View Full Version : big nets for big barra

bchaser
24-10-2007, 02:18 PM
Spreading the good word.
Hello aus fishers, long time reader first time writer. Firstly I have to say thank you to all that have contributed to this site in any way, the amount I learn from a quick daily visit here is incredible.

I’m worried about the number of fish that have died after being released due to the lack of care taken in handling fish caught by my self and others that I’ve seen on you tube and in some reports like moggi1’s comment in fresh water freight trains, (10 barra floating along the wall after the previous days fishing). This just isn’t good enough.

Its great to see how catch and release has taken of in general, weather its because the fish aren’t worth eating or the feeling of letting one of these giants go. but were still using some of the equipment from the old days when just about everything was kept. E.g, boga grips and knotted landing nets. How many boats have scales left on the floor after landing a barra with a knotted net? Answer, to many. The line in the net finds its way under the scales and rips them right of, not to mention splitting fins and tails. And then with some of there protection ripped of they are laid to rest on a hot, dry carpeted floor and this happens all to often, those who do this do not deserve to brag about releasing a healthy fish.

Ok, I don’t want to sound over the top but we put so much time into learning how, where, what equipment to catch these beauties but who thinks about what there going to do once they have the fish next to the boat? I don’t want to offend anyone who does there best on this matter, but for the rest, get your s!#t together. Its ok to spend $200+ on a real but who wants to spend more than $10 on a net.

For those here’s an idea.
The fish are growing fast but the nets aren’t so I’ve have added a pic of a ridiculously big net made by a good mate of mine for these ever growing girls and believe it or not they still stick out both ends. The net lives over the motor so it’s out of the way completely and is easily cleaned with a quick shake in the water. Once the fish is in the net the other person in the boat lays out a blue tarp on the floor and the wet shade cloth net is put onto that. Comfy as a fish can be in this situation.

I know this has been said before and it will be said again until the problems fixed. Or maybe knotted nets should be banned from impoundments altogether, what do you think?. Keep up the good work guys.

Barraboy7
24-10-2007, 06:43 PM
You should sell them on Ebay! You will make a packet! LOL
I suggest a lot of people use different nets rather than the old knotted ones like the new Eco nets, we all got our s!#t together mate!
Barraboy

bchaser
24-10-2007, 07:33 PM
dont mean to put everyone in the same boat, there are lots of good nets out there and lots of people who use them, but there are also lots of people who don't. just doing my bit for the fish out there! :)

the_matrix
24-10-2007, 08:05 PM
Good onya bchaser............this subject does my head in and see it daily on Awoonga.
Have posted on this subject more than once as have other concerned anglers.
Dead fish galore, many mishandled. Last summer was horrendous, Im nervous what this year will bring.
Big Barra will NOT survive out of the water for longer than 2 minutes, esp 120+ fish. 1 minute is best, not out of the water at all is ideal, but yeh most of us want to get photo's, which is fair enough.
They swim off ok, giving you the warm fuzzy feeling, but go straight to the bottom and die.

The NT fisheries done a study on types of nets last year , guess what out of ALL the nets trialled, only the enviro-net came through with flying colours.
A credit to the late Dave Irvine, a guy who cared more about fish than anyone.
Its the main reason they are used exclusivley for ABT/AFC.

Nice job on the home made. $150 is not too bad for a net that will see a fish of a lifetime swim free again if you ask me.
Jas

moggy1
24-10-2007, 09:44 PM
I have seen many of people land these fish with proper nets but after this is where the damage is done. You cant stand on a alloy seat after its been in the sun all day so why would you put a fish on it to measure it against a sticker. If the fish isnt med to well done after this we grab it straight by the jaw for a photo. Most people that are interested in the well being of the fish support the belly. But what next , we have to put it in the water and most just swing it straight in by the jaw again.
Try this its cheap and easy. A wet beach towel on the seat (now its not half cooked) Take your photobut when releasing get your mate on one end and use the towel like a stretcher. At all times the whole fishes body weight is supported. At least this way you have tried the absolute most you can for the welfare of the fish.
Cheers Moggy

bchaser
25-10-2007, 07:22 AM
good idea moggi1, again i know most people are trying to do the right thing, and posting ideas like this is what will help the rest. So, keep out of the water for 1 min, dont expose to heat, keep scales in tact and dont carry by the jaw, any other suggestions anyone?

Dicko
25-10-2007, 01:47 PM
Last summer was horrendous, Im nervous what this year will bring.

Mate, I feel for you's down there. Being from up north & enough barra in my own back yard I haven't been to Awoonga till I dropped in yesterday.

Had to do a quick trip to Bris Vegas to pick up a new boat, so I pulled off the highway on the way home to head in for a sticky beak. This was around Midday on wednesday and the parking at the boat ramp & surrounds was chockers. Easily 40 or 50 trailers squashed in around the ramp. Every camp site & cabin on the way in looked to have a boat as well. I'd hate to see it on a weekend.

