View Full Version : Estuary Perch! EP's

swaters
06-11-2007, 07:12 PM
i am so facinated on these fish. i have caught the odd ep's spinning for bream and havent really targeted them but am really keen to target them next time i am on the water. me and my mate usually go up river for bream and catch them in deep snags.

any tips on what workes for you and if u have had anysuccess latly, lure tips would be great and what time of year to target these ep's.

and tips would be great even attach a photo of your ep's would be great.

i have had success on these fish with the softies rackgliders ( best lure ) in pumpkinseed.

stuart

marty+jojo
06-11-2007, 07:36 PM
Hey Stuart,
Welcome to Ausfish.
Hey are those rackgliders any good? Hahahaha.
Marty.

Pistol_P
06-11-2007, 07:37 PM
EP's are a great little fish and like you said mate are fascinating.
They take some working out too so you have done well to find them.
In the summer months you will find them up in the brackish waters in snags and one of their favorite haunts is rocky banks and cliffs.In winter they move down to the salt to breed and become slightly easier to find.
They love bridge pylons and you can do well at night particularly on small prawn soft plastics.
We used to catch EP's in the Woronora river which is south of Sydney.
One other thing mate....wherever you find EP's you will find Jew.

Heres a pic of one I got in the Woronora river.

swaters
06-11-2007, 07:43 PM
yeah thats a solid ep pete, an awsome one at that
i will take that in mind, yeah in the summer months is when we usually get them that would make alot of sense, and when we release them cause they r such an old fish and i hate keeping them we usually catch them on the same snag, great fish.

marty+jojo, the softies rackgliders is the best lure i have ever used and my mates have used i just love them and i strongly reccomend u get your hands on them

the only store i have found that sells that brand of lure is freddy's fishing world, u can find them everywhere, they are sponsered by maple, they make some good rods.

thanks for the reply fellas cheers

Daniel_603
07-11-2007, 04:38 PM
Nice Eps
I found that i would get them up the back of creeks in summer but mainly smaller ones then through winter up into the salty water.
Newcastle Harbour is an awesome spot to fish for them there so many pilons docks ,moored boats. I have found the larger ones tend to sit deeper in the water column try some heavily scented plastics like Gulp 3 inch minnows or shrimps in bright colours like mango ripple.

Mozza
09-11-2007, 07:54 AM
Hi guys,

Nice fish.

I'm a little confused: according to Grants EP's are the same as Aussie Bass. Is that true? It appears to me the way you speak about them they are in fact a different species.

Mozza

Pistol_P
09-11-2007, 09:10 AM
Hey Mozza,

No they are a different species although VERY closely related.
The one distinguishing feature between the two is that the EP's have a sharper slope on the head which you can see in the photos.

Fish_gutz
09-11-2007, 11:23 AM
well well ya learn something new every day. I`ve never seen one before! cheers for the post.

swaters
09-11-2007, 04:59 PM
no worries, i am yet to catch a bass
hahah

Mozza
10-11-2007, 12:15 PM
Thanks guys,

You wouldn't have the latin/scientific names would you? I'm interested in reading up a bit more about them.

Mozza