View Full Version : I love GT's!!!!!

ffejsmada
28-10-2007, 11:43 AM
Was on the water at 4am this morning looking to tangle with a Trevally or two.
When I got to my spot, the cormorants and pelicans were going berserk harrassing the local Herring population.:o The trevors were only busting out here and there, there didn't seem to be too many around.
The popper throwers were getting zilch, a young fella flicking a bass minnow had a couple of small bigeyes.
I started tossing a 50mm deep diver and landed a stock standard GT of 40 cm. Nice tussle on 4lb braid.:P

I then changed to a 10cm Berkeley Prawn with a 1/4oz jighead on 10 lb braid.
After a few minutes or so of casting, a serious fish decided to inhale my SP.
Line was stripped off in a hurry. I knew this was a good fish.
After a solid 10 minute fight I had colour and had a ripper 61cm GT in the net.;D
My 2500 Stradic didn't really like the treatment it got from the GT as it was as rough as sh!t, grindy and proppy on the retrieve.>:(
Looks like we'll see how Shimano's 10 year warranty holds up.

Things went pretty quiet after that, the bait dissappeared, the birds left, so did I. I was home by 7.30 with 2 nice fish.8-)

Cheers Jeff

Pistol_P
28-10-2007, 01:02 PM
Nice...8-)

Yeah it was interesting on that post about 'what estuary fish fights hardest?'......

Well personally I reckon in the estuaries here the GT's would be the hardest fighting fish.....Harder than Jacks in my opinion.

The difference is you get the GT's quite often in open country.....Imagine than 61cm GT right next to a snag....You would be gooone!!!!

ffejsmada
28-10-2007, 01:24 PM
Totally agree.
This bloke stripped heaps of line and had me going for 10 minutes in open water.
No estuary Jack could do that.

Why-ting
28-10-2007, 01:41 PM
Another quality fish Jeff. Trevs are good fun but ill have a jack any day of the week

Whytey.

Flattie Assassin
28-10-2007, 01:48 PM
Yes great catch. They fight hard alright.

Tropicaltrout
28-10-2007, 02:09 PM
Good stuff mate, they give a good heave alright I just love the fact we can question the harder fighter Jack or Trev, dosn't get much better then that!!!

TT

shappy
28-10-2007, 03:02 PM
good stuff mate, i will have too go and experience the two and deside which goes harder!!

cheers!

ffejsmada
28-10-2007, 03:55 PM
Trevs are good fun but ill have a jack any day of the week

Whytey.

Me too Whytey, there's something special about MJ's. Even though I reckon GT's fight harder, I'd rather a Jack for sure.

BLOOEY
28-10-2007, 04:29 PM
Bloody nice G.T mate,I've gotta fish the salt again SOON.Top fish for the estuary mate good on ya. Ben

Murph77
28-10-2007, 05:16 PM
Nice trev mate, I bet he went bloody hard

frankgrimes
28-10-2007, 06:10 PM
Solid trev mate...nice work!

jez and suze
28-10-2007, 06:38 PM
nice fish!
nothing like a big gt stripping a reel in seconds.....what a feeling!

cuzzamundi
28-10-2007, 06:39 PM
That is a fantastic trevor mate - bet she went like a train. great weather for em at the moment.

cuzza

laney
28-10-2007, 06:59 PM
Awesome fish mate hoping to get a few myself this summer. great capture well done

28-10-2007, 07:54 PM
Good stuff jeff
Mate your always fishing have ya got a job or is this it cause i'm jealous
Top stuff good chewing size too.
Jt

ffejsmada
28-10-2007, 07:58 PM
Thanks for all your kind replies boys, much appreciated.

JT, Yeah I do have a job, a bloody good job.;D

Cheers Jeff

loophole
28-10-2007, 08:09 PM
nice fish good size gt...do you keep them for the plate if so do u blled them on capture ?

ffejsmada
29-10-2007, 08:22 AM
.do you keep them for the plate if so do u blled them on capture ?

Yes loophole, they are the best eating of all the trevallies I reckon. If I intend to keep them I bleed them straight away.
Most fish have improved fillets from being bled straight away.

Roo
29-10-2007, 02:20 PM
so there not bad on the chew eh! I might have to have a taste one day. I've tried Goldens before....not bad. a bit of dark meat but the rest is tasty white flesh.

Cheers Roo.

breamnut
29-10-2007, 03:25 PM
nice trev.
i tried to take my new boat out this morning for a jack fish but after siting at talli boat ramp for an hour waiting till the lighting to stop we turned around and went home.
you say your stradic was playing up?? for A $200 reel they shouldnt do that even with fish like that.

lumox
29-10-2007, 03:33 PM
nice fish they sure go hard!!!

richieboy
29-10-2007, 04:32 PM
Would have given ya a hassle on the light stuff Jeff. Well done mate. Great fish and great pics. I'm just stoked to be back in Bris-Vegas.

Richie

mangrove rat
01-11-2007, 05:31 PM
hey mate, thats a great looking fish, theres been a few good ones caught around the bridge at the moment, i'll be up there this weekend, not for the marathon tho ;) but for fish like that, hopefully should be awesome to tussle with a trev and a jack, fingers crossed. i'll keep a eye out for u locals hey!!!
cheers, can do