View Full Version : Wide Caloundra Cobia Madness
captain rednut
21-10-2007, 08:28 PM
father and son day out at wide caloundra hunting snapper, no snapper but we found a school of cobia, good fun on light gear. tally for the day was four, and the biggest one 15kg. thanks cr:o
death_ship
21-10-2007, 09:20 PM
What a big ugly beast!
and the cobia isnt much better :D
lucky the young fella takes after mum.....did he outfish you again?
Snodger Sniper
21-10-2007, 09:38 PM
Captain Rednut, all I can say mate is Wow! What amazing fish, ya kid must have been eyes popping out of his head. Well done for getting them on the light gear too ;) Not too many ppl getting out atm...waiting for the bad run of weather to pass, so thanks for your report. real snodgers in my books.
Good fishn,
SS
Tassie JR
22-10-2007, 08:57 AM
Hey mate great to see u and your son got a few, we went out friday chasing the cobes at west rocks we finally hooked one but he proved to strong for the shimano baitrunner 6500 with 15 kg line after a 1 hour 20 minuite fight and him spooling us off to the last row of line. we finally got him about 5 meters from the boat and the hook just popped out of the side of his mouth and off he swam, we got a 30 plus kilo cobia a few months back, and this fella was easily bigger. but you get those days. we got about 5 more hits but no more solid hookups all on live bait.
cheers tassie JR
outofcontrol
22-10-2007, 11:51 AM
nice work boys, when is the next drink fest at moreton?
captain rednut
22-10-2007, 07:28 PM
hi wont be long only, a couple of weeks away till the next boys weekend im looking fwd to the next raft up and bbq with fresh spanner crabs (so king red can get his cheque) thanks see ya soon cr
death_ship
22-10-2007, 08:46 PM
count me in, that was a ripper of a night, but the morning hurt...a lot.
Tassie
Woulda been a big one to spool the baitrunner on 15. look on the bright side, you didnt need to lift it into the boat or fillet it!
captain rednut
22-10-2007, 08:59 PM
we need to break the australian record for a raft up at tangas? we better pick a date real soon before the xmas kaos starts?
Fishing_Freddy
23-10-2007, 05:18 AM
Great to hear some ine was able to get and catch something as the weather hasn't been the best lately. Well done to the young fellow to.
Ken :beer:
Slider
24-10-2007, 09:01 AM
Good to see you're getting out there Jim and cobes are better fun than snaps anyway aren't they.
What's this 'technical' crap hey? It's either get it right or get nothing in that game these days. Well maybe I'm not applying what I preach as I'm still getting next to nothing.
Linds
timddo
24-10-2007, 10:06 AM
Guys, where is west rock????
Tassie JR
24-10-2007, 04:09 PM
Hey timddo west rocks is on the northern side of moreton island just over the bar its about 35 feet deep and the bottem is sand with big rocks on the bottem, on a clear day you can see the rocks.
hope this helps.
cheers tassie JR
timddo
26-10-2007, 12:22 PM
Do yo have a common gps marks. I mite check it out tomorrow with my dad.
I never though north moreton had a bar... you mean south passage bar??? or the cape???
captain rednut
27-10-2007, 09:40 PM
hi timddo the northern end of moreton has a large sand bank that sometimes performs like a bar! we all have to cross on the way to the cape and weston rocks is only 3 to 5 miles through the so called bar, on the way to the cape on the left, theres normally a few boats there thanks cr
kingtin
27-10-2007, 10:12 PM
Guys, where is west rock????
It's a fairly large area of coffee rock and there are several marks for it. This is the one where I've caught (mostly lost) :-[ the big cobes.
s27 01.557 e153 23.040.
Be prepared to be pestered with whiptails, but if no yakkas are available, they make a good stand by livebait.
captain rednut
28-10-2007, 08:06 PM
hi kev (kingtin) where have you been? i havent seen you at the ramp lately thanks cr
kingtin
28-10-2007, 08:25 PM
hi kev (kingtin) where have you been? i havent seen you at the ramp lately thanks cr
Hi mate,
Won't be at a ramp for a month or two yet :'(
Went to the GP with shortness of breath and within a couple of weeks they'd cracked my chest open :o Quadruple bypass mate...........I'll do anything to get a bit of attention ;D
Good job with the cobes..........you've made me real jealous.
captain rednut
28-10-2007, 09:04 PM
good luck mate and take care you will be back out on the water soon thanks cr
philip_thomson
31-10-2007, 08:48 PM
Captain RedNut
after talking to you the other day i had to check out the report.
Couple of nice cobes there well done, light line cobes is always a bit of fun.
Good luck with the future trips.
Cheers Phil
captain rednut
01-11-2007, 09:37 PM
Hi Phil Thanks For Your Great Service The Other Day Thanks Jim