View Full Version : Bribie M&G round-up

11-11-2007, 02:24 PM
Firstly, thanks choppa for putting this M&G together.

I have only fished the bottom end of the passage once or twice before, but can see why it is such an attraction. I feel I could do better at night and will attempt this in the not too distant future.

BTW, who turned the fan on ?????? ::) ::) :o

Saturday morning saw the Skanky Hoe crew hit the ramp at 7am and head to The Avon for a session of bait drowning in a deepish hole to the east of the wreck. Rat Bream and not much else. Found Darren looking for his “ drifting “ pots.

We then headed over to a sandbank for a shot at some whiting, but with the big tide current and wind picking up, the options were “ creeks “. Made our way up past Little Goat Island and found some oyster leases where we promptly went about catching rat Bream again…..

Top of the tide and wind increasing, a decision was made to head back to the ramp, via a tour of Pacific Harbour canals. We retrieved the boat had just had to throw a worms from the bank. This produced LuLu’s first ever fish and fish whiting. This also turned out to be a place getter at the weigh-in. Woo Hoo !!!!

WE met up with some old faces and new and had a good chat to all. The Lunch bbq ended up being a nice xxxx gold session that went until my esky was bare… ! After a while back at camp, we headed to the Bowls club for some more ‘ refreshments “.

The wind was howling and this made the decision to pull down the trap easy. The problem now was I didn’t have a fly over the tent, so as the rain was falling, a makeshift mini tarp was occy strapped to the top and all was good. Only minor leaks which were bearable. Sunday morning and more rain, so a quick pack up in between showers saw me back at Brisvegas by lunch time and a cuppa with thedeckie and more viewing of DVD ‘s of Fraser Island… gotta get back there.

Just a couple of pics below.

Grants winning whiting, the BBQ food and LuLu’s whiting place getter.

Tailortaker
11-11-2007, 03:00 PM
Big thanks to choppa for the M&G:laola:
I cant begin to tell you's how sore I am from the bumpy trip home back down the passage:helpa: . My back kills, my kidneys are bruised and my butt hurts :bigcry:
Thanks to Scott (reelscream) for sharing his secret spot up a creek where I caught my only fish for the day (35cm whiting) Well done Choppa you really did a top job and thanks for all the prizes and giveaways..It was great to meet some more members and put faces to names, cant wait for the next M&G.
Cheers Grant.
________
CORVAIR (http://www.chevy-wiki.com/wiki/Chevrolet_Corvair)

11-11-2007, 04:34 PM
glad to hear and see that everyone had a great day,,,, that second pic of phil's shows just how bad the wind was coming through the passage,,, but at least the rain held off for the event bar a early morning cloudburst

i had a relatively short stretch of time to wet a line,,, thinking that the rain was going to hold out i prepared the food in preparation for a damp barbie,,, luckily,, as the council barbies were out of whack anyway,,, (thats the second time!!!!!!)

a big thank you once more for the assistance in getting this thing together from those who raised there hands and didn't need to be asked,,

steve,,,,,col,,,,,grant,,,,,nigel,,,,,,,,,,

:dankk2: :dankk2: :dankk2: :dankk2: :dankk2:

grant took out the first prize with a new shimano boat combo now gracing his collection,,,,, lulu has a new fishing shirt (which she no longer needs to pinch off phil),, tackle gear etc,,,,, and the rest of the stuff was shared around those present,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

i ended up back at the bowls club but was kidnapped by some fellow fisho's who are on the island for the weekend,,, and was dragged away for the rest of the evening,,,, and most of today was kept active with the promise of taking chopjr crabbing/fishing,,,,,,,,,,

to all who made the trip and enjoyed the day,,,,, thanks,,,,, good to see the islanders showing the mainlanders a trick or two,,,,,,,,,,

don't have pics due to no camera at the mo',,,, but undoubtably dazza and ronnie will post there album's soon,,,,

cheers til next time,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, choppa

2DKnBJ
11-11-2007, 07:32 PM
First off a big thank's to Choppa for putting this together and to the people that donated prizes for the day.
Was good to meet a few more ausfishers and catch up with a few old faces.

