View Full Version : Guide To Maroochy River - Part Two

keenfisha
07-11-2007, 07:15 PM
Hi again.

1: Motorway bridge has newly been expanded so now there are two bridges across the river. Good for a score of butter bream and your estuary species (flathead, whiting, bream).

2: The rockwall along Oyster Bank Road has been productive lately. Earlier today I was fishing here and managed to catch a happy moment, which I avoided touching with my bare hands. A mixed bag once again a lot of Tarwhine, whiting, bream and flathead during the day and at night jewfish, cod and trevally.

3: The mangroves just north of the Eudlo Creek entrance produce nice-sized flathead, whiting and bream. At night-time mangrove jack are biting here.

4: Just inside Eudlo Creek during low tide can be worked for fresh yabbies as live bait.

5: The Petrie Creek bridge south of Bli Bli is ideal for crabbing and estuary species. Also well-known as a hotspot for mangrove jack during the night. Be mindful there are a lot of snags to get caught up on around this bridge.

Keenfisha :)

63eh
07-11-2007, 08:24 PM
good info cheers

salmonjoe
08-11-2007, 10:14 AM
I would like to thank you for this useful info on the Maroochy River. I arrive next week, from Vancouver Island in Canada, to stay at Cotton Tree until March and hopefully will be spending many hours fishing in this area. These maps and comments will definitely help. I did spend some time fishing in Pumicestone Passage a couple years ago and managed to catch whiting. bream, a couple flathead, and one queenie. If anyone is looking for a fishing partner I would be very happy to tag along.

stack
08-11-2007, 10:43 AM
GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We spend hours finding the good spots only to have them aired all over the place.

Thanks For Nothin
Stack

ollie1
08-11-2007, 04:13 PM
im with you on that one stack . anyone else feel like giving up details on specific areas for catching jacks :P . didn't think so! Lol...( i know your trying to be helpful ). but somethings are better left unsaid ;) :) .

keenfisha
08-11-2007, 05:38 PM
Hey.

To all those attacking me let me just say: Hooked On Paradise. Yes, this magazine highlights all good spots in more detail and for a wider area. Stay tuned for GUIDE TO MAROOCHY RIVER - PART THREE. ;)

Keenfisha.

marty+jojo
08-11-2007, 05:57 PM
GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We spend hours finding the good spots only to have them aired all over the place.

Thanks For Nothin
Stack

These are not the only places in the river where jacks are caught, like he says it is a guide. Get over it. Jacks can be caught from the mouth to the upper reaches, he has only mentioned a couple of extremely well known spots that are heavily fished....
Marty.

sandbankmagnet
08-11-2007, 08:29 PM
I grew up in this area 30 years ago and if you think he's given away secret spots, you've got your hand on it. These are all well know by locals. I mean.... the Motorway bridge? C'Mon! I'll go a step further and say the reason why spot 2 fires is an underground pipe that flows out. Find that on the sounder.

He's missed a couple of gun flathead, whiting and jack spots that I know of.

Good on you for sharing.

Flattie Assassin
09-11-2007, 01:20 PM
LOL pretty lame way to earn a few thanks. :gorgeous: Its like a complete rip of this book i've been reading. :wut: Each for there own i guess.

stack
09-11-2007, 05:45 PM
Google earth is available to anyone who wants to use it but that doesnt mean they should be doing all the hard work for those who show no iniative.I know these are readilly known spots but where do you draw the line when the throngs of weekenders who flock to the coast can just pull up to a couple of the other spots now circled on a pic that they just drove by at 20knots pissing me off regularly!!!!

Stack

sandbankmagnet
09-11-2007, 06:39 PM
they would probably get the same advice when they bought their bait.

Flattie Assassin
09-11-2007, 06:56 PM

Not the point at all. That is still a word of mouth type of thing. Different to posting maps of google earth on the web. And taken from a book as well. Poor form. Tssk Tssk Booo!! Hiss!! ;D

gaintsquid
09-11-2007, 09:14 PM
keenfisha you are a good bloke for sharing this usefull information, just ignore all the selfish people having a go at you :)

Flattie Assassin
10-11-2007, 03:02 AM
Booo!!! Hissss!!! :P

Lapras
10-11-2007, 03:54 AM
You could say that posting locations in this form is really no different than specifying the lure or SP. For someone like me who needs all the help he can get it is most appreciated.

