View Full Version : Mitsubishi Challenger, Yay or Nay

Ryan.S
06-10-2007, 03:02 PM
Just looking at an 2002 model atm. Just curious as to the beach performance of these rigs. Dont do a whole lot of beach work but for the odd time I do i would like something thats gona get me home. So im just after any good or bad reports from anyone out there.
Cheers;)

Dan5
06-10-2007, 03:43 PM
A good friend has one and has had it for about 4 years he loves it and tows a 5mtr boat regulary with it he has had no dramas.Dunno about beachwork never done any in it mate.Dan..........

Kleyny
06-10-2007, 06:54 PM
The challengers are on a triton chassis and running gear so the turning cycle arent the best, But apart form that there not a bad rig.
Beach running has allot to do with things like auto/ manual, diesel/pertrol. But it should be ok as i think most of the challengers have LSD (but i could be wrong)

neil

06-10-2007, 08:55 PM
A mate from work has had one for over5 years and I have never heard a bad word about it. Good on the beach but a bit limited in the offroad rough stuff area due to the type of suspension. After all its not a Landrover but still pretty capable and drives nicely onroad

Ryan.S
08-10-2007, 09:16 AM
Cheers guys, I appreciate the feedback.

Peter4
08-10-2007, 10:57 AM
Ryan,

I have a 2003 Challenger and use it to tow my boat and to beach drive North Straddie about three times a year. It has been a great beach vehicle (never bogged) and the 3 litre V6 has no problem towing my 4m boat at 100kmph on the highway up to Monduran.

I would upgrade to a new one but Mitsubishi stopped making them in 2006!

Reasonable fuel economy

Roughasguts
09-10-2007, 09:15 AM
Ryan,

I have a 2003 Challenger and use it to tow my boat and to beach drive North Straddie about three times a year. It has been a great beach vehicle (never bogged) and the 3 litre V6 has no problem towing my 4m boat at 100kmph on the highway up to Monduran.

I would upgrade to a new one but Mitsubishi stopped making them in 2006!

Reasonable fuel economy

They what!!!! stopped making them....... What are Mitsubishi thinking There be lots of challengers around but hardly any of those little 4cyl Pajero's IO's and such they keep making them funny little toys.

Peter4
09-10-2007, 09:52 AM
I agree with Roughasguts - a lot of Challenger owners will not be happy.

They are a much better vehicle than the Pajero IO and you see heaps of them on the road. Mitsubishi have upgraded the AWD outlander to a 4WD as a replacement but - in my opinion - the old Challenger is a much better looking vehicle than the new outlander.

SEC
12-10-2007, 08:38 PM
Hi,

I work a Mitsu dealer and the Challenger was discontinued due to a platform change to Triton (ie chasis,suspention and driveline)the Challenger is not bad on the beach have done a couple of owner training days in service managers old one around DI/Rainbow Beach area they do alright. Have had customers complain of clutch shudders in manual and have had a couple of autos seize when towing caravans and horse floats but fitting a good aftermarket trans cooler seems to have fixed that also the $2000 transmission helped.

PS The IO was canned due to the introdution of the Outlander

surfsup
18-10-2007, 05:06 AM
My wife's got one. 3ltr v6 goes good on the beach we take it to Fraser every year no probs.

18-10-2007, 02:34 PM
Mate I have a friend who is thinking of selling his - he is Brisbane based

Russell

bam424
19-10-2007, 01:09 PM
Mate have a 2002 man for sale at consign a car Mt Gravatt top unit 86ks

BGG
22-10-2007, 06:47 PM
Had one for a few years now and couldn't be happier. Go the auto, great on the beach. Also the manuals seem to lack space to put your left hoof when not on the clutch.

Ryan.S
22-10-2007, 07:09 PM
Thanks guys, wont trouble you for pics of the Challenger yet boys as i still have to sell my hilux before i can buy. Sounds like a good vehichle huh. All good reviews is rare.

ellykan
22-10-2007, 07:30 PM
Had A 2002 Auto Model For 18 Months Now, Great Car For The Missus To Drive Aruond In, Not To Thirsty. Been Over To Straddie At Least Half A Dozen Times. Tows The Camper Trailer Over The Soft Stuff No Worries. Couldnt Be Happier With It

1975fflh
05-06-2008, 06:35 PM
Bloody hell I hope they are good I just spent 12 grand on a 2004 to tow my old rumrunner aroound, got rid of the old Falcon, it pulled it great just a bit dodgy on the slippery ramps.

harry_h01
06-06-2008, 08:22 AM
I recently picked up a 99 model with 100,000km on the clock. I got it back last night after getting LPG installed.

They run great on Gas and with fuel prices on the up, I should get the return on the investment within 12mths.

I'd been looking for a 4x4 for a while, and after test driving a few the challenger got the nod.

Harry

Bob H
12-10-2008, 11:03 PM
I recently picked up a 99 model with 100,000km on the clock. I got it back last night after getting LPG installed.

They run great on Gas and with fuel prices on the up, I should get the return on the investment within 12mths.

I'd been looking for a 4x4 for a while, and after test driving a few the challenger got the nod.

Harry
got my 2002 on gas and as you said they run great.bob

danryan75
13-10-2008, 06:34 AM
well if you aren't gonna ask for the pics i will :P

im interested in buying a challenger in the near future say 3-5 months. ifor those fellas who said they knew of ones for sale could you post the links to the websites or pics of the vehicles. been looking into the challengers for a while now and the only bad reports i have heard is from people who have never driven them and like to badmouth them because theyre a mitsubishi. have been in one on moreton and is a very capable truck on the beach

Cheers Daniel

flybloke
19-10-2008, 01:54 PM
I have one (2003) , The first I think with coil springs all round.
I put it on gas and now need to upgrade the rear springs as its sitting a bit low now.
There a good solid car but watch the plastic bits on the body.
The engine only just cuts it for power, I find mine wanting when towing. Not towing, they go well.
They do handle like a brick on a skateboard on the road, My 99 Hilux handles much better (New springs may fix this for me).
Putting it on gas forced the spare wheel into the cargo>:(
I think I was quoted $1400 to put a swingaway on it. My wife drives it and its the family car on weekends and holidays. When we are camping the spare wheel goes in the box trailer.
Buying new was a big mistake but I dont plan on selling and will run it into the ground. Second hand they are a bargan>:(