I didn't notice too many qld rego plates. Maybe it's a blessing having Awoonga so close to the south, saves a lot of 'em coming all the way up here ;D

28-10-2007, 04:19 PM
Wet brag mats ..... work well ( roll them up after use .... then dunk them in water as you bring the fish in. Have your camera ready to go .... a measure , quick pic & your done ( If you feel the need to weigh a fish ..... Weigh it in the net)
Bigger fish should always be supported under the belly ( I like to use a lip gripper to control the head) ..... All fish should be swum on release ... " tow it with the boat if possible"
Nets ..... Enviros are the go ... but the problem is that they are expensive & very bulky

Sometimes its easy to forget these practices .. but we should make the effort & get into the habit.! ...... Nagg

Tropicaltrout
28-10-2007, 08:30 PM
Yep I use a big net when I am on my own if needed other wise i use the lip grips when i can. a quick measure on the wet brag mat and piccy and off she goes un harmed.
I even swim them for a good while even after bitting on my fingers with the outboard in idle, just to give me more conferdence about the chances of life for someone else to enjoy.

TT

the_matrix
29-10-2007, 09:07 AM
I even swim them for a good while even after bitting on my fingers with the outboard in idle, just to give me more conferdence about the chances of life for someone else to enjoy.
TT
G'Day TT,
Doing that is actually detrimental to the fish's health mate. When a Barra is ready to swim, let it go.
Long boatside "swims" were once considered the best method, but its no longer the case. A pinch on the tail is pretty much all I do once the fish has been lowered into the water. That will shoot them off and is better than pulling them backwards and forwards, after all they dont swim backwards.

They are wild animals and the more they are held against their will and touched, the more it will stress them out.
Confidence will come back when it is free of all things foreign and back in its own environment under its own terms.
The only time I swim a Barra is if it is in really bad nick, which does happen some times regardless of the best handling practices.
Im not criticising you, its just a tip that I have learned over the years...........after all we are all learning every day.
Jas

bchaser
29-10-2007, 09:43 AM
thanks for the replys guys,

really did not mean to offend or leave out other important factors in releasing healthier fish. it seems that everyone has a different method for catch and release and we can only do the best we can with the knowlage we have, and the only way we can impove on this is trial and error and more importantly to comunicate with others. the responces here have really given me something to think about and i know i will never handle these fish the same way again. thats what i love about this site, being able to sift through and pick out the stuff that makes the most sence to me, after all its not just the fish benifits in the long run.

rivermanau
29-10-2007, 10:42 AM
Last trip we borrowed a big Environet from a mate, it was excellent. The usual advantages of easy on the fish applied. also the handle is thick and strong aluminium tubing which made it a lot easier to lever the net and fish on the side of the boat. I then held the fish horizontal out from the gunwale, still in the net .This allowed for a quick pic and an easy release. I'll be buying my own Enviro next time.

29-10-2007, 06:04 PM
thanks for the replys guys,

really did not mean to offend or leave out other important factors in releasing healthier fish. it seems that everyone has a different method for catch and release and we can only do the best we can with the knowlage we have, and the only way we can impove on this is trial and error and more importantly to comunicate with others. the responces here have really given me something to think about and i know i will never handle these fish the same way again. thats what i love about this site, being able to sift through and pick out the stuff that makes the most sence to me, after all its not just the fish benifits in the long run.

No offence here ..... We all need to learn!!!!! ..... Nagg

mylestom
30-10-2007, 11:46 AM
As a matter of courtesy to all the ones trying to do the right thing, perhaps in a thread like this, the correct type of nets should be mentioned also place and price where to sort from. This would be helpful for those trying to do the right thing.

As being from NSW, our prices and places would not be relevant to the majority of impoundment fishers for big nets for big fish.

A good thread with lots of good advice, all are worthy of consideration.

Trev

bchaser
30-10-2007, 01:20 PM
Hi Trev,

you're right mate it should be in there. One of the best nets on the market is the environet. a full mesh net ranges from $40 to $99 and the mesh and fabric nets range from $44 to $64 depending on the size, the largest net being 70by55cm. Most tackle stores stock them but the closest one to you is mo tackle coffs harbour(fishing tackle australia) and thats where these prices are from.

i was lucky enough to have a friend make mine out of alloy tubing and some spare shade cloth held on with wire ties and measures 70by70cm and its perfect for the job and cost next to nothing, either way for peice of mind you wont regret the investment. Bren.

mylestom
30-10-2007, 04:08 PM
Realise that they are available at Mo tackle, spend a few hours every week in there, but was more interested in letting people know where they are available in Qld for the those up there interested.

Have the odd net in the shed about fifteen at last count and as usual we all have our favourites.

Did a lot of fishing for barra in the late 70s and 80s and still find time to get a few months a year in fishing up there most years. Things change and just thought that when the discussions turn to recommendations it would be good for some of the not so experience to be able to see that these items are not that expense and are available for them to use.

Keep up the good threads, all very interesting and you never stop learning.

My old Pa used to say " The day you stop learning is the day you die"

Trev

Tropicaltrout
31-10-2007, 07:01 PM
Cheers Matrix for the info will put that straight to practice always thought I was doing the right thing well you live and learn.

Cheers Nath

31-10-2007, 10:10 PM
Some of the yanks have a good idea.
they use a net that looks like a stretcher with two long wooden slats and a fine soft mesh.

one of these would be soooo easy to knock up with some shade cloth or similar.

In many situations they dont even bring the fish on board or out of the water for very long at all.......Maybe not a good idea when there are swamp gekos or munchies about...... but cretainly viable in the fresh.
For smaller fish a trout net might be a good option. cheers

the_matrix
31-10-2007, 10:51 PM
No worries Nath,
I have learned much through others, some just stick their head in the sand.
Jas