View Full Version : Haycock Island Today
Synful
28-10-2007, 08:23 PM
Evening all,
Went out with my Father In Law this afternoon to Haycock Island to try our luck.
We had a pretty quiet afternoon except for one Marwong that Arthur caught.
Fish took about 3 minutes to land and put up a good fight with several runs, picture attached.
Simmo2
28-10-2007, 08:26 PM
Ahh I saw ya's on the ramp!! Good onya!
28-10-2007, 08:34 PM
A trip out fishing is just as good as a good trip fishing or a bad one i can't remeber lol
Just a chance to get out is good enuff for me
BBQ him Andrew or give him to ya mother in law
Cheers mate
jt
Synful
28-10-2007, 08:42 PM
Ahh I saw ya's on the ramp!! Good onya!
G'day Simmo - were you the guy we spoke to retrieving when we launched?
If so, we had just enough fuel to get out and back plus check the crab pot with one solitary under size sandie in it - yeah a sandie in Half Moon creek, and we thought that it would be a great spot to get muddies ::)
Synful
28-10-2007, 08:44 PM
A trip out fishing is just as good as a good trip fishing or a bad one i can't remeber lol
Just a chance to get out is good enuff for me
BBQ him Andrew or give him to ya mother in law
Cheers mate
jt
Did both JT ;D
We had him cooked whole and the Mother In Law had some as well - not a bad tasting fish by any means! 8-)
Had heaps of fun this afternoon - like you I just enjoyed the trip out.
Simmo2
29-10-2007, 06:34 AM
G'day Simmo - were you the guy we spoke to retrieving when we launched?
Yeah mate, that was me!
Synful
29-10-2007, 06:41 AM
Yeah mate, that was me!
Good stuff - we didn't try the wreck out near Ellis beach but stored it in the memory banks for next time; thanks for the heads up there 8-)
Wasn't enough fuel for that one unfortunately, there was a bit of a swell which caused the trip to take a bit longer on the way out but we got back a lot quicker I felt so it must have dropped off again.
04-11-2007, 11:39 PM
We had him cooked whole and the Mother In Law had some as well
Had heaps of fun this afternoon
You know,Andrew,I've heard it joked about before but that's the first time I've actually heard of someone feeding a mother in law fish to their mother in law.
I just hope she appreciated the irony there.
Nice to hear that you are getting out and about in the new boat though,mate.
scott
Synful
05-11-2007, 06:04 AM
You know,Andrew,I've heard it joked about before but that's the first time I've actually heard of someone feeding a mother in law fish to their mother in law.
I just hope she appreciated the irony there.
Nice to hear that you are getting out and about in the new boat though,mate.
scott
Yes, my Father in law is a fisho as well and knows that name; he thought that it was quite good as well.
The motor is due for it's first service next weekend having racked up the first 10 hours with no problems.
Simmo2
05-11-2007, 07:50 AM
We went out there on Sunday, what a beautiful day! Lotsa boats out there.
We went out with the sole purpose of targeting cray.
Didnt see a one!! After extensive diving on the southern side of the big island on the reef. Dunno what I'm doing wrong!
We saw three nice big trout (all in spearing range) and even bigger moray sitting in a cave and a spiky looking thing under a rock that looked like I should leave it the hell alone!!
Lots of wrasse and other fish. Didnt spear any coz I was after bloody lobster!! (oh and the fin fish closure is in effect.)
But, after the reef is open, I'll be back to get one of them trout!!
Synful
05-11-2007, 01:20 PM
We went out there on Sunday, what a beautiful day! Lotsa boats out there.
We went out with the sole purpose of targeting cray.
Didnt see a one!! After extensive diving on the southern side of the big island on the reef. Dunno what I'm doing wrong!
We saw three nice big trout (all in spearing range) and even bigger moray sitting in a cave and a spiky looking thing under a rock that looked like I should leave it the hell alone!!
Lots of wrasse and other fish. Didnt spear any coz I was after bloody lobster!! (oh and the fin fish closure is in effect.)
But, after the reef is open, I'll be back to get one of them trout!!
Sounds good Simmo; my boat has to go in to get it's motor serviced but first chance I'll have a go at the reef myself.
Simmo2
05-11-2007, 09:18 PM
No worries mate. If you want a decky/guide, gimme a call. (it would be good to not be the skip on a trip!!!)
Mob no is: 1A35F982
(being a linux dude you should get that!!)
Synful
05-11-2007, 10:27 PM
No worries mate. If you want a decky/guide, gimme a call. (it would be good to not be the skip on a trip!!!)
Mob no is: 1A35F982
(being a linux dude you should get that!!)
Please tell me you didn't put that in hexadecimal :o :o
Then again maybe it's just too late to using the brain at night ::)
You're on though!! - Mate PM me your mobile number, and we'll have to do that trip when the swell drops down to under 1m; my tinny gets a bit bumpy at 1m and higher :)
upstart
07-11-2007, 12:37 PM
Hey guys, Where's Haycock Is? Is that in the Hinchinbrook channel?
just_cruisin
07-11-2007, 01:14 PM
upstart,
I believe they are talking about Haycock island (Scouts Hat as i call it) being 1.5 mile off Palm Cove or 5 mile north of Yorkeys Knob. North Cairns area.
Synful
07-11-2007, 05:31 PM
upstart,
I believe they are talking about Haycock island (Scouts Hat as i call it) being 1.5 mile off Palm Cove or 5 mile north of Yorkeys Knob. North Cairns area.
Yep, that's the one Just Cruisin.