View Full Version : Shoo Roo
11-11-2007, 05:25 PM
I have one of these little gadgets mounted on the bull bar of my truck, One was missing when I bought it.
I'm driving to Melbourne by the newell just after christmas and really do NOT want an encounter with a roo, or any other wildlife.
Question is, Do these things work and is it worth me getting a replacement?
They're meant to, under speed with the airflow, send out ultrasonic sound waves to warn wildlife that you're approaching, preventing a collision.
This means only the deaf or truly stupid ones have a possibility of getting hit.
Anyone swear by these little gadgets?
loophole
11-11-2007, 05:54 PM
mate i dont belive they work better spending your money on a bullbar
11-11-2007, 06:16 PM
dave if your talking about those little blac "cone" shape thingies,,,,, i'm sure there is a box of em at work,,,,,
pm me your address and i'll post som your way,,,
they must work loophole,,,, haven't spotted a roo around work in years,,,,,,
11-11-2007, 06:28 PM
Loophole, allready have a steel TJM bullbar, this is what they are mounted on.
Chop, thankyou very much, PM on its way.
11-11-2007, 06:45 PM
I have them on the motor cycle and haven't hit a roo yet.
I've hit an eagle going from Alice Springs to Tennant Creek and a kookaburra just between Kyogle and Casino but never a roo so for me they're working :)
Wahoo
11-11-2007, 07:31 PM
mate i dont belive they work better spending your money on a bullbar
hi Loophole
i really think they do work, i have 2 on my boat and hav'nt hit a roo yet ;D :P
jez and suze
11-11-2007, 07:44 PM
i had them on my suzuki and i named them "roo callers" because as soon as i put them on i had near misses left,right and center.
11-11-2007, 08:07 PM
They dont work. A company I worked for insisted on roo scaring devices, i think they attracted roos. I managed to destroy a few hilux utes with these things on.
12-11-2007, 05:42 AM
i had them on my suzuki and i named them "roo callers" because as soon as i put them on i had near misses left,right and center.
ahhhhhh i know why,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
you put em on back to front,,,,,,, the pointy bit has to face towards the rear of the car;D ;D ;D
i'm calling into work this morning dave,,,,, i'll grab a couple for ya and send em down
12-11-2007, 06:31 AM
G'day Dave,
If you are talking about the little plastic cone shaped dooveys that stick on with double sided tape, they are worth having in my opinion. I've had them on the harley and the 4by for western trips. My experience has been good. They don't scare the Roo, but get them to stand up so you can see them and they can hear and see you. Nothing worse than not seeing an animal and having them jump out when startled. They are a cheap bit of insurance too.
If you're talking about the electronic impulse gadget that sends a supersonic sound wave down the road. I considered a unit when I rode to Darwin a few years back. We went out from Brisvegus via St George to Cunnamulla, my daughter counted 876 road kill between Cunnamulla and Charleville...it really stunk. They are an expensive unit and when I checked into it I heard all they do is scare the animal and make them run harder.
The little wind whistles do the job - Contrary to Scott's experience I did notice they cleared the road of bird life which was an added bonus
12-11-2007, 06:50 AM
G'day Rhys
I'm talking about the little black cones, double sided tape applications.
I drove out to bunya mountains back in september, and had no worries, even belting up the many km's of gravel road up the mountain at night. Did run right over a road kill one though lol.
I've done minimal travel in likely roo territory since i've had the vehicle, but i'm thinking for a few $$, may as well put the bloody things on, for piece of mine at least. Last thing I want on a run to melbourne is a collision. I'll be leaving here about 3am or so on the 27th december and heading out via towoomba, so I'll be travelling in high risk times in the sense.
Rhys, I also saw the flamin riptide around here, and in your front yard, works out I only live over the hill from you.
12-11-2007, 10:28 AM
Well its about time we got together for a thinking session then Dave!;D;D;D
12-11-2007, 01:20 PM
Hey Dave, I used to aim one driving light towards the left a tad to spot the reflections of the eyes.
Seems to work OK.
And if I come across anything alive sitting on the road I used to aim for it.
Chances are it moved someway so when it moved the spot I was aiming for is minus one animal.
I discovered this one night ater hitting 6 skippy's coming back from Leyburn so I gave up the dodging bit and just kept driving straight at them.
12-11-2007, 04:51 PM
Sounds an intellectual session is on the cards rhys,
Scott, I have one spot and one spread beam, the spread is aiming slightly to the left just for that reason. Thanx for the suggestion.
gone_fishing
12-11-2007, 05:13 PM
if youve got them on and havnt hit anything they must work !!
or so they say personally its more good luck than good management
and finga your spot on dont eveer swerve to miss a roo you never know which way the bugger will go better to hit a roo than a tree
and if you going to hit one hit him in the middle the big fellows will roll a car
but best of all try not to hit them at all
12-11-2007, 09:33 PM
Well Dave, I have plenty of thinking liquid in the frig...any time you're welcome
13-11-2007, 05:41 AM
brings back memories..driving down the newell through the Pillaga scrub at 2am...roo came out of nowhere..landed right in front of the drivers side headlight...bent the bullbar...driving lights then aimed at the sky and RH headlight facing downwards...a fun few hours driving till daylight with little light aimed properly. I did not have a shoo roo on...I have seen the front of a bus that had them on..all broken..roo hit them..must not have liked the sound.
steve99
21-12-2007, 10:16 PM
if your worried about hitting a kangaroo my advice would be dont drive at night.
21-12-2007, 10:28 PM
if your worried about hitting a kangaroo my advice would be dont drive at night.
For the most part, i wont be
22-12-2007, 04:07 PM
Hi Guys
I have used them for many years and found they worked but not well over 95 to 100k as the "time to hit" :o was too short.
I always found that the roo that I had to worry about was the second and third in the mob and at slower speeds they were less of a problem as they heard the whistle and propped.
What does seem to lessen Shoo Roos effectiveness is spiders that make them their home!
Both I and the boss found that mice :-* can be a worry on the road, especcially if you have been watching for roos for a few hours and your very tired.
Swerving to miss a roo or a mouse! is frought with danger and even though trees dont jump its still all too easy to hit them especially after a vigorous swerve.
Happy outbacking; personally I'm enjoying not having to worry about that stuff any more.8-)
Merry Xmas to you (s)
PS Pinhead You got to love the Piliger track; especially on a dark nite when its bucketing down, the combination of potholes and a narrow track with trucks is really hard to beat!