next model diesel motor came out late 95)
I get about the 11l per 100k too witch shocks a lot of my mates;D
I got mine for 18k about 2 years ago with 240k on the clock. TJM 2inch lift that was 1 year old, side steps, TJM White wheel arches Alloy Bar with Spotties. No dings in the body work and interior is in excellent condition too:) Also had been rust proofed not too long ago and has still got a thick coat of yellow stuff all over the motor bay and underside. I still decided to install an electronic system as i take it on the beach a bit. Have been checking on a paint chip actually over the last 12 months and its still got no sign of rust on it;)
Brandon...
Yes mate the RV is a petrol 4.5 i only saw the car yesterday sorry to upset any body.And yes my GXL had 325,000 ks but was in alot better condition than most.Don't worry about k' too much worry more about servicing and condition.I used mine for highway boat towing when i was guiding and racked up the km's pretty fast 190,000 to 300,000 in three years.I have owned two 80's and think that they are a tuff old truck now i have a 100 gxl the difference is chalk and cheese the 80's are primitive in comparison and my 100 is proberbly primitive to a 200 series it's just evolution and some people don't like it and are stuck in a time warp!!!Good luck with whatever you decide on Rednut just make sure it's what you really want and not just something that will have to do. Cheers Dan....
29-11-2007, 07:04 AM
have to agree on the k's thing, I know of 1HZ engines with well over 600,000K's on them and still going, like most diesels, with some reasonably maintenance and a fair degree of care they will last for ages ,but I have seen them rebuilt very "young" as well!
Red_Nut
29-11-2007, 11:26 AM
Yep - I have noticed that there are some diesel 80's out there that have been rebuit around the 300,000km mark.
As the old ad says - "Oils aint Oils".
I have heard of a "friend of a friend" up here in CQ that used chainsaw bar oil in their pre-mix 2 stroke dirtbike and wonder why it blew up!!
There are a stack of posts here regarding oils, so there is a lot of good reading here.
Fingers crossed that everything works out ok. It is not a definite that I'm getting the 80s yet. The seller has ordered a new top of the line TD Navara, and there is a delay in delivery. The original plan was for me to have the 80s this weekend, but it may not be available for another month yet..........
Ed.
Red_Nut
29-11-2007, 11:29 AM
Brandon H - Was that electronic rust system one that you installed yourself or was it a shop-job? I have been tossing up installing one on my 75s Troopy but have not got to it yet.
Has anyone used the Ebay $200 ERPS?
Ed.
BrandonH
29-11-2007, 11:47 AM
Ed,
shop job mate, Done by TJM 6 point (needed for a 4x4 wagon would get away with less for a Troopy Ute) just over $600 installed and 10 year warranty i think.. You just have to check the little red light under the bonnet is stays lit;)
Good luck with your purchase!!
brandon...
Hi rednut
One thing too consider from my experience with a 90 GXL 80 I bought new and recently sold. At the age they are now things start to wear out/break and even if you are handy with a spanner and use cheap parts it still can cost a fortune. That is why I got rid of my old truck - power sterring pump seals, new disc rotors and caliper kits, radiator, thermostat, belts, air con compressor - just started to cost a fortune to keep reliable. Mine only had 200000kms with a fair amount of beach. Started to get rusty around rear door seal, front doors, roof gutter join and sills where the trim covered - they don't last forever.
I miss the old 80 (have a 100 V8 now and is heaps better as a tow/beach truck), but would never go back and look forward to a 200 when $$'s permit.
Think $10k for a 91 model standard is a bit steep. If you go for it, use Castrol Syntrax in the gearbox as it stops all the synchro issues and makes for smooth changes - the gearbox came out of my truck 4 times under warranty and they put new bearings/synchro rings in each time and never fixed it - best solution was the good oil and a new clutch slave cylinder.
A
Hey Rednut what was your ballpark price range for the 100 series?Theres a really good one in a car yard here in cairns with 90,000 k's 2001 standard diesel in good/really good nick for $26,000 i was looking at buying it myself but ended up with another gxl,i've been searching the web for the past month or so and it seemed to be the cheapest lowest k's one around.The vehicle is on consignment and the owner is negotiable apparently.Cheers Dan........
RCG008
01-12-2007, 12:16 AM
Just spent 5000 on my 80 series turbo this year, have owned torana v8s and commodore v8s. Would not trade it for the world.
It cost more but the convieneance when needed is fujn awesome. The bloke behind may question the black smoke. But I say deal with it.
In 200000 a 200 series cruiser WILL NOT have the same respect as an 100 or better still an 80 series when push comes to shove.
Guess it depends how much you trust a computer when you are the middle of know where,
Do you drive city or do you use a 4WD?
Red_Nut
01-12-2007, 09:21 AM
RGC - my 4x4's get used to get to work during the week and then tow my boat to the ramp on the weekends. They only get properly offroad a couple of times a year, but I want something that can do the job easily when required.
I live at the Capricorn Coast, about 50km from Rockhampton. Rocky is the biggest city around here (about 65,000 people), but most of my driving is out of town, either backroads or rural open roads. I enjoy the flexibility of the 4x4 for ground clearance & suspension when heading to the boat ramp or landbased spots off the bitumen.
A mate from work took the 200s for a drive at the recent Toyota demo at Jimna. He got it stuck somewhere between the gears (H/L) and they had to walk back to the starting point. Even the Toyota guy in the vehicle with him could not get it moving again.
Dan - that 100S sounds like a solid deal - after discussions at home the budget will not stretch that far for another couple of years. The 100s will have to wait until a chunk is paid off the house, so an 80 will be the go for a while at least. You never know your luck if a bargain 100s comes up in the mean time. I'm sure it was be easier to swing if I sold a boat (got a 4.2 Quintrex and a 5m Truck) and my motorbike that hasn't been ridden much lately.
Ed.
I know where your coming from Red i've got a xr650 that has'nt left the shed for about 6mths so many toy's so little time!! Dan........