View Full Version : Grey suit fun at the Pin...plus id please?

frankgrimes
04-11-2007, 08:20 PM
Apologies for the convoluted post ;)

Early start on Sat. morn(4am) with the hope of avoiding the dreaded northerlies did not eventuate...our plan to hit scottish prince, then a few of the closer reefs was thwarted(3.8mt tinnie).....executive decision was made to motor to the pin...theory was there, but the fuel on board was not! Had to wait around at Jacobs well and replenish our fuel supplies(And beer!) before going any further!
9am, we wet our lines along timbers....not much action besides a 40cm lizard on plastics and things went very quite for an hour, so I suggested we venture further towards the centre of the channel and closer to the bar entrance...anchored up, and thought I’d throw out a 30cm slimey on my new overhead(Saltist 50h on live fibre 15kg...hoping a grey suit would be present)....within 5 minutes, my overheads ratchet was screaming.....def. shark, and with only 50lb leader, I knew the inevitable ping would occur...10 minute fight, was a massive fish, but he busted me off! Pissed off big time! With no more slimey's, had to resort to a pillies….15 minutes later, my 50h is screaming again!! Took it real easy this time(No wire…still only 50lb leader)…20 minute fight(which at times I def thought he was a ray), bought up a 1.5mt shark(Whaler or bully? The eye threw me…white with black stripe?)…great fish to break in the new rod+reel!

We got 3 more really good runs in the next hour, all resulted in bust offs(wire is def. required next time!!)

All up, bloody fantastic day out….can’t complain with 5 big runs from sharks in 3 hours in daylight!

Hoping someone can provide a positive id on the shark.

sandbankmagnet
04-11-2007, 08:55 PM
Well you know more than me. I thought a bronze whaler and a bully were the same species.

bennykenny
04-11-2007, 09:07 PM
cant be sure through the photo, cant make out gills or any other different features but form the tinge of bronze id posibly say bronze whaler, all the bullies ive caught havent really had that,and the heads look a bit different, seem to be a bit flatter on the bullies

the gecko
05-11-2007, 06:34 AM
Hi Frank,
How often would you get a 3.8 tinnie out to the scottish prince and close reefs? Did you get the slimies at the prince and motor all the way to the pin? Thats a lot of work in a tinnie. What size engine is it?

Ive had a few gos in my 4.1 side console, and Im pretty picky about conditions. Gotta be low swell and under 10 kts for me.

The shark looks like fun tho. Well done on a few hits. I bet youll take wire and spare fuel next time.

Flattie Assassin
05-11-2007, 06:49 AM
go grimesy...

frankgrimes
05-11-2007, 08:35 AM
Hi Frank,
How often would you get a 3.8 tinnie out to the scottish prince and close reefs? Did you get the slimies at the prince and motor all the way to the pin? Thats a lot of work in a tinnie. What size engine is it?

Ive had a few gos in my 4.1 side console, and Im pretty picky about conditions. Gotta be low swell and under 10 kts for me.

The shark looks like fun tho. Well done on a few hits. I bet youll take wire and spare fuel next time.

Hey Andrew,

We pick our days, but can usually sneak out to bait reef/scottish to grab a few yakkas/slimies every fortnight or so.....then out to the 12s(if the conditions permit)...if it gets to blowy(Above 10knts), we'll hit the Seaway.....Seaway hasn't been fishing too good of late, so I've been going up to the Pin.....I find it far more productive(Even though it's a fair hike up there and back!)....better option would be to launch from Jacobs Well, but be careful with your car there...been told there's been a few break-ins of late.

I always take some frozen slimies or yakkas with......just in case I can't get any livies.

Yeah the sharks were awesome fun....hehe I shot down to bcf yesterday arvo and stocked up on wire ;D

Tinnies got a 30 on it.

frankgrimes
05-11-2007, 08:54 AM
Well you know more than me. I thought a bronze whaler and a bully were the same species.

Hey mate - Same family...bully is often confused with the bronze whaler.

Bully is Carcharhinus leucas
Bronze Whaler is carcharhinus brachyurus

geoff72
05-11-2007, 12:14 PM
well done mate,that would have been awesome fun,you seem to be hitting the pin a bit now,looks to be paying off,good way to break in the new gear to.

frankgrimes
05-11-2007, 12:33 PM
well done mate,that would have been awesome fun,you seem to be hitting the pin a bit now,looks to be paying off,good way to break in the new gear to.

Thanks Geoff....yeah, there's far less traffic up there compared to broadwater/seaway....especially on weekends.....beautiful spot too!

We'll have to catch up for a fish soon mate - been a while!

the gecko
05-11-2007, 02:13 PM
Yes, the seaway was poor for me last week too. I couldnt get a hit on a live yakka or slimie in 2 hours off the nth wall hole.

ANdrew