View Full Version : Recommendations Please
14-11-2007, 08:02 PM
I am after suggestions for what type of rod and reel for trying to catch a snapper in the Bay??????? never caught one in my life but ya never know what lady luck might do.
Spiero
14-11-2007, 08:22 PM
Well i use a shimano baitrunner 6500 on a 7 foot rod, thinks its rated 10kg, seems to do the trick nicely
bayfisher
14-11-2007, 08:27 PM
hmmm... A Very open ended question that may require some more details. Also there's no doubt every one will have a different option. I have seen every thing from 1000 size spin reels to tld30's being used to catch bay snapper. Will you be fishing bait or plastic?. Deep water or the bay shallows? Most spin reels between the 2000 to 4000 should do just fine as long as they have a decent drag. Most snapper in the bay are not the hard fighting monsters they are made to be and 12lb gear pulls them up pretty easily.
Cheers Chris
14-11-2007, 09:00 PM
Need to know some details
Are you going to fish bait or plastic fantastics?
How much do you want to spend?
Are you intending to fish the shallow reefs eg Mud/Green ior hit the wrecks and deeper shipping channel areas
Let us know a bit more
14-11-2007, 09:03 PM
Need to know some details
Are you going to fish bait or plastic fantastics? mainly bait
How much do you want to spend? doesn't matter on that front
Are you intending to fish the shallow reefs eg Mud/Green ior hit the wrecks and deeper shipping channel areas both I guess
Let us know a bit more
Neil..I will be trying anywhere in the Bay
14-11-2007, 09:50 PM
Greg,
Best asking Webby i reckon but from what ive figured out so far, I reckon something easy and relaxing to soak that bait would be a shimano baitrunner 4500 with a 6-10kg rod with 8-10kg mono... have a look at those Daiwa Snapper boat rods, they do a 10kg job, thats what ill be getting next for a lighter rod as i have the bigger baitrunner 6500 on a Daiwa Snapper 15kg rod and very happy with that, its a bit heavy for the bay but not a bad allrounder,
Reckon you cant go past those baitrunner's
mike
2DKnBJ
14-11-2007, 10:16 PM
Greg,
Best asking Webby i reckon but from what ive figured out so far, I reckon something easy and relaxing to soak that bait would be a shimano baitrunner 4500 with a 6-10kg rod with 8-10kg mono... have a look at those Daiwa Snapper boat rods, they do a 10kg job, thats what ill be getting next for a lighter rod as i have the bigger baitrunner 6500 on a Daiwa Snapper 15kg rod and very happy with that, its a bit heavy for the bay but not a bad allrounder,
Reckon you cant go past those baitrunner's
mike
Don't go asking Webby you know he will laugh at you if you said you were actually going fishing.
The outfit that mike has talked about would be a good starter not only for the bay snapps but for plenty of other work in the bay.
Better still get Roz cracking on another rod building weekend at your place and maybe someone could build you your very own custom made Snappa Stick
Cheers Dazza
15-11-2007, 06:02 AM
Greg, the BTR outfit will suit your needs but think about a slightly lighter rod perhaps or if you want to dabble in SP's as well then a 4000 size threadline on something like a Shimano Snapper Raider or its equivelant in other brands and some 6-10kg braid would work anywhere in the Bay.
If you wanted a lighter outfit for the shallows then a 2500 size reel and a 2-4kg 7' rod with 4kg GSP would do the trick;D .
I reckon all of the brands in a price range are pretty close to each other so pick one that feels the best balanced outfit. You certainly do not need high performance gear to grab a few Snapps and a lot of mine have been caught on a $60.00 Tica and $20 Shakespeare rod:o .
Even your faithfull old Alvey Bream gear can do some damage in the shallow reef areas;)
15-11-2007, 06:04 AM
Hi Greg,
I picked up a Shimano Starlo Styx Squidgie Snapper H 7' earlier this year, lovely rod and reasonably priced at around $100. I have it matched to a Penn 560 liveliner slammer and loaded with 24kg braid and use it for offshore plastics in the deeper stuff. Its a fast taper, heaps of grunt through the mid section of the rod, with nice tip and sensitive feel for those fickle ones.
I'd reckon it would be an excellent combo for bay use but I'd probably tone the breaking strain down to 10kg.
The reason I've gone the Penn slammer liveliner over the Shimano BTR series is with the oversized drag of the Penn Slammer series you can get more drag out over the shimano baitrunner for when you need it.
15-11-2007, 12:07 PM
Ah Destiney awaits you.......Mate start off with a 12-15kg then half that, then half that again and there the two rods you need, and both in the 7-7.5ft range ineither PCB or Graphite. the Reel for the first you wouldnt go past a 4500 bait runner, for the second something like a Symetre 3000 or sedona or sustain.
Or theres a lot dearer reels in the same sizes as above.
Now what bait do i use, P&%$#%$+ or the stuff that bleeds.
Now you have all this fancy gear and rite bait, you just have to find them there Snapper.
15-11-2007, 12:41 PM
What's PCB??
I seem to have lost track of what's what after Tonkin cane :(
15-11-2007, 12:49 PM
Ah Destiney awaits you.......Mate start off with a 12-15kg then half that, then half that again and there the two rods you need, and both in the 7-7.5ft range ineither PCB or Graphite. the Reel for the first you wouldnt go past a 4500 bait runner, for the second something like a Symetre 3000 or sedona or sustain.
Or theres a lot dearer reels in the same sizes as above.
Now what bait do i use, P&%$#%$+ or the stuff that bleeds.
Now you have all this fancy gear and rite bait, you just have to find them there Snapper.
does a carton of black cans get a few hints???? LOL
15-11-2007, 02:36 PM
does a carton of black cans get a few hints???? LOL
Why not just take the man on another GOM only tour of the bay??
He'll have to show you then and also the technique.
Might work??? :-/
15-11-2007, 02:47 PM
Just remembered Greg.
What the rating of that you lil' ripper u-beaut bream rod of yours??
I mean what is a snapper??? It's just an overgrown bream (hopefully) with a smidge of sunburn isn't it???
16-11-2007, 08:56 AM
I was thinking the same as Webby. I use small light gear chasing them around the Islands. My reels are 2500, but something around 3000 or maybe up to 4000 in a good Shimano would be more versatile. I saw another post saying that tackleworld are selling the older model sustain for around $200.00. Give them a call and if they have any left, get a 3000. You can load up with a decent size braid and is good for any snap you will encounter.
I also have a 4500 baitrunner. Never use it in the bay for snapper because I only fish the islands, but when I fish the deeper water floating baits for Macks, or if I was to fish the deeper water for snapper, then that is a perfect reel. I also use it for floaters offshore. Great reel.