View Full Version : thoughts from owners
Renny1
10-10-2007, 06:06 PM
I have prices on both 75 honda and 75 etec . The honda comes in just under $1000 more expensive, and i have the money to purchase either motor. Just after some thoughts from anyone who ownes honda or etec. Feedback on good, bad pionts or any problems emcounted with them.
thanks Renny.
deadbeatloser
10-10-2007, 06:34 PM
go the etec m8,will be cheaper in the long run , four strokes still use oil plus oil filter so the debate goes on, i sold yam efi fs 5mnths old an purchased etec over another fs yam as the serving price was quite high , twice the price of my R1 1000cc motor bike:o ???????????? so servicing no belts and a couple of hundred less moving parts and a ss viper prop no charge.....
E TEC
10-10-2007, 07:28 PM
Renny,
Do yourself a favour and try to get a ride in a boat with each motor. Both engines have fors and againsts unfortunately it's you who has to wrok out which fors suite you :)
Renny,
It depends on you.
Some customers I have met cannot stand the smell of a 2 stroke.... Some I have heard of also complain about the smell of direct injection 2 strokes....
I had a customer complain of feeling physically sick from the smell of a Honda 130hp engine. Now he was a yachty and I guess they are used to only smelling the wind......
For me, 2 stroke DI every day of the week for ever and ever...... Less moving parts equals less problems and less servicing items but more importantly the 2 stroke design fires twice as often as a 4 stroke so the "punch" factor is much greater with a 2 stroke.
A good friend of mine in Melb is a Yammy dealer and in chatting the other day about engines and recent fitup and trial experiences he found there is quite a difference between say a 150 2 stroke and a 150 4 stroke. Now that would apply essentially to ANY brand.....
Kurichan
10-10-2007, 11:57 PM
I dunno if the '2 Str are simpler, they must be better' argument works.
A guy I know fits a lot of motors, he has fitted dozens of etecs two up on cats, he reckons it's rare for a pair to NOT break down. He says the electronics are just real hit & miss. If you get a good one you won't have any dramas, but in his experience one of the motors (remember he sells cats) pretty much always fails in the first month.
I bought a second hand V6 4 stroke that I have put in over 1200 hours into in the last year. It's had just one service in that time. I rip out the dipstick every now and then but that's it. It doesn't blow smoke, no fumes and always starts first turn of the key... and has never broken down.
It powers my car.
There are a lot of 4 stroke engines doing insane hours with all those moving parts & belts etc purring along quite nicely. I understand the marine environment is harsh, and the safety issues are paramount. But so do all the different engine manufacturers. 4 strokes have come a long way from the under torqued behemoths of old.
Good luck in your dilemma.
Belly66
11-10-2007, 07:19 AM
Nearly all commercial fisho's down here in Southern Vic and Tassie are running fourstrokes and doing insane hours between change-overs. Its their bread and butter so I reckon it has to be a fair recommendation.
billfisher
11-10-2007, 07:31 AM
If your 4 stroke needs a rebuld you might as well scrap it and buy a new one, such is the cost. With an Etec or similar its just like any other 2 stoke rebuild. I think the warranty is only a few months on Etecs for commercial use which might be a reason they tend to favour 4 strokes. Also pros tend to replace their motors every 2 or 3 years. The substantial capital loss can be claimed as depreciation.
The service costs are considerable with a 4 stroke - about $500 a year. They are much lower with an Etec and you don't even need a service for the first 3 years.
Belly66
11-10-2007, 08:14 AM
The service costs are considerable with a 4 stroke - about $500 a year. They are much lower with an Etec and you don't even need a service for the first 3 years.[/quote]
You may have some valid points but in the 3 or so years that a pro runs a motor he will do more hours than a recreational fisho would do in 10. I also dont think that there would be too many people that would run service intervals at 3 years regardless of manufacturers recommendations. It smacks to me of a long swim waiting to happen if you did.
timddo
11-10-2007, 08:43 AM
hmmm, it's 3 years or 300 hours, So a pro goes out 10 hours a day,, hmm thats 30 days per service??????$600.
notsa
11-10-2007, 12:13 PM
If money is no problem go the Honda.I have a 90 e-tec.
mrmagoo
11-10-2007, 06:46 PM
Thought you may like to know that the 3year non service for etecs is for fresh water american use. (imagine the service costs involved when your mechanic takes extra few hours removing the gearbox after 3 years of saltwater use!)
