View Full Version : Clarence Gorge
gleeeza
30-10-2007, 09:16 PM
Delayed Telecast
Just got back from Wavehill Station on the second week of the school holidays (NSW) and found it hard going. Last time I was there at Easter the place was chockers with fish and you could catch them any time of day if you wanted which works well with the family and she who MUST be obeyed.
This time I got out the goggles and had a peek around to see where they were holding so I didn't loose any of the extremely short bite time (Dusk was the prime time they were less interested in the mornings).
The tadpoles were on the smallish side and the frogs were few and far between so I spent time scoop netting those OS shrimp at night instead of waitng for the trap to fill up with midgets. Job done and a days wait to get into them.
It was well worth the extra effort and wait, in the end we got bites right up to dark and kept a 50cm honker for tea and from the clean water it was beautiful to eat. I am not exactly a freshwater expert and up until recently wasn't even interested in doing it. This has changed though mainly because of the challenge getting into the kind of places I have fished so far and it adds another interest for the kids to go rock climbing and exploring, excellent!!
I would be keen to hear just when the fish turn up back in this part of the river system and what exactly triggers that return. We were out of camera batteries and wasted what we had recording our first family bogging, a major clanger on my part but thats all I am willing to say on that.
Cheers Gleeeza
Leigh77
31-10-2007, 06:59 AM
The tadpoles were on the smallish side and the frogs were few and far between.
I hope you realise that using frogs for bait is ILLEGAL!
This has changed though mainly because of the challenge getting into the kind of places I have fished so far and it adds another interest for the kids to go rock climbing and exploring, excellent!!
Cheers Gleeeza
Take care when hiking the rock walls of the Gorge, I have spent many days/nights down there and the amount/size of snakes I have seen is amazing! Also some people have in fact died at the Gorge, so please bare that in mind next time.
Toppy
31-10-2007, 07:11 AM
Hi Gleeza, what did you see when you had the goggles on?
I've thought about doing that in a place a bit further south from there, might give it a go niext time!
Toppy
gleeeza
31-10-2007, 09:32 AM
Thanks Leigh for the heads up on the FROGS!!! I do appreciate the information as I was not aware but loose the attitude, you live and learn.
You are right about the snakes too we came across some good sized skins and one medium black. I was expecting to see more though at that time of the year, it wasn't for a want of looking.
I reckon I had worse odds on the highway to and from the property though to be honest with regards to getting killed but all reasonable care was taken especially with the kids about. We were there at the time Lismore got hammered by hail so!!!!! what am I going to do stay at home.
Toppy it was like going into a massive fish tank, the fish liked crevasses rather than overhangs and the best snags were in high current areas, at least at this time of the year and in semi enclosed billabongs. I would imagine it to be different in open rivers, next time I kayak up to the junction of the Mann and the Clarence I will take my gear and have a squizz.
The fish were fearless of me so once I attached myself to the bottom they (Bass) would come right upto me and there were some horses among them. I spear down on the coast and don't get a chance to get that close to most fish, I would also as an after thought ;like to lay up with them at dawn or dusk to see them hunt with the missus tossing in hoppers or shrimp.
Get in and have a look I say what have you got to loose!!!
Bassinator
31-10-2007, 07:26 PM
awesome report, good job on the snorkelling
wardypig
06-11-2007, 08:37 AM
What do you mean "lose the attitude" Leigh has probably just saved you a massive fine somewhere down the track!!!!!!! I am quite sure he wasn't having a go at you but pointing out something you clearly were not aware of. That is what this web site is all about, among other things, helping out other members.
Other than that, nice report - keep them coming.
Leigh77
06-11-2007, 10:08 AM
Thanks wardypig, at least someone got it.
The fine for that is quite a big one, and could result in your vehicle/gear being impounded...sorry for trying to help Gleeeza...Its no wonder that I hardly post here.
good report gleeza, never mind the whoopsie with the frogs.;) ;D
Leigh, you can make your point without shouting and no one would get upset.;)
cheers Roo
Leigh77
06-11-2007, 04:50 PM
who said anything about shouting...How can you shout on a forum?
wardypig
06-11-2007, 06:05 PM
It would appear that I may have jumped the gun here. The "attitude" comment MAY have been spot on!!!!!
Reference: my post about Clarrie Hall Dam.
who said anything about shouting...How can you shout on a forum?
Capitals is shouting according to standard forum etiquette ;) I'm not sure what Bold caps is.....maybe Screaming!!:o
Leigh77
07-11-2007, 11:53 AM
Capitals is shouting according to standard forum etiquette ;) I'm not sure what Bold caps is.....maybe Screaming!!:o
Not having a shot at you orbyroo (and yes I do believe what you said)...but that would have to be the dumbest thing I have ever heard ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) .
Capitals = shouting....what a world we live in.
Leigh,
Its difficult to express emotion in short form writing without either being very good at it (composition etc) or using tools such as CAPS or bold or :D
silly it may be......but handy nontheless. You can make a point without a Long-winded explanation.;)
cheers Roo.
roydsy
08-11-2007, 08:16 AM
I hope you realise that using frogs for bait is ILLEGAL!
Yeah Leigh, thats angry shouting >:( and there is nothing wrong with making a point. I see no problem in highlighting the term illegal with bold in lowercase. But when I see caps it means the person is yelling out loud and could be perceived as being a bit rude. Welcome to world wide wait, land of acronyms and mannerisms. ;D
gleeeza
08-11-2007, 04:02 PM
Thanks for the lesson in forum manners team,
I thought my response was measured and reasonable but some would think otherwise and this is fine by me. I would laugh but I have just got out of the dental chair in Bangkok and I would just look stupid if I tried.
Truly thanks for the heads up on the frog issue though I was just trying to get a feed and worked out that these fish would have to predate on frogs.
This might seem perverse but last night I had a feed of deep fried bamboo grubs and frogs, they will eat anything here(when in Rome).
Cheers Gleeeza