View Full Version : Much Ado About Nothing (Townsville)

Curmudgeon
08-11-2007, 06:32 PM
The latest verse in the Ballad of Brian's Botched Barra Bid

It was with some reservations that I put the little flick stick in the car this morning. This was my first piscatorial (love that word) foray since the barra season closed a week ago.

In my best attempt to target a flathead, I headed out to Palleranda Beach for a look. It was only a quick look. The place just wasn't "speaking" to me. So I back tracked to the casino breakwall, where the waters were calm and crystal clear. Second cast... strike! No hookup. Next cast... a decent barra appeared out of nowhere just as the lure reached my feet... but no strike. That got the heart rate going. A bit further along the wall, I got another good hit and saw a broad flash of silver before the hook came unstuck. Maybe barra, maybe tarpon.

With the wind picking up, I jumped back in the car, swung through kfc for lunch and headed up the river. Bugger me if second cast, I'm not onto a goood barra! Played him out patiently for several minutes before taking the trace to lead him in through the shallow rocks when the hook pulled! Before I could clamber the last two steps to pick him up, he idly paddled back out from whence he'd come. He was a very broad shouldered fish, and every bit of 70cm long. The 2/0 hook had straightened!

Somewhat shaken by this episode, I hastily re-rigged. The drag was backed off half a turn as well, just to look after the wimpy hooks. The very next cast was monstered by a 43cm barra which put up a very good account of himself, before politely posing for a photo and swimming off.

Thinking that I'd just about exhausted this patch of river bank, I was deciding what to do next when I got clobbered again! This big girl didn't get fully airborne when she jumped, but it was more than enough to prove that she was a bigger fish than Mozza's 91cm specimen a few weeks ago. HO-LEE COW! With the fish up and swimming away from the snags, I was well connected and settling in for a mighty battle. Life, it seemed, was good. Moments later, the rod sprang straight. No warning. Just one second, I was connected to a dream barra, next second she was gone. Only half my double came back. Both strands sliced through.

Now in a state of what I can only describe as apoplectic shock, I had to tie a new bimini. My hands were shaking so badly, it took me three attempts to tie it. Nearly fifteen minutes later, I resumed fishing. By this stage, I'd run out of the magic jigheads that had been doing the damage (no, I'm not going to tell you which ones). I tied on a hws jighead as my next best choice and for some reason, changed lure types as well. Didn't that turn out to be a waste of time, as twenty minutes passed for no result. As soon as I switched back to the lure of the day, I was on again! Another big mother of a barra that left a swirl on the surface about as big as a dining table before the 1/0 hook pulled.

Shortly thereafter, I had to call an end to proceedings as I had another appointment to meet.

Without a doubt, that was THE most amazing barra session that I've ever been a part of. To think that it happened smack bang in the middle of Townsville is just staggering. And apart from a photo of a 43cm barra, I have absolutely no proof to show you that it ever happened.

Believe it, or not.

Thanks for reading.

Brian.

Curmudgeon
08-11-2007, 06:36 PM
Here's the photo.

Dr_Dan
08-11-2007, 06:51 PM
Sounds like you had a good trip mate. There is DEFINATELY some big girls hanging around that breakwater.

Lutjanus johnii
08-11-2007, 07:26 PM
Nice post Brian, KFC is a bit out of the way. Don't you like Macca's or Red Rooster.

Maybe you meen way up river?

I have been fishing the Idalia area but I think I might try the Breakwater this weekend. Very Inspirational

Rod Fishing
08-11-2007, 08:02 PM
Dude great report keep them coming

kingkev
08-11-2007, 08:13 PM
good reading

got to love Townsville!

Mozza
09-11-2007, 07:58 AM
Curm.

Great post and a great read. I can't believe I missed your call - I went out on Monday evening to get my last fish in before I head south for 10 days. I was at work and left the frickin' mobile at home.

A day later, I bet the adrenalin is still pumping - going down again today old son?

I look forward to the reports.

Mozza

nuggstar
09-11-2007, 09:14 AM
nice barra well done, love them flickbaits

vinny78
09-11-2007, 01:55 PM
My hat off to you Curmudgeon. You do have the river sussed.
What outfit have you been using most (if indeed you use more than one combo) and what line poundage?

Cheers Andrew.

Fisher4life
09-11-2007, 07:07 PM
Top stuff Brian... sounds like you had a great session down there yestrday.

Was down there this arvo, saw a few good sized barra in shallow around the rocks, but couldn't tempt them, i think the tide must have been too low... will give it a shot tomorrow...

cheers...
Josh

Curmudgeon
10-11-2007, 08:51 AM
I went back again yesterday. Couldn't help myself. Alas, the river was back to "normal" - a few follows from barra that I couldn't convert into strikes, barracuda shredding sp's without hooking up, and a couple of little jacks. Just makes me appreciate the day before even more. I don't think I've got the place totally sussed yet. I feel very, very fortunate to have been in the right place at the right time the other day.

Andrew: My weapon of choice in the river is a Shimano Symetre 2500 on a 7ft graphite stick with 4kg braid and 10kg fluorocarbon trace. And no, I don't expect to stop too many metre plus barra on that outfit, but I don't come across that many.

Brian.

And yeah, for what it's worth, I like kfc. :D