View Full Version : Migaloo

gleeeza
05-10-2007, 09:33 PM
What are the odds ?????

I went out with my 8yo daughter last Sunday and fished Lennox point for a few squire and red harries, got one honking mack tuna on the light gear which kept she who will one day be obeyed happy and finally dusted twice on top fishing livies under balloons by near unstoppable freight trains. No idea what they were but the adrenal gland was a pumpin.

With our remaining livies we nipped out to the wave buoy to see if any dollies had shown up, no result. We did eventually find some rat kingies and had some fun but with the new size limits we didn't get to keep any.

I was read the riot act by she who must be obeyed and stowed my gear ready for the run home and a promised visit to Baskin and Robbins when I spotted a boil up behind the boat about twenty meters away. I wasn't sure what I was looking at I initially thought it was a dead whale upside down because I could see so much white it just didn't look right until it came up again virtually in the same spot and it was Migaloo the white fella.

I was gobsmacked and my daughter was over the moon, he looked amazing. The best part was you could follow his path on the descent because of his colour where you loose sight of the black ones. We radioed the coast guard to pass on the info to the SCU research team and I found out later a whale charter picked him up also, wouldn't have done his cause any harm

The odds I am told are well and truly stacked against this happening to any one so I am feeling well pleased with myself at this point apart from some bonding with the new boss I have given her a memory for keeps, shame we didn't have the camera on us. You are just going to have to trust me on this one!!!!!

Gleeeza and Spawn

Mad-One
06-10-2007, 07:11 AM
How awesome was that you lucky bas#%*#D

Mad

scoota
06-10-2007, 07:20 AM
One off those memorable moments on the water that we all cherish!

Scoota...

Ryan.S
06-10-2007, 09:45 AM
Incredible. Looks like he made it back into Australian waters safely for another year.

GT_warrior
06-10-2007, 04:00 PM
Mate that is great, Just goes to show how lucy we are ah....

Gottalovethat.......

8-)

onerabbit
07-10-2007, 08:52 AM
That's brilliant Glen, I've been trying to spot him for years with no luck.

First the marlin, now Migaloo, you're on a roll bloke.

samson
07-10-2007, 09:47 AM
Saw him about five years ago down tweed couldn't get over how bright he was in the water its like he was irredesant and glowed especially in the blue water.

ida
08-10-2007, 08:15 AM
gday glen your on a roll mate youll stop one of them freight trains soon.cheers ida.

gleeeza
17-10-2007, 11:11 AM
Cheers Guys

I only went out to give the kids a run so I didn't take the camera, ain't it always the way!!!!

Just got back from Clarence gorge, the top end at wave hill station. A bit quieter than last trip at easter I had to get the goggles on and go hunting for the best snags to zero in on the fish. Found em!

Floated a couple of shrimp down on them at dusk and got smashed one after the other by some good bass over 50cm. Best part was that I knew exactly where the snags were and was able to avoid getting dusted the whole trip. Only had the kids $12 Kmart gear to fish with but it did the job and I didn't give a crap when one went sailing into the drink when the young bloke wasn't paying attention.

I want to float down on them one day and get the kids to fish so I can see how they operate, because they dont tend to muck around with bait there they just belt everything it would be great to see.

Cheers gleeeza