View Full Version : Brighton weekend
baitwaster
25-11-2007, 04:59 PM
I have had another weekend at a couple of favourite spots. Friday night was under the hornibrook bridge throwing SP's again. Got 3 flathead. 2 went 42cm and 1 went 41cm. The first was a 42, then the 41 which I kept, then just as I was about to leave, another 42. I only kept the one, and the missus and I had him for dinner last night. Saturday morn, I wanted to fish the shorncliff jetty with my nephew, but there was a triatholon, and we couldn't get there till it finished after the turn of the tide, so we went for a little fish elsewhere. Although no keepers, the young fella got a little bream and the smile on his dial says it all. I also let him throw some SP's to encourage him over to the dark side.
I am waiting for the tide to come in a bit for a sesh. tonight.
Big thanks again to will - I love the new rods mate - they feel great.
BTW - I bought a brag mat so I can use it tonight.
http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c194/m8eee/24112007383.jpg
http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c194/m8eee/23112007382-001.jpg
http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c194/m8eee/24112007388.jpg
Fish_gutz
25-11-2007, 05:12 PM
well done to you and the young fella, top report and great feed for your troubles . is the shot with the young fella down near where sandersons boat hire used to be years ago? turn at the lights brighton side of bridge?anyways top stuff.
baitwaster
25-11-2007, 06:27 PM
Yeah - it was at sandersons, I am convinced that on big tides, something must swim up that little creek, but have not had bites or anything to prove it, a lot of baitfish there though
Little grey men
26-11-2007, 10:56 AM
Nice one mate, good on the young fella for the bream.:)
That spot certainly does look good. I'm thinking of giving the bass a miss this weekend and taking my boy over to the Redcliffe area. Looks like an easy place for kid's to fish whilst still having the potential to produce some decent sized fish.
Lapras
26-11-2007, 10:16 PM
m8eee,
Great work. Now I really wish I could have taken up your offer and come for a flick. I only managed one very small flathead earlier in the afternoon from the boat ramp.
baitwaster
27-11-2007, 10:06 AM
There is always a next time, I'll post up when I go again ( won't be too long )
baitwaster
30-11-2007, 08:59 AM
Yesterday arvo, the missus bought some flat-pack shelves for my daughters room, and told me I could not go fishin because I had to go home and put the shelves together, so I hit the boat ramp near the trawlers in cabbage tree creek for a secret squirrell session. I got a decent hit, but it missed the hook. Went to cast out again and the leader snapped, so I helplessly watched a jig-head with nuc. chook sail off into the distance. This has happened to me twice, and I am thinking that maybe the leader has been worn from retrieve over rocks, or too light ( 15lb ) or a bad/old batch?
Wed. night I hung out with the pier rats at shorncliffe. Pretty quiet, although something grabbed a treble gang with a whole squid and took off. It was on the baitrunner so I let it go for a second, then hit it, quick scream from the drag, then PING. I think maybe a shark ( 10lb mono trace ).
I have to go out to dinner at 6:30 tonight, and I have been told no fishing this arvo. So it will be a quick session on the way home again. (ssshhhhh)
This may be one of my last land-based reports for a while, I get my new boat next week ;)
tight lines all.
baitwaster
05-12-2007, 12:23 PM
Quick report,
Went out friday night last week with a mate and we had a look around cabbage tree ck. Got a Couple of catfish, and an eel, and then 1 bream that went in the bag. We fished all night and were happy enough as we were getting enough little bites to keep us awake.
http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c194/m8eee/fishin/30112007418.jpg
http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c194/m8eee/fishin/01122007424.jpg
I picked up my new reel to go on the procaster I got off Will (basskid) and had to give it a quick bash yesterday arvo. I also downloaded that bite predictor software and I fished according to that for 1 hour. Got a little flattie up for a pic before I sent the little fella home to his mum. My chooks were getting hammered left right and centre when I slowed the retrieve down. New combo worked a treat and felt really light and strong.
http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c194/m8eee/fishin/04122007003.jpg
http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c194/m8eee/fishin/04122007004.jpg
I have been told the new boat will be ready thursday, so hopefully there will be Jacks in my next report :)
blue_mako
06-12-2007, 11:14 AM
Buddie the only reason it was getting smashed left right and center when you slowed down your retrieve is because you were giving the Toadfish enough time to get to and eat your plastic.
Troy