Would you run any motor for 3 years without changing(or at least checking) your impeller?
Honda's are rated at 6500 hours without rebuilding.That is a lot of boating most people wouldn't do in a lifetime..
Some of you guys pay a lot for servicing! $350ish for most 4 strokes once a year for sevicing ain't that bad.
By the way,i am a service manager at a boat dealership.
deadbeatloser
11-10-2007, 09:11 PM
Thought you may like to know that the 3year non service for etecs is for fresh water american use. (imagine the service costs involved when your mechanic takes extra few hours removing the gearbox after 3 years of saltwater use!)
Would you run any motor for 3 years without changing(or at least checking) your impeller?
Honda's are rated at 6500 hours without rebuilding.That is a lot of boating most people wouldn't do in a lifetime..
Some of you guys pay a lot for servicing! $350ish for most 4 strokes once a year for sevicing ain't that bad.
By the way,i am a service manager at a boat dealership.
utter bullshite mr magoo about warranty, wipe ur chin its dribblin:P
go and find the true facts wayne kur, by the way i am a dentist.;D
mrmagoo
11-10-2007, 09:22 PM
utter bullshite mr magoo about warranty, wipe ur chin its dribblin:P
go and find the true facts wayne kur, by the way i am a dentist.;D
I Can't seem to see anywhere in my post about warranty.
Lucky your a dentist & not a optometrist;D.
I guess you own an etec?
Tube_Worm
11-10-2007, 11:52 PM
Go the Honda Benny - you can't beat that 5 year warranty you get with them.
As for the ETec claim to fame with not having to service the motor for the 1st 3 years, who in the hell would run their outboard in a saltwater environment and not have it serviced for 3 years - you would have to be crazy. and then there is the expensive oil you have to keep constantly adding just like the old conventional 2 strokes - who could be bothered.
Bugger the ETec, give me the Honda any day ! All this crap about the ETEcs being as quiet, smooth running, no smelly 2 stroke fumes etc is a lot of BS. They are better than the old 2 strokes but they are still not as clean running as a 4 stroke and they still stink like an old 2 stroke just that the smoke is invisible.
polky
12-10-2007, 10:42 AM
I think some people need to pull there heads in and read what is written, I would go the Honda, have a 4s suzki myself. I certainly would not go to sea in a boat that did not have its motor serviced at least once a year. I think the etec has a ways to go yet to prve its self, in saying that my mate has had one for 2yrs with no drammass Polky.
mrmagoo
12-10-2007, 02:49 PM
Exactly...My facts come from the owner of a etec dealership.if the intended use is freshwater and you would like to save a few dollars,go the etec or similar.If using in saltwater and can afford the extra coin,deffinately buy the Honda.
Bassjunky
12-10-2007, 05:18 PM
After owning both honda and evinrude- I would definately say etec is the way to go. It is the standard aussie way to be afraid of change.
I found the etec absolutely faultless. Better out of the holeshot, lighter and better on fuel than the honda. I think the honda just about uses as much oil anyways.;D IMHO go for a run with both engines and see what you think. You are the one who has to use it.
deadbeatloser
12-10-2007, 08:59 PM
I Can't seem to see anywhere in my post about warranty.
Lucky your a dentist & not a optometrist;D.
I guess you own an etec?
i do sincerely apoligise and will put my glasses back on when reading,:-[
:-[
Tube_Worm
12-10-2007, 11:32 PM
After owning both honda and evinrude- I would definately say etec is the way to go. It is the standard aussie way to be afraid of change.
I found the etec absolutely faultless. Better out of the holeshot, lighter and better on fuel than the honda. I think the honda just about uses as much oil anyways.;D IMHO go for a run with both engines and see what you think. You are the one who has to use it.
