View Full Version : cobia frenzy

death_ship
02-10-2007, 04:55 PM
Went out to caloundra wide for the morning on sunday after a party at tangalooma wrecks, felt pretty crook from the beers we had the night before but once we got onto a school of cobia we were soon sweating it out. Hooked a few on plastics but the big boy went for a live pike, he went just over 25kgs on the scales. the headaches kicked in and we were buggered so we left them biting, and headed home in beautiful glassed out conditions.

PBass
02-10-2007, 05:07 PM
Good stuff mate that's a nice Cobia.. PBass

Fish_gutz
02-10-2007, 05:50 PM
Thats a nice big cobia , Bet he give you curry for a while ? how long did he take to get in?

death_ship
02-10-2007, 07:31 PM
hi fish guts, took around 50 mins to land, they dont give up easy.

BLOOEY
02-10-2007, 07:43 PM
WOO HOO,Nice cobe mate.Havent caught one yet myself.Keen as mustard though.Do you need super heavy gear ? Do they try and brick you?Gotta get one.Ben

death_ship
02-10-2007, 08:22 PM
WOO HOO,Nice cobe mate.Havent caught one yet myself.Keen as mustard though.Do you need super heavy gear ? Do they try and brick you?Gotta get one.Ben
no never been bricked, we were using 30pound braid and 40pound leader, just gotta be patient, they will eventually give in, its a battle for fish and angler.

02-10-2007, 09:03 PM
That is an awesome fish mate. I bet that will feed for a while. Never caught anything that big ever. Do the cobes bite all year round?
Cheers Chris

death_ship
02-10-2007, 09:39 PM
around this time of year they come to the inshore areas to spawn, they will hang around for another month or so i think, these were schooled up around a huge bait ball, i have heard of cobia over 40kgs being caught.

outofcontrol
04-10-2007, 08:34 AM
g'day, didn't know you were on this site, it was a good night. did you get that check?

kitty_cat
04-10-2007, 02:09 PM
nice cobe and hung over great effort

death_ship
04-10-2007, 06:17 PM
g'day, didn't know you were on this site, it was a good night. did you get that check?
gday
no cheque but i think they paid the price. did you see the state of their boats in the morning?