Even though the weather was not looking good for the day i still packed the gear for outside just in case::) 4.00am saw us on our way and had the boat in the water by 5.00 am.First stop was to drop the pots in.With that done headed outside to see how things were looking.Not the best of conditions but kept going to Skirmish Point to see if there was any surface activity.We had no sooner pulled up and we were joined by 2 rather tame dolphins that were looking for a feed.
Took a few pics then headed back inside to find some fish.
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t306/2DKnB/Fishn%20Pics/2007_1110Image0023.jpg

http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t306/2DKnB/Fishn%20Pics/2007_1110Image0028.jpg
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t306/2DKnB/Fishn%20Pics/2007_1110Image0026.jpg

As we passed our pots i noticed that 3 were missing.With the current screaming through we moved the pots into some shallower water.then on to find the fish.Tried everything and couldn't raise a scale apart from 1 grinner and 1 ray.
Caught up with Phill on the water as i was looking for the missing pots(found 2)a quick chat and we were on our way.
Great view of the Glasshouse mountains
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t306/2DKnB/Fishn%20Pics/2007_1110Image0032.jpg
While fishing couldn't help taking this next pic.Lucky Phill getting wet again:-X
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t306/2DKnB/Fishn%20Pics/2007_1110Image0033.jpg
With the fishing being rather quiet headed down to meet up with everyone and see how they fared with the fish.Congrats to Grant and Louisa for their prize winning fish
Blake and Chop jnr were having a bit of fun on the beach collecting snails and hermit crabs while we were having a few golds and a chat.
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t306/2DKnB/Fishn%20Pics/2007_1110Image0037.jpg
Was time to head off for a bumpy ride back up the passage and pick the pots up.
Tally for the day was 0 fish but 12 of these tasty little suckers
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t306/2DKnB/Fishn%20Pics/2007_1110Image0039.jpg
Once again great to meet a few more ausfishers.Look foward to the next one.

Cheers Dazza

plaztix
12-11-2007, 07:44 AM
Nice feed of sandies....

Is that where all the boats heading South on the gateway were coming from last night?

Saw at least 30 boats in the drive from the gateway bridge to boondall for last nights concert. Couldn't understand why there was so many boats on such a terrible day.

Tailortaker
12-11-2007, 08:26 PM
Nice feed of sandies....

Is that where all the boats heading South on the gateway were coming from last night?

Saw at least 30 boats in the drive from the gateway bridge to boondall for last nights concert. Couldn't understand why there was so many boats on such a terrible day.
They we're probably heading back from the River To Reef at Kawana.....
________
COCAINE REHAB FORUM (http://www.rehab-forum.com/cocaine-rehab/)

plaztix
13-11-2007, 07:50 AM
They we're probably heading back from the River To Reef at Kawana.....

Yeah just read the reports, cheers TT. Didn't think there would have been much fishing done outside on the weekend, but they were all 6m boats.:P:P:P:P the beers were flowing i bet.8-)

reel scream
13-11-2007, 08:58 AM
A big thanks to Choppa and others who put on the day. Great to meat up with some familliar names. As for the weather gods- you know my opinion of you lot. Still a good day though.
Fished up Elimbah creek for only one 27cm whiting and plenty of small bream. Rang Grant and he arrived, anchored on my bow, Cast at the back of my boat (that was the cast that didn't actually land on my motor/battery) and proceeded to get the fish of the day::) . Ah well.
Awfull trip back wind against tide- won't have to worry bout that vasectomy now!

Thanks again to all involved and can't wait for the next.

Cheers Scott.

PS- Thanks to Mr Ausfish for the stickers.

Tailortaker
13-11-2007, 09:01 AM
G'day Scott, I bet you were a bit worse for wear Sunday morning.
________
BLOWJOB TUBE (http://www.####tube.com/categories/13/blowjob/videos/1)

theclick
13-11-2007, 09:54 AM
sorry i couldnt make it, i was shouted a corporate box seat for the cricket, and couldnt refuse :( next one

reel scream
13-11-2007, 06:04 PM
G'day Scott, I bet you were a bit worse for wear Sunday morning.

Even worst monday morning:P ::)

Mrs Ronnie H
14-11-2007, 07:01 PM
Hi Guys

Just like to say thanks Choppa for a great afternoon. The compnay was great and so was the food. Looking forward to some of those recipes from Choppa.

Will post pics soon--- would of taken more on the day but the camera battery died. Geeeeee- wish the wind had of.

Anyway despite the blow there will be another day I'm sure and hopefully next time Grant I'll show you how its done.

Really enjoyed the day and meeting everyone who turned up.

Thanks again one and all and will post pics soon.

Ronnie

Tassie JR
14-11-2007, 07:23 PM
Sorry i missed it felles but ill be at the next one. thanks scott for offering to take me out chasing cobes, by looking at the top pick that lucky phil posted the weather looked terrible with the white caps. And scott we are heading out saturday chasing cobes if the weather stays like it is, so we might see you out there somewhere.

cheers Dan

Mrs Ronnie H
18-11-2007, 11:11 AM
Hi All
Pictures as promised.
Thanks Choppa we really enjoyed ourselves.
When is the next one.???

Is Mission still ago for March

sum