View Full Version : Quality Jack By-Catch
Creek Vermin
12-11-2007, 04:47 PM
Have been chasing some jacks lately for some good results, but havent landed one over fifty for a while. Theres been some big bust ups and plenty of pulled hooks, but thats jack fishing for ya. Have also been getting a bit of by-catch with the odd flatty, bream and even some tarpon showing up but todays session produced the best so far. This grunter took a 4 inch powerbait in about 2 feet of water next to big tree. The prick of a thing hit like a jack and pulled like a jack but didn't throw the towel in like a jack! Pretty impressive. Wish there a few more it's size gettin around brissie. Cheers... Keith
marty+jojo
12-11-2007, 04:57 PM
Nice grunter mate, they sure do go hard...and they are dam good on the dinner plate too.
Marty.
richieboy
12-11-2007, 05:16 PM
Mixing it up with some great bycatches mate. Whtey and I were chatting about you on the drive up this arvo. ;)
Richie
ffejsmada
12-11-2007, 05:25 PM
Nice fish Keith, there's been a few tarpon kickin around.
There seems to be plenty in all estuary systems at the moment.
Cheers Jeff.
yellahunter
12-11-2007, 05:32 PM
nice bycatch there mate,
just about as good as a big jack
Flattie Assassin
12-11-2007, 05:49 PM
Awesome bycatch..
2DKnBJ
12-11-2007, 06:53 PM
I would be happy with a bycatch like that each time i wet a line.
Very nice grunter.
Cheers Dazza
Benny01
12-11-2007, 07:01 PM
i like your efforts to conceal fishing spot :P
youngy
12-11-2007, 07:06 PM
Nice fish Keith they have started to turn up down here to but not that big. YOUNGY
loophole
12-11-2007, 07:14 PM
nice fish and good catch from that system
Keechie
12-11-2007, 07:22 PM
congratulations i am just wondering has anybody pulled any jacks from pine river lately or around brisbane.
regards,
keechie
Didley
12-11-2007, 07:31 PM
Love that Grunter, never seen one that big before. That looks like the same spot U got the big jack, but late in the day, I see the night is closing in. Where was it again, not up the passage , but...........?;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
nuggstar
12-11-2007, 07:33 PM
awsome vermin, ya lucky bugga hehe
Pistol_P
12-11-2007, 07:53 PM
Nice by catch....8-)
I have only ever caught small grunter in the Noosa River.....Never seen one that big here..:-/
jackextracter
12-11-2007, 09:16 PM
nice fish mate all the big grunter i have caught seem to go hard but they run away from the snag instead of them trying to brick ya.
geoff72
13-11-2007, 02:24 PM
Bloody great grunter mate,havent seen one that big before,awesome bycatch,good stuff.
Dark invader
14-11-2007, 07:34 AM
hey creek was just wondering why ya were hiding the backgound on ya great pics, all those mangrove lined creeks around the southern end of the passage look mostly the same any how, I see ya zipping around there all the time I have seen in about three different little creeks in the last couple of weeks. I am sure it is you a smallish person with a yellow thing in hand and a big grin, next time i drive past i might stop and sample one of those yellow things to see if can improve my fishing
Cheers Darky:P
Creek Vermin
14-11-2007, 07:29 PM
G'day darky. Mate I only blocked that pic cause I'm sick of people telling me I'm not catching the fish where I say. They must spend a lot of time up the creeks in the passage if they can pick a spot from some mangroves. Theres a lot of creeks between bells and ningi. Next time you see me I'm sure I'll have a spare yellow grinner you can have. So pop over and have a chat. Cheers Keith