View Full Version : Big Spin vs Overheads - thoughts?

dac18316
29-09-2007, 12:19 PM
Hi,

I'm a semi frequent visitor to the Whitsundays and for the last couple of years I've been repeatedly smashed by the big GT's they get up there fishing from shore. Last time I was using a new Torium 30 with 60lb braid and I still didn't have a hope in hell of stopping them... broken off 15 times in two days... One of them came up behind a 80cm Queenie I was bringing in and I reckon it was at least twice as long as that fish...

So I'm upgrading again - and I'm tossing up whether to buy a Tyrnos 30 or a TSS4/Spinfisher/Stradic. All my fishing is floating live baits and I don't need massive distance in the cast, but I guess with the spin reels I always have the option of tying on a big pencil popper and having a crack. I dont want to spend Stella/Saltiga money just yet, but is it possible to actually catch some of these big fish with the lower quality reels?

While I'm asking all these questions - does anyone have any good suggestions for rods for either of the above combos. My biggest problem is flying - I can only have a maximum length of 7 foot, and not many 15-24kg rods I've come across split into 2 setcions. Ideally I'd want something around 8 foot so I could use it to chase kingies off the rocks around Sydney...

Splash
29-09-2007, 01:26 PM
Hi Dac.

Personally, I woudl think your existing setup is fine (Torium 30 and 60lb braid).

Instead of buying new reel, how you looked at your knots, type of briad, technique, etc.?

I recently bought a 7ft live fibre cased in a 2.3m long case and it was allowed on the flight back from Brisbane to Gove.

Splash

dac18316
29-09-2007, 01:48 PM
Personally, I woudl think your existing setup is fine (Torium 30 and 60lb braid).

Instead of buying new reel, how you looked at your knots, type of briad, technique, etc.?

I thought it was as well - but after being busted up so often with the drag set to almost full, and every bust up being caused by rubbing not the knots pulling, I changed my mind.

I had some smart arse trying to tell me I was fishing too heavy... until he watched me get smoked in 30 seconds...

I always like having more than 1 bait in the water at a time, and my other outfits are 4000 spheros with 30lb mono - so I'd prefer to spend the money and be confident in the gear.

I recently bought a 7ft live fibre cased in a 2.3m long case and it was allowed on the flight back from Brisbane to Gove.

That was the rod I was looking at.... was that with Jetstar? The check in chick at Sydney was giving me dirty looks when I handed over my 6 foot case.

DR
29-09-2007, 01:54 PM
with the rods, if mostly live baiting & not casting all day, you could maybe look at a custom rod with a detachable butt along the lines of game rods. MIght be worth getting in touch with member stuart, you will find him in the rodbuilding section' he is hands on & may be able to steer you in a particular direction..

Flex
29-09-2007, 02:25 PM
Remember land based fishing is always harder than fishing from a boat when trying to land a big fish. If your getting busted off on a reef ledge not far off shore then no outfit in the world would stop a 50kg GT within the first 50m. id say your problem is more location and fishing conditions not allowing you to fish with a slightly lighter drag andplay the fish.

I experience the exact same thing when i go there, lots drop offs into deep water. My reccomendation would be a shimano T-curve rod 15-24kg spin. it breaks down into 2 pieces via the top of the butt. Its an awesome rod. couple it with maybe a spheros 14000.

If your after pure stopping power, the Tyrnos has the best drag pull of any reel under $350. if you want more, you'll have to spend up big

dac18316
29-09-2007, 02:42 PM
If your getting busted off on a reef ledge not far off shore then no outfit in the world would stop a 50kg GT within the first 50m.

Yeah I think that's part of my problem... short of using a 4x4 winch I don't think I'll ever land the monsters there unless they head for open water...

I experience the exact same thing when i go there, lots drop offs into deep water. My reccomendation would be a shimano T-curve rod 15-24kg spin. it breaks down into 2 pieces via the top of the butt. Its an awesome rod. couple it with maybe a spheros 14000.

If your after pure stopping power, the Tyrnos has the best drag pull of any reel under $350. if you want more, you'll have to spend up big

I've fished with 14000's before - they were ok, but I just trust the big overheads better. I can see what's going to happen already - I'll just end up buying both setups... :)

Thanks heaps for the help :thumbsup:

Splash
29-09-2007, 03:36 PM
HI Dac.

I had a mate bring the rod on the plane - dont know what airline it was.

Good luck with your choice.

I am now 100% confident that your choice of using braid over mono is what's causing your grief. Repalce the braid with 55lb schnieder mono.

I will guarantee you will stay hooked.

Splash

29-09-2007, 08:42 PM
Hi,

I'm a semi frequent visitor to the Whitsundays and for the last couple of years I've been repeatedly smashed by the big GT's they get up there fishing from shore. Last time I was using a new Torium 30 with 60lb braid and I still didn't have a hope in hell of stopping them... broken off 15 times in two days... One of them came up behind a 80cm Queenie I was bringing in and I reckon it was at least twice as long as that fish...

So I'm upgrading again - and I'm tossing up whether to buy a Tyrnos 30 or a TSS4/Spinfisher/Stradic. All my fishing is floating live baits and I don't need massive distance in the cast, but I guess with the spin reels I always have the option of tying on a big pencil popper and having a crack. I dont want to spend Stella/Saltiga money just yet, but is it possible to actually catch some of these big fish with the lower quality reels?

While I'm asking all these questions - does anyone have any good suggestions for rods for either of the above combos. My biggest problem is flying - I can only have a maximum length of 7 foot, and not many 15-24kg rods I've come across split into 2 setcions. Ideally I'd want something around 8 foot so I could use it to chase kingies off the rocks around Sydney...
Dac ..... Check out the Nitro range ,,,,,, They have a couple of rods that may fit your needs .... & they are two piece ..... Nagg