View Full Version : which rod for Jacks

yellahunter
25-11-2007, 01:26 PM
hey guys,

well after the recent debarcle re the loomis rod i bought I thought id throw it out there and see what you guys reccommend,

I will be using the rod for Jacks, cod, barra etc and need to match it up with a daiwa zillion running 20lb pE

It will be used to throw hard bodies and mainly shorebased.

what do u suggest,

am i best off just looking around until i find a well built forcelight or should i be looking at Nitro, Egrell, Miller or something else.
I was really after a better quality rod this time and one with a good warranty like the Xpediter that Loomis offer.

Any tips appreciated.

mungindi
25-11-2007, 01:55 PM
G/Day Yellahunter,
Egrell
Gary

Champilly
25-11-2007, 02:20 PM
Definately the Egrell. had my wife put away a S10/Certate 4000 hyper yesterday for Xmas.

Can't believe I have to wait another month to get my hands on it. At least i know the happy man is coming and i will have a big smile on my face come the big day

Champilly
25-11-2007, 02:26 PM
Oh by the way - Did look at the Nitro rods. Very nice indeed and can see one in my future. Birthday not long after Xmas.....

ffejsmada
25-11-2007, 03:16 PM
G'day Ben,
I married my Zillion loaded with 30lb nitlon PE, to a GLoomis GL3 Fast Action 5'6" Heavy Baitcaster. Model # CR665. Great outfit, pull up a train!;D

Cheers Jeff.

candogu
25-11-2007, 05:10 PM
So did you get the refund on the forcelite ???

Noel

yellahunter
25-11-2007, 05:16 PM
guys,

unfortunately not,
We were told on the phone that all would be sweet and a refund will be given if we bring the rod back with the reciept,

well 1 hour of our time and a 20k drive up and back - no refund.
story changed on their behalf when we rocked up and they said no refund under any circumstances as its not a fault and doesnt hinder the performance.

NOjacks
27-11-2007, 05:12 PM
that sucks be interested to no which tackle shop you went to i just recently replaced most of mygear with loomis rods i allways go over the rod pretty well before i hand any money over load the rod up a few times make sure there arnt any noises in the reel seat and but i nearly brought a nitro till i turned it over to find a made in china sticker on it was nearly $300 so i put it back and went to the loomis rack i brought a forcelite 723 its bloody beutiful

Roo
28-11-2007, 10:09 AM
that sucks be interested to no which tackle shop you went to i just recently replaced most of mygear with loomis rods i allways go over the rod pretty well before i hand any money over load the rod up a few times make sure there arnt any noises in the reel seat and but i nearly brought a nitro till i turned it over to find a made in china sticker on it was nearly $300 so i put it back and went to the loomis rack i brought a forcelite 723 its bloody beutiful

Where are the Forcelite rods made?
the nitros are a nice rod and well made too, I don't think you'll find the sort of imperfections the loomis rods in the same price range have. the other thing nitro has is a Similar Insurance scheme to the loomis. The rods are 2 pce and if you break a section, you return it to Mayfly tackle with $60 for a replacement section. Cheap deal. That said, I reckon they're no better made than a Shimano Raider or a Berkley Drop shot, but your paying a far bit more for it.

I just picked up an Egrell S4 and I have to say the quality of the build is excellent. the guides are in perfect alignment, reel seat and cork grip is a pleasure to use and the quality of work on the bindings and epoxy is something you would rarely see on a production rod. Not a drop out of place. I would happily recommend Erics rods and now I have to buy another for "the missus".

Yella, If you want a loomis for the warranty then I think your going about it the wrong way. buy rods for their quality and performance, not an insurance policy....I've never broken a rod in 20years of fishing. If the Loomis is what you want, Then I'd suggest you get a local builder to make it up for you on your chosen blank, I believe you may still qualify for a warranty, but of course you only get the blank replaced.

Cheers Roo.

yellahunter
28-11-2007, 04:54 PM
im still pretty undecided but want to get something asap.

does anyone know what the warranty system is like on megabass rods..?

yellahunter
28-11-2007, 04:57 PM
hey nojacks, pm sent :)

yellahunter
09-12-2007, 08:32 PM
Went down to another shop here on the Goldie today with the intentions of finally getting the rod. They had two focelights there in the size i wanted and looked nice on the tip etc,

.....however, I had a look at the guides and both rods had at least one guide that wasnt straight!!! not minimal but really obvious as soon as you looked at it.

:(

really losing faith in loomis now,

Hardb8
09-12-2007, 10:02 PM
Hi Yella,
The warranty on Destroyers lasts only one year after the purchase date,And replacement will only be honoured if it is found to be a manufacturing fault.

I'm told that rods shipped out of Japan would not be covered,But the guy in Japan who sends me mine said he could work around it for me :D .

This warranty system may have changed scince Frogleys are now importing and distributing them in Australia.Not sure though.

My m8 told me that the Tackle Warehouse had the base model Destroyers in and on the shelf,And were retailing at $795 :o .Hate to see the price of an FTi or a DTi model :o :o :o .

Kyle and I went Jackin on the weekend and Kyle had the privilage of puttin a nice little Dog Bream (40 cm) over a Destroyer I sold him.It is a rod from thier base range,And the model name is :- Power Griffon,And it turned the poor little bloke on the spot ;D .Awsome rod.

