View Full Version : haines sig 542cc or webster twinfisher???

simonpp82
05-10-2007, 08:56 AM
Hey guys, i've decided i want to upgrade and get a new boat. I'm after the boat motor and trailer, and based on my budget of about 35k i want the best possible offshore sportfisher i can get. I mainly cast soft plastics and jig etc. After weeks spent researching and looking at boats i have narrowed it down to a haines signature 542cc and a 5.2cc webster twinfisher. I found a used haines in exc condition and with a brand spanking 115 etec it will fit in the budget no worries. The webster would be a new package and just squeeze into my budget. Now i'm handing it to you guys to put in your 2 bobs.... I know these are two completely different boats and some of you might find my choices a little odd, but from what i could find they are both great boats built purely for fishing

Pro's and cons for the webster.. It has a huge fishing area, very stable, soft ride and more immune to knocks and bumps than glass. I have heard mixed reports about the offshore handling, some say they are great, while i have heard others say they can be a bit sketchy, especially in a following sea. This is the main factor with the webster that may sway my decision.

Pro's and cons for the haines.. (apparently) very nice ride and very seaworthy, not ugly like the twinfisher!, good practical layout, more comfortable boat... Not sure about the stability of the deep V hull, not quite as much room as th webster and more "worry" factor with the glass hull (not a major concern).

Also i looked at the formosa 5.5 entre cab, the seem very well priced for a plate boat, and this made me wonder??. I really don't know much about them, but after researching some of the custom plate builders they seem fairly pale by comparison... any thoughts on this also??
cheers - simon.

05-10-2007, 09:08 AM

Personally, i'd be looking at the webster. It's a cat at the end of the day, and has a massive amount of deck space.

The haines although great, will be less stable at rest and is still a mono.

Both are single engined.

What is the true length overall for both boats? They are both center console so I guess you offshore work will be somewhere relatively warm.

Are the tow weights anything to take into account?

Regards to the formosa, they're a good boat for the $$ but not a true plate as such a fisher, black pearl or amm is.

Do you have or can get fuel figures for both combinations of rig?

Don't forget that the webster will have excellent resale.

05-10-2007, 10:37 AM
Simon

Mate, GBC has a 542cc and it's a rippa boat, and imho probably the best riding mono under 5.5m. The fast you go the more the boat like it! At rest it settles well down into the water and is supprisingly stable , you would also be able to mount a larger bow mount electric which could be useful, as your into your plastics! Your also right about it being a pretty boat!

i haven't been in a webster but talking to people who have reckon they go well , but wont have the upper speed of a haines!

I would give GBC a pm and he would be able to tell you any issues he has with the boat.

Ps, a 542 would out perform a formosa by about 200% in any conditions imho!

05-10-2007, 10:55 AM
pretty odd pair to have narrowed it down to, they are at opposite ends to each other (sort of) cat to mono, glass to alloy, very different animals (well I reckon anyway) I guess if they are both the same size, I would tend to lean towards the Webster, just because of the stability factor, but either will serve you well.

DR
05-10-2007, 11:28 AM
i am a bit biased as i have a small Webster. But i think the only way to decide, if possible, is to try & get a ride in one of each. Totally different animals.

05-10-2007, 11:50 AM
that's what I said! (I think)

Crocodile
05-10-2007, 02:28 PM
I suggest having a run in a Webster and seeing for yourself.
You seem familiar with the Haines.
I have a 4.3m Webster and am very pleased with space, stability, soft ride and very predictable handling. They can be wet, passengers don't like the outward banking in corners and they are not fast. As a compromise I am very happy.
I would recomend that you try one for yourself.

DR
05-10-2007, 03:45 PM
that's what I said! (I think)

whoops, note to self ... read every word, not every 4th word.:-[

simonpp82
05-10-2007, 09:31 PM
hey guys thanks for the feedback... Yes i know an odd couple of boats to have come down to! but as i said in my original post, i'm after the best fishing boat my money can buy, and based on my research this is what i found. I agree that i need a test run in both these boats before making a decision and have allready made arrangements to take the haines for a run.. I would like to ask a big favour to any webster owners in the SEQ/NTH NSW area and let me know if a test run is possible... A 5.2 model would be preferable to get a more accurate idea, and my job is very flexible so i can make anytime work. I am happy to pay my way etc as well! I'd really like to see how they ride as i haven't had any experience with cats before.

Ian (finding time), Thanks for tip mate, i'll give GBC a buzz to get an insider view. I'm assuming he's very proud of his rig based on your what you've said! Also the fitting of an electric is something i've thought about, and would make the haines more suitable in that regard.

Blackened.. Yeah i'm a big fan of centre consoles, i live on the nsw/qld border so weather extremes aren't a huge issue. Also as far as weight is concerned, they must be towed by a commodore which is not a problem for either of these.