View Full Version : Rooftop campers

04-10-2007, 07:05 PM
I've been looking into buying one of these rooftop campers and would like to know if anyone has them or knows someone that does. I'd like any input, good or bad.

Thanks in advance,

Wags

manchild
04-10-2007, 07:24 PM
Had those before ,really easy and convinient to transport and set up.The only big drawback is that you have to claim down on a rather shakie ladder.Since the kids born it became a real safety issue ,so i sold it.Finding a convinient spot to set it up in bushy area can be a real pain if high enough trees are not around ,additional shade have to be set up otherwise its gets real hot inside .
George

Brett1907
05-10-2007, 09:54 AM
I personally don't like them, as you have to pack it up if you want to drive anywhere. When we go camping in the bush or on the beach there is always somewhere you have to drive to get to.

05-10-2007, 10:35 AM
Brett, I think that was the only problem I've discovered the moment. But if it's a basic setup it'll only take a few mins :-/ :-/ to pack up.

Wags

Brett1907
05-10-2007, 10:51 AM
Wags, have you looked at an OzTent RV4? They are a great tent, take about 90 seconds to put up and you can even set 2 up and enclose the awnings to make a 3 room tent.

We have a big 3 room coleman CV9 which we take when we will be away with the kids for a while. I am thinking of getting an OzTent for the quick 1-2 night trips. It is smaller obviously but for the ease of use I don't think you can go past them. I have used one of the original ones that a mate has and it fit a queen size slef inflateable and portable cot with room for all our bags. Admitadly our daughter stayed in our friends tent with their daughter, but could have fit in the OzTent too if we put the bags in the ute over night.

Just another option for you. What sort of vehicle is it going on? I have seen ute based ones that lift off so you can drive around and leave the tent set up.

Brett:)

05-10-2007, 12:33 PM
I think it depends on your use, I am buying one early next year for my trip (melb,adelaide, darwin, broome, perth and home to tassie). There will most likely only be me, maybe a mate, set up at the end of each day, cook a feed, sleep and then do the next leg of the journey. When I come home I will build a camper trailer to take the tent for more permeant type camping with the family.

05-10-2007, 12:36 PM
Gday Brett,

I have a Prado (new shape). I wanted to steer away from carrying poles and heavy duty pegs.
Is there a store on the southside where can I view these Oztents?

Wags

manchild
05-10-2007, 06:34 PM
Gday Brett,

I have a Prado (new shape). I wanted to steer away from carrying poles and heavy duty pegs.
Is there a store on the southside where can I view these Oztents?

Wags

I know that you asked Brett,but perhaps i can fill you in with it too.There is a huge camping store just behind Autobarn in Browns plains.They store the full range of oztents,and all the quality gear you'll ever need.
George
Webster rd

shano
05-10-2007, 06:37 PM
click this link there is someone selling one here!
http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/f17/roof-top-tent-rhino-heavy-duty-4wd-roof-bars-39751/

05-10-2007, 07:47 PM
Shano, I've been over and had a look at that one. It looks in great condition too.

Wags

Awesome
06-10-2007, 09:25 PM
I have the ARB Touring rooftop tent.Its a Howling Moon brand sold thru ARB Dealers,but in a nicer colour I reckon.

I have taken mine on a 4 week trip to Cape York, a 5 week trip to the Kimberley's, & various other camping trips in the last 3 years.

I can't speak highly enough of it & nothing has ever gone wrong with it.It's great to open it up and your bed is already made...just jump in!

I have it set up to either go on the car or on the trailer with just four mounting bolts.

We have recently purchased a RV3 Oztent that we use for overnighters with both the kids as you can comfortably sleep the four of us & it's quick & easy to set up.

Have just returned today from a weeks camping with the kids & missus. Kids sleep in the rooftent & we sleep in the Oztent.Works very well for us.