There is a chance however that by giving locations, and particularly accurate locations using GPS or Google maps, that one day you turn out to fish and someone else is standing or floating in your favourite spot - there is a big difference between that and a secret lure which never has a direct impact.

Maybe just make your circles twice as big - half the fun is finding the fish.

sandbankmagnet
10-11-2007, 07:06 AM
Not the point at all. That is still a word of mouth type of thing. Different to posting maps of google earth on the web. And taken from a book as well. Poor form. Tssk Tssk Booo!! Hiss!! ;D

It's all just information that anyone posts on here. Bait/Lure, line class, time, location, tide, moon phase etc. I would say this info would be helpful for beginners in the area, as has been indicated by some.

Internet is one form of communication. Books like Hooked in Paradise are another. Bait and tackle shops another.

I know of heaps of spots in SEQ, but if you're not there at the right time with the right bait, you'll miss out.

As I've said, if you think he's spoilt your secret location, you've got your hand on it, or you are young and haven't had a chance to explore the area, which I think may be the case hence he's spoilt your "beginner's locations". I know 4 better producing spots on map 2 that he hasn't touched.

Next time someone posts a report from the cod hole though, you get up them hey. ::) It'll be our secret where that is........

keenfisha
10-11-2007, 11:58 AM
I don't mind upsetting two people to help many. I recommend everyone reads Hooked on Paradise. A very good magazine. Also by making fishing spots available to everyone it means that when the fishermen from brisbane or GC or Cairns comes to the Sunny Coast they have a productive fishing session instead of missing out. It's only fair that this information is shared. I'm working on GUIDE TO MAROOCHY RIVER- PART THREE so stay tuned for it.

Keenfisha :)

Tropicaltrout
10-11-2007, 02:59 PM

True words sbm, any bait shop on the coast would do the same thing they are all on the net or have print outs and simply do the same thing. nothing wrong with this post at all.

Secret Spots are the ones you never share with anyone:-X and if these are your secret spots well hey they are very popular secrets ::) that have not been kept well so get another.;)

childers
10-11-2007, 03:43 PM
thanks keenfisha,great job i hardly ever get to sunshine coast but great refrence when we get up there for a weekend or so,cheers.

stack
10-11-2007, 03:59 PM
I`m not inexpierenced or a beginner I`ve spent hours and plenty of time over the last 15yrs finding my spots.The thing that worries me is some of the best spots may be revealed to those who don`t know how to go about finding the quality fish in the river.As for magazines naming spots just take a leaf out of the surfing fraternity on how they handle the issue!!!!

Stack

10-11-2007, 04:42 PM
C'mon guys it's one thing to know a location but another to know the times they fire or techniques used to extract the fish.

mangrove dan
10-11-2007, 09:00 PM
How long will spots stay productive for if posted- and people are going straight to these locations, without doing some leg work and finding there own spots.

I know i would rather explore and find somewhere that would hold fish. we need to think how long it took us to discover our own patch of fish.

Dan.

ontourf
10-11-2007, 10:19 PM
Good on ya Keen Fisher. I thought one of the key reasons for setting up this website was sharing information. If anyone else prefers to access information by using this website (why else would they use it) but not share anything (except info so general it is useless), that is up to them. They have their reasons.

But they should not criticise others for doing so, who, in my view are simply following the principles of this website.

The sooner we fishos pull together in support the better, otherwise the greens and anti-fishing lobby will ensure all spots are off limits in the future.

So I say thanks, although I won't be using them, as I know what joy sharing good spots can be, especially to beginners/kiddies.

matt morris
21-11-2007, 05:53 PM
gday keenfisha,thanks for good info mate, been in the area for about 2 years and are always lookin for new spots to wet a line,i haven't got meself a boat as yet but enjoy fishin from the bank. we love catching whiting and am gonna grab meself a yabbie pump shortly,and was just wonderin if ya could steer me towards some good whiting spots,although i know they should be pretty much everwhere. any info will be appreciated thankyou, n tight lines! lookin forward to part 3!!!;)