View Full Version : Nuclear chicken price rise

timddo
03-11-2007, 08:15 PM
About two weeks ago i brought 10 packets of nuclear chickens for $7.15 each 7inch jerk shads. Now it's $8.95. Seems like a big jump in prices.b

03-11-2007, 08:20 PM
Yeh Tim,

I noticed he same, MO has gottn a litte greedy. Can buy locally for $8.80 so no need to buy from them any more :) Although still hard to get em:(

Pistol_P
03-11-2007, 09:11 PM
Doesnt surprise me.....There are guys out there at the moment that would pay $15 a packet at the moment....It is in such demand its not funny!
We had one guy drive from Rainbow just to get the last of our stock the other day.....He bought $300 worth of Gulp....:o

bustastu
03-11-2007, 09:49 PM
Pete:

Where do you work at. Is there a certain time of the month that the suppliers get em in.

I drove around to a few local shops at Caloundra, Kawana and Maroochydore today and no one had any left....

any help would be great.

BS

bayfisher
04-11-2007, 12:14 AM
Is it just the nuke chooks that has gone up or all 7inch jerk shads?.It would be a little amusing if it was just the nuke chook colour, not that it would stop a lot of people from buying them (even if they were double the price). There's no doubt they work, but there are plenty of other colors that work just as well. It appears though that some people wont buy anything else and now it has become a bit of a self fulling prophecy. I also suspect the striking colours play a part. Isn't there a saying about some lures catching more fisherman then fish;D . Keeping in mind that red disappears pretty quick under water, so unless you fishing relatively shallow water i suspect most fish see the nuke chook as green and grey (neutral). However i doubt that green and grey jerk shad would sell as well.

Flattie Assassin
04-11-2007, 06:59 AM
Yer nuc chook. So Sick of hearing the word.. LOL I'm using other colours with same results. I don't think the colour matters at all. Buy one packet of blue pepper neon and tell me you don't get the same results. Or Lime Tiger Or.........

Obi _ Wan
04-11-2007, 04:12 PM
G'Day Guys,
I popped into Tackle World at Sandgate today to top up on Barra gear, while there i noticed that they had a lot of Gulp Nuclear Chicken S.P'S in stock, i think they are at the standard price around $10.99 or something like that a pack.

Obi_Wan

wayneoro
06-11-2007, 06:50 PM
as a reef fisherman that has only ever used bait fresh these lures sound like a good stand by what brand are they colour i got [n chook] do you jig them etc cheers

Fafnir
06-11-2007, 07:34 PM
Brand is Berkley Gulp. Commonly matched with TT Jigheads 1/2ounce, but weight of jighead depends on conditions.

You cast and retrieve them similar to fishing soft plastics in an estuary for bream. Couple of flicks of the rod tip, then take up the slack line, few more flicks, take up the slack etc until you get them back to the surface. Start out using a fairly slow retrieve, but if that fails try speeding it up a bit, or giving longer pauses in between flicks. Flicking the rod tip downwards towards the water will get them skipping up off the bottom.

They commonly get hit on the drop straight after casting so be ready for it. I imagine they would work with no retrieve as well, just like a bait, but retreiving allows you to cover more ground.

06-11-2007, 07:55 PM
About two weeks ago i brought 10 packets of nuclear chickens for $7.15 each 7inch jerk shads. Now it's $8.95. Seems like a big jump in prices.b

Ahhhh ... So thats why the government wants to export more Uraninium .... the higher price of Nuclear Chooks::) ;D ;D ;D .... sorry !,,, Nagg

land-lubber
06-11-2007, 07:56 PM
as far as i know, berkley cnt keep up with demand, we have huge backorders not being filled and are going to bump it up to 100 packs in 7 and 5in

06-11-2007, 08:44 PM
if i was a fish, id want a bit of variety, id be bored stupid seeing nuc chook after nuc chook drifting down in front of my nose, assassins are good, lime tigers are good and so is mullet;D

all im waiting for is a few offshore reports of some blokes using 'a different colour at spot x and then the next stampede will be on, but this time ill resist the temptation to get em, as ive got a bag full of unused placcies to go through first including those nuc chooks ;D

mike

Timmy94
06-11-2007, 08:51 PM
Guys i have been bagging out on 3" Shrimp mate, Caught 6marlin the other day these are awesome u just have to fill up, Forget nuclear chooks these are what u need go and stock up b4 the price rise so i can get some nucie chooks lol.

wayneoro
07-11-2007, 04:12 PM
bcf bought 3 pkts today they buy most of them from the makers

timddo
07-11-2007, 10:16 PM
ebay has 5inch nuck chics for 9.99 adn 9.99 postage. Bargain . i only paid 7.15 and have 10 packs to go through

reidy
08-11-2007, 10:13 AM
Good day all,
$11.95 at my local. (Georgetown Tas)
Reidy

jackextracter
08-11-2007, 01:26 PM
gday, about 3 months back i bought 40 packs of nuc chooks 7inch, 30 packs nuc chook 5 inch 20 packs of camo 7 inch and 10 packs of lime tiger 7inch from MO as i was waiting for them in the mail i looked back online and they had put the prices up i wounder if i had any thing to do with this from buying too many.hahahaha

ps.going on a trip in a week up north i will see how good they are up there.

daledog
08-11-2007, 02:11 PM
I bought a few from mo a while back to about when the price changed, when i checked with them about it the price of $7.15 was actually a special in their catalogue at that time and $8 or $8.95 was the normal price they just went back to and all the gulp prices went up. still not cheapest but i see lots of places with them for 10 bucks so im not to concearned

timddo
08-11-2007, 03:59 PM
gday, about 3 months back i bought 40 packs of nuc chooks 7inch, 30 packs nuc chook 5 inch 20 packs of camo 7 inch and 10 packs of lime tiger 7inch from MO as i was waiting for them in the mail i looked back online and they had put the prices up i wounder if i had any thing to do with this from buying too many.hahahaha

ps.going on a trip in a week up north i will see how good they are up there.

Over $700 in soft plastic, you wife must be kind. :o :o :o :o .

wayneoro
08-11-2007, 07:47 PM
9.50 nc 7in from bcf with the aussi dollar so high this usa product should be cheaper ? when i bought 3 pkts my wife asked me if i was insane fair question i guess lol

jackextracter
08-11-2007, 09:30 PM
Over $700 in soft plastic, you wife must be kind. :o :o :o :o .Ha ha i thought i would take advantage of the cheap price and stock up on them there only going to get more expensive i might sell my left over stuff when i get back im sure they want last to long on here.