Don't forget to get in touch with Wheezer here on Ausfish if ya considerin a custom.He makes a fine lookin stick indeed,That would be customised to you,And your requirements;) .

Regards. B8.:)

Flattie Assassin
10-12-2007, 06:37 AM
Went down to another shop here on the Goldie today with the intentions of finally getting the rod. They had two focelights there in the size i wanted and looked nice on the tip etc,

.....however, I had a look at the guides and both rods had at least one guide that wasnt straight!!! not minimal but really obvious as soon as you looked at it.

:(

really losing faith in loomis now,

I wonder what is going on with all these reports of guides being out on the GLoomis. I've checked mine thoroughly and it's fine. All the ones iv'e looked at have been fine. Pays to look a rod over really hard i guess.

yellahunter
10-12-2007, 07:48 AM
i dont know why all the forcelights ive seen are dodge,
anyone who wants Goldy and check out the guides on the 724C models

the destroyers sound good but dunno about a rod that much $$ without a long warranty.

Roo
10-12-2007, 10:04 AM
I don't understand the obsession with warranty. Surely the Quality of the product, its performance and ability to meets your needs is far more important than a warranty!! the Expiditor service is like a buying program to me. Once your in and you start breaking rods....you gotta keep replacing them to make it worthwhile, Gotcha.....hook line and sinker.:-/ Perhaps that's a bit pessimistic but for the life of me i don't get it why the warranty or replacement service is the major factor in your purchase. A lot of High Quality, both cheap and expensive, rods do not have the warranty system that G.loomis has yet there seems to be no shortage of punters who put there money down for them knowing that, at the very least, they have bought the product to meets their needs. not a warranty.;)

cheers Roo.

bass-pirate
10-12-2007, 02:42 PM
I don't understand the obsession with warranty. Surely the Quality of the product, its performance and ability to meets your needs is far more important than a warranty!! the Expiditor service is like a buying program to me. Once your in and you start breaking rods....you gotta keep replacing them to make it worthwhile, Gotcha.....hook line and sinker.:-/ Perhaps that's a bit pessimistic but for the life of me i don't get it why the warranty or replacement service is the major factor in your purchase. A lot of High Quality, both cheap and expensive, rods do not have the warranty system that G.loomis has yet there seems to be no shortage of punters who put there money down for them knowing that, at the very least, they have bought the product to meets their needs. not a warranty.;)

cheers Roo.

Yea it seems a bit off to me too...... you buy a rod cause its nice, it casts well, feels good in your hand... and is nice to play a fish out with..... that is EXACTLY why i dont understand why people waste there money on gl2's. if you snap your gl2 your going to spend the same amount as buying a new raider just on the expeditor program alone. When people buy a gl2 you are simply paying the extra for the little g.loomis logo and that is about it. Cause they are no better then a rack raider or a berkley dropshot..... if your buying a loomis get a good one like an imx or glx..... they are a really light sensitive rod that are a pleasure to use.... If you look after a rod that is fairly good to begin with (raider or dropshot upwards) you wont need a warranty service anyway. Rods dont snap themselves. But if your not within the budget of say a glx, imx or even a gl3 then you should probably look elsewhere and save yourself the dollars for the same performance... this is just my opinion anyway

Flattie Assassin
10-12-2007, 03:13 PM
I don't understand the obsession with warranty. Surely the Quality of the product, its performance and ability to meets your needs is far more important than a warranty!! the Expiditor service is like a buying program to me. Once your in and you start breaking rods....you gotta keep replacing them to make it worthwhile, Gotcha.....hook line and sinker.:-/

cheers Roo.

I agree when it comes to the cheaper loomis rods. But if you spend $500 on the rod of a lifetime, It's nice to know if it gets broke it's only gonna cost a cpl hundred to replace. And yes the quality of the rod is awesome as. Which is the reason i spent so much to begin with.
All win for me. Maybe not so with the gL2 etc.

yellahunter
10-12-2007, 06:30 PM
i guess the warranty is important due to the fact your forking out hundreds of $$ as opposed to say $99 for a raider. The performance, feel and build are the number 1 priority thus why ive had soo much trouble getting a forcelight but the reason i wanted loomis did have a lot to do with the warranty

I think i might even go for a raider.

what do you guys think...?

i spoke to a guy re a gl2 today which i could get for around $260 but is it worth the extra $160 over a raider or are u just paying for the logo...?

any more tips are much appreciated

NOjacks
10-12-2007, 07:01 PM
hey yella

go have a look at the new t curve with the recoil guides there in the price your lookin at designed by Ian miller very nice a mate has the one were the guides curl around the rod
he uses it for bass ive had a go a few times its bloody nice

NOjacks

Flattie Assassin
10-12-2007, 07:33 PM
I don't know if i'd go that far. I've fished Nuggs GL2, and it's got a nicer action then my Tcurve 2-5kg. I don't know what the raiders are like so can't comment. Buy a GLX or Bronzeback or similar, if you are chasing something a little extraordinary. The top end loomis rods are the dope. You can feel every pebble on the bottom so to speak. I was dumbfounded at the sensitivity. Certainly a big step up from the Tcurves.

Hardb8
10-12-2007, 08:39 PM
Hi Yella,
Might be able to help ya out with a Destroyer cheap if ya intrested?

Let me know.

Cheers. B8.;)