Don't forget the latest Honda 75 and 90 hp 4S are a much different engine now than the previous model - much lighter, now fuel injected, not carbi and a 5 year warranty to go with it. ;)
mrmagoo
13-10-2007, 01:42 AM
no current 4st will ever be as quick out of the hole as a 2st but they are getting better.
but economy is always a main priority for me. we did 50nm last sunday on 25l of fuel on a 520 ttop ender with a 90vtec honda.top speed was 43mph as well.probably get another 5-8 mph top speed as well on a flatter day as well.fuel consumption around 8l p/h.
Deadbeatloser,apology accepted..
Jackinthebox
13-10-2007, 02:12 PM
Holy crap! "50nm on 25 litres of fuel" My old two stroke 15hp used to use more fuel than that!
Just got a new 50hp 4stroke merc so we'll see how that baby goes on the juice.
Splash
01-11-2007, 07:21 PM
Hi Guys.
I am nearly sold on the Honda now.
I first went down the ETEC path, then the Suzki path, now Honda. I liek what I see now and for the fisrt time in my 2 week investigation, I feel at ease with my choice.
Now which one - Bf90 (1.48L) ($13,200) and 169kg or BF135 (2.4L) ($16,000) and 217 kg?
My boat is a 5.3m Haines Hunter deep vee 1989 solid glass hull - all up about 1000kg gross weight (hull + people + fuel + etc..)
APplciation - out wide off Austrlaian North coast - about 40-50 miles out.
I want to troll alot and catch all the bill fish and spanish mack inthe world!
From a performance perspective, which one (ignoring cost)??
Splash
01-11-2007, 07:23 PM
The 90 IMO
Splash
01-11-2007, 07:27 PM
Thansk King.
Your thoughts on the relatively small 1.4L capacity on the BF 90 - Too little torque?
SPlash
01-11-2007, 07:44 PM
splash, as you may know I upgraded from a 70 johnno to a 90 Etec on a 5.25 stacer hull a bit over a year ago.
Very happy with the motor but man it sux on a flat day travelling 50-60 km's back from the reef trying to squeeze 35MPH out of it.
A 90 would be OK if you like to take the scenic route.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif
But you are bound to be as frustrated as I am when I just want to get home and have a beer.
Always better to have a few HP in reserve IMO.
scott
01-11-2007, 07:59 PM
Splash,
The new 90 has Blast technology, supposedly kicking goals in the hole shot department
http://www.newworldhonda.com.au/nwh/boats/Carnival%20500BR%2020061.pdf
I have been in this boat and it has plenty of power, just a bit smaller than your rig
Splash
01-11-2007, 08:47 PM
Thansk boys.
Disorderly - surely the weight penalty with more HP (90 vs 135) must have an impact on something though..? 163kg vs 220kg.
57kg penalty for extra 45HP @$3000. Is this weight penalty worth it?
SPlash
northernblue
01-11-2007, 09:38 PM
Go the Honda Benny - you can't beat that 5 year warranty you get with them.
As for the ETec claim to fame with not having to service the motor for the 1st 3 years, who in the hell would run their outboard in a saltwater environment and not have it serviced for 3 years - you would have to be crazy. and then there is the expensive oil you have to keep constantly adding just like the old conventional 2 strokes - who could be bothered.
Bugger the ETec, give me the Honda any day ! All this crap about the ETEcs being as quiet, smooth running, no smelly 2 stroke fumes etc is a lot of BS. They are better than the old 2 strokes but they are still not as clean running as a 4 stroke and they still stink like an old 2 stroke just that the smoke is invisible.
Well you can certainly talk some shiite can't you?
Have you ever seen an etec? heard one running?
If you want top end speed and acceleration go etec, the Honda will have a little less punch and top end.
Both are almost silent, and have excellent fuel ecconomy.
My dealer felt that the etec's ran on "a bit of a knife edge"
Mine ran faultlessly until I killed it [rockbar].....then I got a 90 Honda.
Both are good, but I think BRP's quality control is not as high as Honda's.
hellfish
01-11-2007, 10:22 PM
All of u who r comparing Etecs to any modern 4-stroke as a motor to b used on a fishing boat have got to b kidding! If the technology used in them is so briliant y arnt we seeing it used in cars???? As for their build quality i think i would rather buy an outboard made by Kia.::)
Splash
02-11-2007, 05:47 AM
Norhtern Blue
What size boat and weight do u haul with you BF90?
What size prop do u use?
SPlash